We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Glasgow Science Centre
Ranked #20 of 271 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Rated 5 stars by VisitScotland, providing programs of entertaining Science theatre, Planetarium, and around 300 hands-on interactive science exhibits over three floors, to introduce science to everyone. Interaction distinguishes GSC, very few exhibits in glass cases and many opportunities to participate in Science. Included workshops and shows are a highlight, ranging from shadow puppets for youngsters to computer coding, robotics and ethical hacking for adults. "BodyWorks" examines the science behind human health and well-being, "Powering the Future" the future challenges and solutions in our energy-hungry world, and the digital planetarium allows visitors to 'leave earth' and travel through the cosmos. Science Mall admission includes free workshops and shows, with add-on charges of £3.00 for access to the Planetarium. A shop and cafe are free to access. Schools and outreach programs extend the Centre's work into the community. The Centre is a registered charity with surpluses returned to the education mission. Car parking and public transport links or a 15 minute walk along the Clyde from the City centre. The adjacent IMAX cinema is now operated by Cineworld.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took our 5 and 6 year old boys and they loved it. Plenty to do but some of the experiments were not working but overall it was well maintained. IMAX film was excellent but it was an extra charge. Kids loved disgusting digestion show and was 5 hours well spent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janie620128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,035
    569
    188
    69
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gargunnock
Level Contributor
227 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Still great fund for the kids on a rainy day”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can actually send a whole day here without seeing everything. Make sure you see some of the science demos.

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or money”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited with my two kids on the29/03/13,cost £42 for 3 adults and 2 kids,half the experiments weren't working even though it was only the second day.When I went to complain was fobbed off by useless excuses.Thought the place was a creche as there was that many unsupervised kids running about,it wasn't a very good experience for either me or my kids.Wouldn't recommend paying to go in just stay in the lobby with the eagles-they were fantastic!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“science at its best”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

this place is so much fun. the activities on floor one are great for children. my three kids aged 6; 3 and 2 spent two hours on this floor and had to be physically removed as they refused to leave. until we went to the human body exhibition on the third floor. the adults were not as enthralled. this section was absolutely fantastic we ranged from a two year old to an adult with a medical degree. all of us loved it. beat the virus computer games. earphones that play back what ypu say with echo. robot arms and so much more absolutely fantastic. this place is sooooooo good for kids I think its worth a dedicated trip. only give this place a steer if you dont like to play and arent entertained by things that combine fun with experimenting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Museum”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Worth every penny - this was one if not the best, museums we have visited - tip get there for opening as the third floor is full of thigns to do for the whole family and gets really busy later! Every element was great children from 3 - 10 enjoyed the day as did the biggest children up to 40! Must do attraction for any fmaily visiting Glasgow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 130chrisc130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasgow Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to Glasgow Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing