We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Highland Experience Glasgow - Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Highland Experience Glasgow - Day Tours
from $286.41
More Info
from $152.75
More Info
from $630.10
More Info
from $57.28
More Info
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
37
10
5
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
37
10
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of skye his knowledge loch lomond beautiful vistas fort augustus scottish history driver guide humour stops lochs sights beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The driver/guide was outstanding in his knowledge which he conveyed with love, pride and humour. But the tour would have stood up regardless of the guide because the country is outstanding in historical interest and natural beauty. I love fishing ports such as Oban where we stopped and sought our own lunch near the jetties and could watch feries departing for Mull. A splendid day. Good idea to get about Scotland by train between main centres and take small coach tours through the mountains and to places of special interest such as Glencoe.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank TrailBlazer562978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

We signed up for the 3-day tour with Highland Experience simply because they were the only company whose schedule could accommodate our itinerary. My husband was traveling to Glasgow for business and I tagged along for a mini vacation before he had to go to his conference. After a nightmare flight from the US, we really needed some fun.

We were picked up in Glasgow just a few blocks from our hotel and on time. The small bus seated 16 and we joined a very international group from China, India and the US. Davie asked the group’s opinion many times while explaining and/or recommending various options at each stop. It took about a day for everyone to feel comfortable chatting with Davie or the other passengers, but he continued to encourage sharing opinions as he provided Scottish history, music, background for our stops, etc.

Davie was a great driver, very safe, and his former police background certainly made his passengers feel that he could handle any problems that might occur.

We saw many beautiful vistas, waterfalls, memorials, several castles, cruised Loch Ness (but did not see Nessie),Culloden battlefield, a full day touring the Isle of Skye, SkyeSkins sheepskin tannery and several other stops and towns. Davie customized the trip to make the most of the scattered rain and managed to keep us dry 99% of the time. We spent 2 nights in the town of Portree on Skye in the lovely Coolin Inn B&B.

Davie’s commentary, philosophizing, and Scottish storytelling greatly enhanced our trip. He kept his cool even when some of the group went AWOL and missed the boat (literally!). He kindly went back to collect them when protocol said he could leave them to their own devices. The language barrier definitely makes his job more complicated, but he handled the problems with good humor.

The busy itinerary for this trip definitely felt rushed sometimes, but gave a good overview of a beautiful area. I am sure we would have missed some of the sights, had we tried to tour it on our own. Now we know where we want to visit for a more extended stay. Thanks so much !

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Balletmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

John was our tour guide. Weather on our day was not great (snowing and raining). He did a great job talking and keeping us entertained.

We would recommend a 2 day trip over the 1 day to really experience and see the highlands properly. We felt rushed at the castle. There was not much else time spent off the bus, except to eat lunch and bathroom stops.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank mnbrbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely superb day out. 12 hour bus tour from Glasgow to Loch Lomond, Glencoe, Fort Augustus, Loch Ness and the Highlands.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

We lucked out with amazing weather for our 3 days trip. The driver Fergie was great. Spent 2 nights in a nice and clean B&B that was all organized for us. Made it for a very easy and enjoyable trip. Would recommend this tour!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ltravelbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

We had a wonderful time. Our guide, Chick, made it fun and entertaining. I would absolutely go on another tour!! I would most definitely request Chick too!!!! :D

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank KathyC0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-ClareD, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Experience Glasgow - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Hello Kathy,

Delighted to hear you had a great time on tour with Chick!

Kind Regards,
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews