We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, shame about the service”
Review of Chaophraya Glasgow

Chaophraya Glasgow
Ranked #82 of 2,543 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chaophraya Glasgow is Europe's largest Thai restaurant! Set in one of the city's most iconic buildings, Old Athenaeum, it offers guests the ultimate Thai dining experience in a spectacular setting. Boasting four floors with luxurious private dining spaces and the glamorous Palm Sugar Bar it is the perfect place for any occasion.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This was the second of the chain we had been too and the Edinburgh restaurant was far better for service.

No complaints of the food in fact it was pretty superb!

My dad and I had a sharing mixed grill which was spectacular and tasty as hell!

1  Thank Main64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaophraya G, Manager at Chaophraya Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Sawasdee ka, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent visit.

We were happy to read you enjoyed the Mixed grill for two, it is quite the treat and very popular when our guests are looking for something special.

It is disappointing to hear you felt service let your experience down, we will pass your comments onto the team, although with no specific comments or issues with service highlighted it is difficult for us to comment, but please accept our apologies nonetheless.

Our restaurant in Edinburgh is beautiful and they will be grateful to hear you enjoyed your experience there, too.

Khop Khun Kha

The Chaophraya Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,455 - 2,459 of 3,123 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have eaten here on a number of occasions and have always found the food and service to be very good. Unfortunately my last visit was a real disappointment.

Despite the restaurant being fairly quiet, being early evening on a Sunday, the service was haphazard at best, although never at any time bad enough to feel worthy of complaint.

My wife had the Massaman Lamb Curry (the chef's Signature dish), which she has had on previous visits, however this time it tasted nothing like before. We mentioned to the waitress that the dish was disappointing and tasted totally different from before and she said she would raise this with management.

My wife and daughter then asked for different types of flowering tea and after scrambling around for some time, the waitress told us they had run out of one type and only had one of the other type left. Seems a bit bizarre in a Thai restaurant?

We asked for the bill and pointed out that no one has spoken to us regarding the lamb curry issues and it was only at that point that a member of the management team came and spoke to us.

Admittedly the manager was very helpful and adjusted our bill to take the matter into account. I would point out that we stated we only wanted to make them aware of the issue and were not looking for any reduction in the bill.

All in all this was not the experience I have come to expect in Chaophraya and having previously recommended it to friends I would be more wary now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pferguson001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaophraya G, Manager at Chaophraya Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Sawasdee ka Mr Ferguson,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a trip advisor review following your most recent visit. As some and not all of your findings were discussed directly with the manager, if we can respond to some of your concerns to offer more clarity:

Your concerns regarding dishes were brought to the kitchen's attention who unfortunately couldn't confirm your dishes were prepared any differently than as per the dish specs they follow every day. As the dishes were eaten, but didn't meet your expectations, a discount was offered and accepted by yourselves on the agreement we didn't want you to leave completely disappointed and feeling you hadn't had a value for money experience.

Regarding the flowering tea, we are profusely sorry this was the case. Your visit was of a quiet Sunday evening following the Christmas and Hogmanay period which saw us incredibly busy. Whilst all attempts were made to ensure we had a full menu in stock, Scottish bank holidays saw delivery delays and flowering tea is not a product we can source very easily, regrettably.

We take all measures to avoid not being able to offer our full menu; but on rare occasion this is unavoidable. We don't look to excuse this and remain empathic this was an additional disappointment to your visit, but we wanted to explain exactly what had happened.

We do hope with our explanations and apologies in mind we can welcome you back in future and reassure you we will do all we can to ensure you enjoy your visit.

Best,

The Chaophraya Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The table we were given in the booth was way too small for the platters when they were served. I asked for a beer and got a bottle without a glass and the music was wrong for the venue. That said the food made up for it. Having eaten in both Edinburgh and Glasgow, I enjoyed Edinburgh better. Still worth a visit it you like Thai food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LORNA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Cant say enough good things about this Restaurant so I wont apart from BRILLIANT Thai food..........

If in Glasgow..............I would deffinately go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jason933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Have been a number of times both for lunch and dinner , and this is the benchmark for good restaurants . Staff are excellent and nothing is a problem . The food is excellent with a large and varied restaurant , although the restaurant is large , the fact it is over a couple of floors it I does not come across as too huge and uninviting .the service for lunch is surprisingly quick and very good quality , so it's ok to get in and out and back to work .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Glasgow also viewed

 

Been to Chaophraya Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing