We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in Glasgow for a conference. The hotel is a short walk to the city shops and restaurants, and the main station is just around the corner. It is a 20 minute walk to the conference centre, along the river, which is an enjoyable walk on a nice day (it is only 2 stops by train to the convention centre as an alternative).
The room was clean, the staff professional and helpful. The package I had included breakfast (which was good), but not wifi (which is very expensive at 5 pound per hour).
My room was facing Jamaica St, I could hear some city noise in the background, but I would not consider it noisy.
I stayed in the same hotel several years ago, so on that basis I would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxDocGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    1,113
    457
    129
    69
See reviews for
542
1,005
158
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a room overlooking the intersection below (which was better than a friend who had a room over the railroad tracks!). There was virtually no ventilation in the room. There is no wifi, unless you pay an exorbitant amount for it. Breakfast was good, but nothing dramatically different from any one of a number of hotels. It took several calls to get a sheet and a fan. My husband asked at the desk for a second room card, and there was no verification of identity - they just handed one over. This did not exactly make us feel secure!
The only thing this hotel had going for it, was its location. It is an easy stroll to the centre pedestrian zone, with great shopping.
This was our second experience with the Jurys Inn group, and it will be our last. For the price, there are options which give better service, better comfort and better facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We will take your comments on board and work with them to ensure all guests feel they receive the service they deserve. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Jury's Inn is well situated, in proximity to the shops, restaurants etc but also the central railway and if you are on the lower floors you can wave to the passengers. However their double isolated windows keep the noise level down to a minimum, you will have more trouble from your neighbour's TV than from the trains.
The shower is as usual installed in a bathtub, I hate climbing in and out, and it's a head shower, so unless you have a bath hood you will wash your hair. There was TV, coffee/tea appliances, hair dryer, Wifi (5£/hour) even an ironing set but no furniture to put your suitcase on, so I ended up displaying it on the floor and crouching over it. I find that missing furniture unbelievable and I don't understand why, the room was certainly spacious enough. The wardrobe was kept to a minimum, several hangers and two shelves and everything open, that's it.
There is no continental breakfast, the only things not hot are cereals and toasts with jam, no hot chocolate, Nutella, coissants or anything of the kind, breakfast is also completely self serving.
Dinner is good, but if you are on a menu from a tour operator, the portions are not overly generous. We were on a tight schedule the whole day, meaning that we didn't eat much during lunch and we were pretty hungry in the evening and every plate went back completely blank, even the side rolls and the butter were gone, showing how small the portions were. Their service was also peculiar, or perhaps it is a typical british/scottish behavior, they have no problems removing your plate when you are finished and your partner is not. They also have no problem removing your plate while you are stuffing the last piece in your mouth, if you hurry you can put the fork back on your leaving plate.
They do serve drinks in the beginning and it is an exotic ritual. The first table will be asked what kind of drinks they, then the waiter disappears for 2-5 minutes, depending on the order. When he reappears he puts your bottle of wine on the table and asks for money, then he disappears again and 2 minutes later he comes back with your change and leaves you with an unopened bottle. You can unscrew it yourself, taste it and serve yourself. We were a group of 24 people so you can imagine how long it took him to provide us with drinks.
If you come with a coach tour, there is no parking for coaches available in the vicinity, it took our poor driver 15 minutes on food to get to his parking. Before the reception is a place however where the passengers can safely disembark, I just don't know if it is legal or not to stop there.
A perfect hotel if you come with the railway, slightly less perfect if you need a parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, the view is nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinchinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We will take your comments on board and work with them to ensure all guests feel they receive the service they deserve. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent one night on a stop over in Glasgow for a business meeting. Very nice staff and service. Clean, really comfortable room with plenty of shower gel etc.
Met with colleagues to eat out in the evening, however the breakfast was tasty and a good variety available.
The location is great, right by the station, however this does mean you can hear the trains a bit. But I made sure the double glazing was shut and this took care of most of the noise.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicmac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my mother and brother. The parking across the street was pretty easy to find after I had run in to get a map. At check in we were told that our room was not ready and we could opt for a standard room but with the superior package or wait 15 minutes. We waited and had a drink and something to eat at the bar where we were told that they would come and let us know when the room was ready. The staff at the bar were very friendly and came to the table to get our order which arrived in pretty good time. After 45 minutes I went back to the reception to ask about our room, the staff were pleasant enough and gave me our keys. First impressions of the room, clean, small but great views (932). The superior room is supposed to be larger, I'd hate to see the standard. The package was supposed to include biscuits, a newspaper and mineral water. We had a packed day and it was not until we got back that evening that I realised we did not have mineral water. I had to call reception for the wifi code, which is free with the superior room package. In the morning I then realised we did not have the biscuits and the free newspaper did not turn up either. So whilst comfortable the little touches were missing. I told the receptionist at check out an she quickly apologised but that was it. You get 50% off parking across the road to, that works out to £7.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with regards to the Superior package. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have enjoyed stays at Jurys Inns in Aberdeen and Edinburgh and hoped that Jurys in Glasgow would be as good. We need not have worried, the Glasgow hotel was every bit as good as the others.
We were warmly greeted by David Anderson, the receptionist on duty and were checked in very quickly.
We were given a corner room on the seventh floor with great views over the Clyde. The room was large and well furnished with a bed large enough to hold a football team. The bedroom was in a good state of decoration and spotlessly clean as was the onsuite bathroom. In fact all the public areas in the hotel had that newly decorated look.
The breakfast at Jurys is something we both look forward to. A wonderful range of fruits, cereals and bakery products. The cooked items, eggs, bacon, sausages hash browns etc. etc. are of good quality, kept hot and constantly replenished. Without a doubt the best breakfast available in this class of hotel.
All the staff are very pleasant and helpful, they are not jobsworths, they are quite willing to bend the rules a little to accommodate your requirements.
The hotel is in a great location near to the main shopping areas, the underground station and Central Station. And this is the one slight downside of the hotels location, the trains running on the tracks to and from Central Station can be quite noisy and do cause a slight vibration. fortunately trains don't run between midnight and about 6pm.
If you're looking for a great hotel in Glasgow, Jurys is well worth considering.

Room Tip: When asking for a room bear in mind the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_emms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right beside the pedestrian shopping area and the train station. Rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast was really good. Buffet style ... Fill up and you won't need lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U3462JKdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,685 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Property: Jurys Inn Glasgow
Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk of Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 minute train journey or 20 minute walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena, and is an ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 minute walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind in after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and from 5:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of 24 hour room service. If arriving by car, parking is available within a 3 minute walk of the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All of our 321 bedrooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing