We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaophraya

Chaophraya
Ranked #80 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chaophraya Glasgow is Europe's largest Thai restaurant! Set in one of the city's most iconic buildings, Old Athenaeum, it offers guests the ultimate Thai dining experience in a spectacular setting. Boasting four floors with luxurious private dining spaces and the glamorous Palm Sugar Bar it is the perfect place for any occasion.
Larbert, , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Couples night out and every dish was lovely. Do think very pricey for rice or noodles to accompany main courses. Think these should be included in main price. But quality if food excellent, good service and lovely surroundings.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaophraya G, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Sawasdee ka (hello!) Theresa,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and your feedback on side dishes is noted, although this is common practice for most thai restaurant, especially with our mains being larger portions, a lot of guests choose not to opt for side dishes & the menu prices are reflective of this so you have the option.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

The Chaophraya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,540
    698
    277
    124
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Night out in Glasgow with friends and decided to try here for a change. We had not made a booking but staff extremely friendly and found us a table. Choice was great, very tasty and service from waitress was 1st class. Very friendly. We ordered sharing platter( different platter from person who has left review) and it was a delicious started. Expensive but worth it. Overall great meal great staff. Do not mind paying these prices when meal was so good. Will definately be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb, illinois
Level Contributor
334 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“wildly overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Adequate Thai food at ridiculously high prices. The setting and the building are the best things about the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaophraya G, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Sawasdee ka (hello!) Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We were disappointed you found our food only to be adequate and you felt it overpriced.

Price point will always be opinion based as opposed to factual, and this is something we accept - although we feel the freshness & presentation of our food & expertise of our thai chefs who bring authentic thai cuisine to the UK, more than warrants the fairly priced menu; which falls in line with our competitors who operate in far more modest settings.

Thanks once more for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Best,

The Chaophraya Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nom Nom Nom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A small group of us went here on the recommendation of the hotel where we were staying.. Now bare in mind that a few of the men in the group have actually been to Thailand and have good and reliable experience of the cusine there.

We ordered two starters between 5 of us and some crackers and we are glad we did as the portion size was very good value. The lads were really impressed with the quality of the ribs!

The mains were delicious!! Really yummy! One of the guys ordered a dish which would melt the inside of most 'normal' diners mouth but he thought it was just the right sort of heat that would be served over in the country itself.. Brave man!

We did spy in the kitchen the numerous authentic ingrediants so we know it was as close as its going to get this side of the world.

The building itself was so impressive! Really liked the classy decor and the service also complimented the surroundings. Overall, a delicious experience, now.. this has made me hungry.. is it take away time yet? :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weeza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaophraya G, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Sawasdee ka (Hello!)

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your authentic thai meal & experience at our restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Best.

The Chaophraya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Prefer the one in Leeds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant on Saturday afternoon as he had been raving about the sister restaurant in Leeds. I have to say this was a complete disappointment. we ordered the mussels as a starter to share and were disappointed to find that there were only 6 mussels - for £9.95! I've ate in some of the best restaurants in Glasgow and this is way beyond any of their prices. Our mains were thai green curry (chicken) and red curry (prawns). The red curry was fine but the green curry was luke warm at best. I would have sent it back if it was not for the fact that the service was exceptionally poor and I'd probably have been waiting another 25 minutes for it. Simple things such as ordering a glass of wine - which took 10 minutes to come. All in all a throughly dissapointing experience. Thanks but we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaophraya G, Manager at Chaophraya, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Sawasdee ka (Hello!) Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were very sorry to hear you had a poor experience, which is nowhere in keeping with our high standards.

Due to the nature of your feedback I have sent you a direct message, we hope to hear from you soon.

Please accept our sincere apologies,

The Chaophraya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chaophraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing