We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sized restaurant with cosy booths”
Review of Lucky 7

Lucky 7
Ranked #423 of 2,511 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Lucky 7 is a no airs or graces kind of gaff with a pretty simple aim - to quench the thirst of the good people of Glasgow with a small but perfectly formed drinks list and some truly banging tunes. Join us for a bit of pre-bev action if you are heading over to our noisy neighbours Flat 0/1 of an evening, with a great selection of craft cans, non-poncey wines, and even the odd cocktail if we are feeling particularly adventurous.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited the Lucky 7 Canteen after looking through meal deal offers. Booked a table (which we changed the times three times with no hassle at all). The offer was a bottle off house wine and a two course meal for two persons for £24. A good choice on the menus and a jug of cold water to start.
Very dark inside, which made reading the menu interesting. Waited 30 minutes for the main course, which seemed a little long but enjoyed when it arrived. Desert came a lot quicker!
Staff very helpful and cheerful and would definitely recommend. The log wall and 'ripped' wallpaper added to the ambience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alanrphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky7Canteen, General Manager at Lucky 7, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi Alan!

Cheers for the review. Glad to hear that you liked the place! Good food and friendly service at great value is what we aim for and we love to hear when the work is pulling off! We really think our 2 courses and a bottle of wine couples offer is great value.

If you have any other feedback let us know... meetme@lucky7canteen.co.uk.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 248 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

The decor in this place is certainly different - the walls are have way through being stripped and will stay that way - makes it interesting. The staff were friendly and attentive and the service was prompt. Definitely well above average. The food was full of flavour and the starter and main course ample in quantity. The sweet was a little disappointing as they did not have the double nougat wafer and ice cream I was looking forward to and the replacement cheese cake was nothing to write home about. That aside it was a very enjoyable experience that we will definitely repeat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ExRNSTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky7Canteen, General Manager at Lucky 7, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you so much for the review, it's great to hear such positive feedback about our staff. We have a great team at Lucky 7 who all work hard to create a friendly atmosphere and serve tasty food. And the decor is quite something isn't it?

Sorry you never got the chance to try our most popular dessert- the Double Nougat. We've had a problem with supply, however, they are back now!

Be sure to pop back again soon and if you have any other feedback, let us know meetme@lucky7canteen.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

the atmosphere was brilliant and the coffee as well. we have been twice and the second we have tried soup. the soup was great and the price quite cheap. the waitress was so lovely, and friendly. but you have to do something with the heating pleaseeeeee.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lydia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky7Canteen, General Manager at Lucky 7, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hi Lydia!

Thanks for the review. Great to hear you enjoyed your first experience so much you came back again. Good news- the heating has finally been fixed! Next time you pop by, expect a nice toasty atmosphere. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited on the 19th Decemeber on a deal. The restaurant was busy so that perhaps affected the food and the service. I ordered the parsnip soup and they said it wasn't spicy, I like spicy things but my lips and mouth were on fire. I then and the fish and chips with mushy peas. The peas and chips were cold. The cheese burger was dry and over cooked. My friends ordered desert as it was a two course deal and we had to ask 3 times for it despite being told when we arrived that we had to vacate the table by 7.15 and that time was fast approaching. It is not somewhere I would choose to eat again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Minnie-Milto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky7Canteen, General Manager at Lucky 7, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! All feedback is very much appreciated.
It's dis-heartening to hear the your experience on the 19th was not enjoyable. It was a very busy night for us although that is not an excuse for the quality in service that you recieved. Lucky 7 Canteen prides itself on serving good food for reasonable prices and it seems we have failed to do so on this occasion. I can not apologise enough for the unacceptable level of service that you received on that night.

If you have any other feedback please do not hesitate to contact me on 0141 331 6227 or meetme@lucky7canteen.co.uk.

Thanks again for writing and hope to hear from you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had booked the Lucky 7 for our Christmas work night out for dinner and some drinks. I was not responsible for the booking and have to say that at £17.77 for 3 courses i was pretty sceptical about what was going to be put down to us and what this place was going to be like - I have to say i was pleasantly surprised!

Bar area is small and what the kids would call "quirky" - Balls of wool and knitting needles lying around and the wallpaper is intentionally hanging off the wall (no i don't get it either but hey ho). Draught lager disappointingly was that foul stuff from the Caribbean but bottles were on offer and i was happy with a Modelo.

For our meal we had the room right at the back which is ideal for private dining - Nice big table, well presented with more of the crazy decoration going on (huge lamp shade, old vinyl record player on the table and most bizzarely of all a dart board???).

I had 3 courses from the Christmas menu - Crayfish and Avocado Cocktail to start, steak for main course and cheese selection for dessert. Were the portions small? Absolutely but for less than £18 at christmas and after 3 courses i was more than satisfied.

Staff were attentive without being overbearing which for me is a massive plus.

What did surprise me though was that throughout the night (we arrived 7.30 and left around 10.30) the place was very very quiet considering this was the 14th December and slap bang in the middle of the Christmas party season. Perhaps word has not got round yet.

All in all a very satisfying meal and good night with colleagues - If i had one small gripe to put to management i would say that £4.40 for a bottle of Kopparberg cider is well over the odds and not on a par with most city centre bars - Tone it down to £3.50 and your charging a fair price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevie_awooga_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucky7Canteen, General Manager at Lucky 7, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to to leave a review of Lucky 7 Canteen. It's great to hear that your first experience of our restaurant was enjoyable! I like to think of the Private Dining room as a little hidden Bath St gem!

We take pride in serving good food at reasonable prices, and served by friendly staff.

Hope to see you again to try something of our a la carte menu, and have a Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky 7 also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Lucky 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing