We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for first time as attending concert at Hydro. A basic hotel but with all the facilities you need. A nice bar and restaurant.Bar drinks very reasonable priced for a hotel and they where 35ml measures as well. We found all the staff very friendly and polite.Ideal location for Hydro and SECC as well as exploring Glasgow. Free parking with a lot of spaces.Will definitely use again

Room Tip: Think all rooms same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    396
    285
    90
    76
See reviews for
139
406
54
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here on a Monday night rather than drive home after a concert at the Hydro. This hotel could not be better located, so much so that it seemed to us that the entire clientele were attending the same event. The hotel itself is clean and, as far as our stay was concerned, quiet. The room was small but comfortable and functional. However, in some ways the hospitality is parsimonious. They only give you two bath towels for the room (hotel policy not to provide hand towels), and there are no glasses provided, not even your bog-standard plastic ones (you have to use the coffee cups if you want a drink of water). I do understand that they are operating to a budget, but do they have to rub your noses in the fact by paring everything to the margin?
We didn't make use of the restaurant for dinner, but we noted that they did provide a pre-concert menu which seemed to be very popular and did require pre-booking. We did however have the breakfast in the morning - the cooked items were passable, the coffee came out of a machine and there was very little by way of fresh fruit available; only what they had put in the fruit salad. However, for what they were charging, the breakfast was perfectly acceptable.
All in all, I would certainly use this hotel again if I return to the SSE Hydro - it wins through by virtue of its ideal location at a good price.

Room Tip: Get there early if you want to find a space in the car-park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very good location with parking, a short taxi ride into the centre of the city. Rooms on the small side but clean and comfortable with all facilities you would expect. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the atmosphere was great. Food and drinks were good and reasonably priced. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annemoss150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed for one night for ideal Home Show as directly opposite the SECC and Hydro. The place was very busy with Ideal Home plus Prince concert but that is what this hotel is all about. We've stayed here before because you can't beat its location for attending either. Car Park was mad and felt sorry for the poor attendant but he was doing a pretty good job. Rooms are ok, not huge but not too small. Beds queen size and all very clean. Still find it amusing that there is a bottle opener on the wall. Sleep quality was good which surprised me considering the location and number of people coming and going. Bathroom clean, not too small and plenty of hot water. Good shower. Food in restaurant was ok. We had 2 for 1 curry and was a bit more like curry soup. I think the microwave is used a lot! But it was edible and cheap and staff are really friendly. Breakfast was ok but they struggled to cope with the numbers -we had arrived at a quieter time but quite a few people had to wait for table. Lots of waiting around for food and drinks are machine orientated which I don't like. But all in all great value - we paid £51 a night for room and breakfast which for two of us was excellent for such a convenient location. If you're going to SECC or Hydro wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Campanile.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shearwater58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The parking was easy and so handy for concerts. The room small but fine as it is just to sleep in after con.cert. Handy to walk across walkway to Argyle Street for restaurants . The room itself was clean as was the bathroom Could have done with hand towels in the bathroom and not just bath towels.
Would stay here again for a concert

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowWeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is very basic. Outwardly it appears chic, but on arrival at the rooms it is a different story. The rooms are small. There are no glasses in the bathroom and when I asked at reception I was told it was company policy not to supply drinking glasses in the rooms, but I would be given them if I asked in the bar. The bar staff very kindly supplied prepacked plastic glasses, which begs the question why were they not there in the first place? I asked for an extra pillow and was told it would be brought to the room, we then went out for dinner and when we returned NO pillow, which I have to say they did bring immediately when I asked again. There was also a lack of towels in the bathroom, there were no hand towels and the bathroom and the 2 bath towels were of extremely poor quality, very thin and small. I do have to say that the shower was very good. There is no towel rail in bathroom and very poor ventilation in the bathroom also. If I had paid the full tariff displayed in the hotel, I would have been extremely unhappy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mharit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please call on 01412877700 and I can investigate this matter further

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massa Fiscaglia, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed for one night before attending the Ideal Home Show at SECC on 23rd May 2014.Hotel was very busy as there was a 'Prince' concert on at the Hydro that night.The Hydro is just over the road from the hotel and the SECC is a 3 minute walk away.
Very busy carpark but well managed by an attendant. Very reasonable prices even in the Bar !!
Steak was reasonably priced and cooked 'Rare' as we asked for. Breakfast was good value albeit a little slow.
Room was more than adequate and everything worked. With the window open the Prince Concert was not bad either !!
All in all an enjoyable stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Louvre hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing