We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wee find”
Review of Hyndland Cafe

Hyndland Cafe
Ranked #153 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On 96 Clarence Drive in the West End of Glasgow. Fantastic breakfast and home baking served all day, every day! Sit-in/takeaway or delivery on a Sat/Sun 10-2pm. Amazing coffee/hot chocolate and smoothies! Free wi-fi.....Come on over!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wee find”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I came here with a group of friends in March and completely forgot to write a review on here. We had a table of 5 people and brought our own wine. We were all delighted with both the service and food. The tapas were so good we just couldn't stop ordering more, I think between us we had the entire menu and one of our group said the lemon cheesecake was to die for.
It's a late shout out to the boys at the Hyndland, but thanks so much for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karenannescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBisley, Owner at Hyndland Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Nana Bisley was delighted to hear her lemon cheesecake got a mention! I have to tell you her millionaire shortbread cheesecake has the wow factor also! Hope to see you all soon. Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    48
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A former regular customers dissapointment.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I'd like to first start off with saying that I used to absolutely love the Hyndland Cafe. I was a regular customer and used to visit the cafe religiously with my partner, the food, service and atmosphere was always outstanding the waitresses were friendly and always wanted to help.

Unfortunately this visit was not the same. My partner and I hadn't been in a few months so we were looking forward to this trip. I still think the new decor is lovely, we've been to the cafe since the takeover and had a fantastic experience - this time not so much. The waitress did not seem enthusiastic about us or anyone in the cafe. After a long wait (it was not busy at all) we had to go up to the till to order our meals. We were sat at a table with the previous customers cold teapots and mugs which the waitress did not even notice and only removed once our food arrived. We ordered hot drinks which were forgotten about until after the long wait for our breakfasts. We also asked for two glasses of water, one of which was dirty and had black floaters in it. The breakfasts were good apart from the black pudding which was solid - I suspect from being cooked for too long or reheated. It really disappoints me to write this review as the Hyndland Cafe was in my eyes a hidden gem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Blair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBisley, Owner at Hyndland Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Firstly can I apologise for the experience you had at our cafe. I have also taken my time to respond as I wanted to fully investigate all points of your review. We pride ourselves in having great staff and trying to ensure every customer has been taken care of, no matter his busy the cafe has been. This member of staff is no longer with us due to number of comments not unlike yours. Please please do not let this experience put you off. Come back in and make yourself known to my husband Stewart and we will right this for you. Please accept my sincere apologies. Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tapas!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have been to the Hyndland Cafe a few times for breakfast, which was always good. Now they have added a Tapas menu for night time dining which has to be some of the best I've had in Glasgow. The dishes are well cooked and well presented, all for very reasonable price. They dont have an alcohol licence yet but you can BYOB for a small corking fee. This also helps the bank balance not having to fork out for overpriced wine and beer. Overall I would say this was an excellent little cafe and I will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichyRigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBisley, Owner at Hyndland Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Now that you have sampled our tapas menu and enjoyed it, feel free to spread the word to your friends/family. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards. Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

After a long time away from Glasgow, I was desperate to have my favourite weekend breakfast. The Hyndland Cafe did not disappoint - tattie scone, square sausage and black pudding in a breakfast roll. Delicious. Cant comment on any other food as we both had the same, it was perfect

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isthatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBisley, Owner at Hyndland Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review! Hopefully we won't need to wait too long to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a brilliant cafe. We went in for breakfast on our first day and went back on the second, the food, for the price was amazing. Would highly recommend this place and suggest you visit it. Wish they would open a branch in Aberdeen then I wouldn't have to wonder where to go for breakfast as I would be a regular here. They served a wonderful Eggs Benedict, and there Full Scottish Breakfast is terrific!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBisley, Owner at Hyndland Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Next time your visiting your daughter, please pop back in. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyndland Cafe also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Hyndland Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing