We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been twice now and would go back again!”
Review of Chaophraya Glasgow

Chaophraya Glasgow
Ranked #80 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chaophraya Glasgow is Europe's largest Thai restaurant! Set in one of the city's most iconic buildings, Old Athenaeum, it offers guests the ultimate Thai dining experience in a spectacular setting. Boasting four floors with luxurious private dining spaces and the glamorous Palm Sugar Bar it is the perfect place for any occasion.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Been twice now and would go back again!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pre-dinner cocktails in Palm Sugar are a must although make sure you sit away from the door as there is a very cold draught! As it always has been this building is impressive inside and the transformation to a restaurant has been sympathetic, a very luxurious backdrop to an evening meal.
We visited this restaurant as a change from the norm and weren't disappointed! We were so impressed that we went back the following weekend, although the 25% received on our first visit did help that!
The food is fantastic and fresh, and the servers very helpful, my only critism would be that the service was very slow on the first visit but this appears to have been a one off as on our second visit there were more than enough servers on the floor.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others and we will be visiting again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Broners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,579
    709
    279
    129
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decoration over food!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited in January 2013, food was average, service was laughable, all beautiful decoration and no substance! Table of 8, we had most of the starter menu between us and they were lovely.....then we moved on to the mains.....some were tasty, however most were mediocre and sub standard, certainly not authentic. The drinks waiter came to the table about 5 times with either the wrong drinks, orders that weren't ours, or duplicate orders.

Most disturbing were the drinks that were served then taken from us and given to another table....not professional or hygenic!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrswomen_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Gorgeous food in the city centre”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A beautiful place to go for a meal. Stunning interior. Food wasn't cheap but you got what you paid for, delicious! I will be returning soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelumy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view of the kitchen!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this Thai restaurant and were glad we ignored the less enthusiastic reviews on Trip Advisor. The Chaophraya is indeed a beautiful restaurant, and we relished the view of the chefs in the kitchen preparing some stunning dishes. We could not decide what to have and so plumped for the set menu, which was good value. Yes, the cocktails were a little late, and yes, we did have to ask for more drinks twice, but this does not a bad restaurant make. The staff were attentive, polite and friendly. The food was delicious although hubbie would have liked his a little spicier. Better that way than being too hot to eat! Would love to visit again when next in the big city and would certainly recommend the restaurant as somewhere special to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend and i have now decided that this is now one of our FAVOURITES--- it is so nice to be recognised by name and always shown to "our table"
The flavours of the sauces are superb and everything is cooked beautifully

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 134wilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Glasgow also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chaophraya Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing