We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, quick, healthy lunch spot”
Review of Martha's

Martha's
Ranked #243 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasty, quick, healthy lunch spot”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Despite working just up the hill on St Vincent Street from Martha's - and passing it every day - I had never thought of popping in for lunch until a recent health kick had me searching for something other than the usual supermarket sandwiches. Martha's advertises itself as a health-conscious cafe/takeaway but an emphasis on local produce and, above all, tasty food.
There are a range of freshly made salads and wraps available, but so far I have only ever gone for the soup - Ham Hough one day, Thai chicken the next. Both were delicious, although a little expensive. £2.55 for a small plastic tub of soup, and £1.05 for a wedge of (admittedly delicious) bread is a bit steep. However the 'small' soup is enough to fill up all but the hungriest. I also had a delicious summer berry smoothie, which again at £3.55 is probably over priced but still tasty.
Clientele, around lunchtime at least, looks to be almost exclusively office workers from around the city centre. Theres seating for +/- 25 people, and the service on both of my visits has been quick and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    61
    8
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Healthy and tasty food in Glasgow”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent cafe serving healthy, tasty and nutritious food. Welcome addition to Glasgow food scene. Like that they put up calorie amounts for food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tasty wholesome food at great prices. Everything fresh and tasty and good for you. Their homemade soups are so tasty and filling. Look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplymo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wholesome, tasty food.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pop in a get a strong latte before work now and again, I would say its the best coffee I've tasted in Glasgow.

The Chipotle chicken is fantastic and considering it is low calorie it's surprising how full you feel.

As for the cost it's a little expensive if you have it everyday, but then again a burger meal or a chicken lunch from some of the less healthy franchises cost about the same.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joh120912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than a burger....and I love a burger!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Popped in for lunch and felt we had discovered one of Glasgow's best cafe secrets. The decor is bright and inviting.The menu is clear and easy to read. Everything is very clean. The word that springs to mind about the whole place is fresh. We had the pulled pork as a main and the chipotle chicken, both of which were fab.Everything came with fresh coleslaw and brown rice. Although I normally try and eat brown rice, I eat it under protest and rarely enjoy it, but do it in the name of trying To be healthy. Somehow Martha's managed to make it soft and tasty. The place was full of people who were clearly coming in post gym. Reason being, this place serves healthy fast food. They also do takeaway. Give it a try. Great value , friendly staff, great food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacq C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Martha's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing