We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - A real home from home....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spires Serviced Suites
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great - A real home from home....”
Reviewed November 29, 2007

'The Spires' is a great concept. I travelled on my own with two young children and didn't want to be confined to one 'Hotel Room' and therefore this accommodation was ideal.

The two bedroom apartment was spacious and very well equipped. Comfortable and spotlessly clean. With young children the fully equipped kitchen was a lifesaver, no worrying about dining out with tired bored children.

The lounge was equipped with a large tv, dvd player and cable T.V and the main bedroom had a second T.V.

The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and showed me to my apartment.

Great location, within walking distance of all the main shopping in Glasgow.

'The Spires' is ideal for families.

  • Liked — Spaciousness and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Having to leave to go home.........
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank karen_barbour3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    57
    18
    11
    18
See reviews for
49
37
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

whilst the accomodation was basic it was clean and well presented. However during the stay we had no hot water in the kitchen or shower.

Despite bringing this to the attention of management this was not rectified and we still await an explanation some 2 weeks later.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no hot water!!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

My visit was split between business and leisure. I'll be honest, I was worried when I read the most recent reviews however I knew I wanted a serviced apartment and I liked the look of spires website. I shouldn't have worried - I've now left Glasgow and I am extremely happy to report that my stay was wonderful. OK i waited 5 or so minutes to check in while the maid done her final checks but that was all i could possibly get upset about. my apartment was a really spacious one bedroom apartment with a good sized lounge and dining area. having stayed at other serviced apartments across the UK, i'm disappointed there aren't more spires. the kitchen was excellent and equipped with quality utensils and applianes - not some of the cheap alternatives you so often find so i could cook a meal in confidence! the furniture was comfortable and stylish and their was a warm purple and brown colour echoed throughout which i think shows a nice attention to detail. i used their wifi service and at first found it difficult to connect (i did start to panic!) however the lady on reception was very helpful and sorted my problem out with speed and later checked everything was still ok. towards the end of the week i also got some good suggestions from the reception staff for taking some family who stay in glasgow for dinner (thank you!), i felt comfortable at spires and well looked after. i slept well too. there's the usual city noise but i'm used to that. the bed linen was immaculate and the towels were excellent, quality again. the maids reported daily (as in a hotel). overall i was impressed with both the service and the quality of the apartment and will definitely go to this hotel again.

  • Liked — The lstaff, ocation, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

Clean; good maid service; convenient location.

BUT:
we booked a 2-bed apartment for a week. With 2 adults and 2 kids we were attracted by the advertised full kitchen which would allow us to cook meals and eat together. Fine: except our apartment had no dining table so that the kids had to eat sitting on the floor around a coffee table. The adults had to live in fear of dropping food on the sofa.

We requested a table and a genuine attempt was made to find us another apartment but they were fully booked. We were later told that the original table had been damaged and had been removed for "health and safety reasons". I have been trying to figure this out ever since.

A letter to the management on our return brought a pleasant reply saying that they had done everything possible to meet our wishes.

The letter said: "we do understand that some of our guests prefer the option of a dining table and therefore if a guest does specifically request this we will do our utmost to accomodate the request".

So the apartment that is advertised to have a freezer, full fridge, cooker, microwave, dishwasher has nowhere where you can eat a meal comfortably.

Advice:
If you want to actually sleep in the advertised 2-bed apartment at the Spires, maybe you better specifically request, in advance, that there are actually some beds.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

I stayed there with my girlfriend and they later accused me of stealing a CD player and said they had contacted the Police. After hearing nothing I contacted the Police myself. They told me Spires had never contacted them. I drive a Lotus Elise, which has barely enough luggage space for 1 small haldall. Where would I put their CD player? Why would I jeopardise the £400 deposit for a CD player. This was clearly a scam, please don't be robbed like I was, save yourself hassle and please choose another hotel!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The fact they illegally took money from my credit card and lied about contacting the Police
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Avoid_Spires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Spent 4 nights at The Spires Glasgow early June. Only 2 of us, but we were upgraded to a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment, that actually slept 6. The flat was spacious, spotlessly clean and very well equipped with dishwasher, washing machine, fridge/freezer , multi channel tv, etc. A few basics, tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, etc supplied. A maid came in daily to tidy, change towels etc and even dried up the dishes we had left on the draining rack. There is a Marks & Spencer and Sainsburys within 2 minutes of flats, so great for stocking up on essentials. J D Weatherspoon pub just across the road, very handy for drinks and eating if you can't face a 5 minute walk in to town after a long day of doing all the touristy attractions.

Can't say we have anything negative to report, we had a super time.

  • Liked — Convenient and smart
  • Disliked — .
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HST37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2007

The entrance to the apartments was a little hard to find. It’s a good place to stay if you like anonymity as they don’t see any one, even when we checked in we got our own keys from the safe. The location was perfect, walking distance from everywhere we wanted to be. The only complaint I would have was that the apartment had a funny smell (maybe from the previous guests cooking) and the cutlery was dirty (dried jam) and the breadboard was lying on the side covered in crumbs. However, for the price we paid, it was a bargain and we will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — The fact that they were apartments
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenniferocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 93 in Glasgow
1,007 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,298 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spires Serviced Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spires Serviced Suites

Property: The Spires Serviced Suites
Address: 77 Glassford Street, Glasgow G1 1BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spires Serviced Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasgow…a city with energy and sophistication and The Spires is right in the centre of where it’s all happening. Unwind at the end of a busy day in a delightful environment that’s been specially designed to offer you flexible personal space, in an atmosphere of comfort and freedom. Yet so convenient to all Glasgow city centre attractions, restaurants and nightlife, shops and to main Glasgow railway stations. Enjoy much more than a hotel bedroom. Spacious, stylishly designed, our uniquely crafted serviced apartments in Glasgow provide a real ‘home from home’ living feel, seamlessly blending upscale tranquillity with affordable luxury. We call them ‘suite sensations’. The perfect alternative to Glasgow city centre hotels for business and leisure travellers, whether for short or longer trips, just great for families too. Not ‘budget accommodation’ in Glasgow, but quality 4 star value for the discerning traveller at prices comparable with many budget hotels and which will beat most 3,4 and certainly 5 star hotels. Quality, space and comfort you’ll love, at prices you’ll love too. Stay for a night, or several …there’s no minimum stay. With daily maid service and continental breakfast available on request you may want to stay forever. Whether travelling on business or leisure, The Spires in Glasgow is the ideal choice – which of our suite styles is perfect for you? Call us and we’ll help you decide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spires Serviced Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spires Serviced Hotel Glasgow
The Spires Serviced Suites Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing