We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic Greek food, and Gyros to die for”

Yiamas Greek Taverna
Ranked #194 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A modest Greek Taverna serving traditional Greek food made fresh in house daily.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Greek food, and Gyros to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

All the food is freshly prepared and I often get the Gyros as a lunch option. Easily the best Gyros in Glasgow!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thecaptain67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    70
    27
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Went for lunch with a friend on Thursday, service was excellent.

We opted for the lunch menu at £6.95 for two courses, but it wasn't brilliant. My friend had lentil soup to start with and the 'mince and pasta' which was Spaghetti Bolegnase, I opted for the Hummous, and then Greek meatballs, which were the taste and texture of tinned Campbells meatballs circa 1985. Nothing was particularly Greek on the lunch menu, but I wasn't for spending a la carte prices in the afternoon, as it's not cheap.

The hummous was lovely, but I don't know if it was home made. The warm bread served with it, tasted home made and was really nice.

Twas snowing outside and the restaurant was freezing inside, which didn't add to the experience, although the toilets were roasting. I could have had my lunch up there and been nice and snug!

The one thing I really don't like about some Greek/Middle Eastern etc restaurants is being gawked at the whole time by the guys working behind the counter, preparing the food. Makes me feel like I'm in a goldfish bowl.

Might go back in a group, for proper Greek fodder, but being stared and talked about (however complimentary it may have been), puts me off places.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing greek food- Awesome giros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent quality of food! really good and polite stuff! I enjoyed so much the giros cannot get more Greek than that. really reasonable prices

Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickolas_an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent value pre theatre meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can get a three course pre theatre meal here ON A SATURDAY for just under a tenner. Really tasty food. Was a bit surprised to only have ice cream as dessert rather than baklava but after two very filling courses ice cream was all about anyone could manage. Friendly staff. Kitchen plainly visible which shows they have absolutely nothing to hide. Stark and plain decor with no frilly Greek souvenirs. Excellent value for money. If you like Greek food you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1967Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Greek Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My fiancee is greek and is very critical of greek restaurants in Britain, however we cannot fault yiamas! Friendly staff, small but tasty menu and tastes fresh. The gyros remind me of the many available in monastaraki in Athens !! We have been for lunch and dinner as well as takeaway too! Worth a visit!,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFlynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yiamas Greek Taverna also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Yiamas Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing