We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location for business or tourism”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Central Location for business or tourism”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed at the Jurys in for three nights from the 17th of June for business. The hotel is in a great central location as it is a 3 minute walk from Central Station and an 10 minute walk from Queen Street on the edge of the Clyde. Its a stones throw from the bottom of Buchanan Street and all the shops so is a perfect base for a girly shopping trip.

It is a standard chain hotel and offers all the amenities you would expect like freeview tv, wifi, security boxes etc. I found that it had all the basics that I needed for the limited time I was spending in my room.

The room I was in 931 looked over the back of Central Station so there was a bit of train noise if I opened the window and could image that this would be a lot more if you were on a lower floor so ask for a high floor. I didn't have my window open as it was very warm in Glasgow so I took advantage of the air conditioning to keep the room cool.

My room had a double and single bed in it but it wasn't a massive room so I wouldn't want to have 3 people in there for more than 1 night as you would be on top of each other! however if I was looking for a crash pad for a night with friends for a concert or 1 night shopping trip it would be fine.

In the evenings I dined in my room and did find the room service menu limited, It offers Platters which a nice if you want a lighter snacky option, 4 hot mains like stir fry beef or mussels, a selection of burgers or sandwiches and a couple of deserts. I was tried after my work so just wanted quick easy food so had the fish platter twice and a chicken sandwich once. All were good and didn't take too long to arrive. The only problem with room service is you don't get a tray so have to put your plates outside the door after just on the floor. This is because your room service arrives on a trolley that is obviously doing the rounds of lots of rooms and it doesn't have room for trays.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant and i found the selection quite good on the hot and cold buffet. It was VERY busy each day I went down and i went at different times each day so cant say if there is a quiet time.

I did have a slight issue getting the wifi to work on my first night but I called reception and they helped me get it sorted.

I would have liked to have had a relaxing bath after one of my days work but the bath is VERY shallow so decided not to bother.

All in all it I found the hotel to be of a good standard and had no real problems with it.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid the nose of trains from the station behind it. Ask for a river facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebbs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we will take your comments on board. If you are ever returning please let me know - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    1,113
    457
    129
    69
See reviews for
542
1,006
158
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

So we have just returned from a 4 week stay here, for a work course paid by our company. Overall we found this hotel very good, clean and great location next to central train station. However the rooms next to the station i would not recommend as you can here trains till 2330 at night and they start back up again at 0400. However i told the receptionist that i wasnt sleeping and they were very good and moved my room to the other side of the hotel with no problems at all. The food was very nice, we enjoyed going to the restaurant every night and what definitely made our stay was the waiter KEVIN! He was so friendly, very attentive to our needs, always chatting away and always smiling! Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebbdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review,
I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are located right in the city center which does mean there is train and traffic noise however if you are ever returning please let me know and we will make sure you receive a quiet room. Thank you for your kind comments about Kevin, I will personally ensure he reads the review. - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice hotel stayed one night on the 17th June easy check in girl behind reception very helpful
Room very nice and clean hotel busy but no noise only problem a small bed not good for two people hardly got any sleep but would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sabndy, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct and I would be happy to allocate a room with a larger bed. niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

A group of us came down to Glasgow for Dolly Parton. Arrived at hotel earlier than check in time. We got into our rooms no bother. Staff were lovely and friendly. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. Fab hotel in a fantastic location. So close to everywhere.
Breakfast was good. Will absolutely be back here again. Xx

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Kara, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I arrived late in the evening (around midnight) to check into my pre-booked room.
On arrival at reception, there appeared to be no staff around then someone appeared from a room behind reception about 3 minutes later (no apology for wait).

I was allocated room 819, and as soon as I walked into the room, the air smelt damp and musty. Air con temperature couldn't be adjusted and the room was roasting even with the window open.
When I went to use the toilet, I found that the last person to use it clearly had poor aim as there was dried urine splashed all over the seat.

The sink had stuff stuck to the ceramic as well (not sure what it was as I didn't start trying to pick it off!).

I tried to phone reception to report the issues, but there was no answer and by this time I was too tired to go back down to sort it out as I had been up since 4am that morning on various flights.

This was a reward night for being a regular customer so was free, however Jurys inn have successfuly lost any future custom from me if this is how they reward regular customers - in future I will stay elsewhere in Glasgow as this is the second time I have stayed here now with below average service.

Had I actually paid for this room, I would have been demanding my money back as it isn't really much to ask for a clean room at an £70+ a night hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantos3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Good Morning grantos3000

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for issues you have experienced with our hotel.

Our feedback in relation to the hotel is generally excellent so I was very concerned to read your comments.

If you could please contact me directly to discuss the matter further I would appreciate it.

Kind Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very pleasant hotel. Warm and friendly staff. Our room was on the 6th floor and overlooked the river and the train. Could hear the trains at night, which didn't bother us.

Great breakfast! Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't like trains, then get a room that doesn't overlook tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear stylezee, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Normally we opt for either Hilton or Holiday Inn but decided to try Jurys Inn. So pleased we did. The colleagues there were so professional, curteous and extremely helpful. They stopped what they were doing immediately a guest approached the reception desk and provided the necessary service. I had problems with wifi, my error not the hotel's, and the young lady sorted everything out for me on my iphone and my ipad. It appeared that nothing was more important to her than sorting my problem out.
Aside from this, the whole place is immaculate and the location is just perfect for shopping in Glasgow as it is a shopper's empire! We will go there again, without question.

Room Tip: We were facing the Central Station which I quite liked but if you prefer not to have this, then requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Elizabeth,

Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com. Regards, Niall O’Shaughnessy Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,686 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Property: Jurys Inn Glasgow
Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk of Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 minute train journey or 20 minute walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena, and is an ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 minute walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind in after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of 24 hour room service. If arriving by car, parking is available within a 3 minute walk of the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All of our 321 bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing