We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant budget hotel”
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here after a show at the Hydro Arena just across the (very busy!) road. It is an ideal hotel for such a stay, small, friendly, modern and very clean. The room was an adequate size, comfortable, clean and warm and surprisingly not noisy. The restaurant is efficient, the food good chain quality. Help yourself breakfast.
After we checked out, they let us leave our car in the FREE car park while we went into the city centre shopping - a real bonus.

Room Tip: Our room looked across to the Hydro Arena, across the busy road, and was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3xGrandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Campanile Glasgow SECC.

I am delighted you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and warm. We strive on exceeding customer expectations.

I do hope you will return and stay in the future.

Kind Regards;

Kevin L
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here as attending a gig at the Hydro. We were warmly welcomed at reception , our room was on level 3 we found the room adequate with ,beverage tray ,hairdryer ,shower gel etc. The walk to the Hydro was less than 5 mins which was great as it was peeing down . We went for the cooked breakfast which included continental (8.75) was plentiful with attentive staff . Free parking always a bonus and we wouldn't hesitate to rebook : ) .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voddygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked this hotel for convenience for sse hydro, ticked this box well. however a very budget style stay was provided for a not so budget price. on arrival at 9pm the window in our room was wide open leaving the room very cold. we were provided one small bath towel per person, no hand towels were provided. there were numerous signs promoting reuse of towels and also stating a spare "set" was available within the room - not the case. on reporting the lack of towels to the reception I was told "we don't do hand towels", when I queried how one towel constitutes a "set" I was told that this was their Eco policy and that they do not provide hand towels in any of their rooms in any of their hotels. I continued to be dismayed however the staff member was uninterested and offered no apology or offer of an extra towel. I also mentioned the window and the fact the our tv remote did not work to which he replied I will get the remote fixed.

I did not pursue the issues further as I felt the staff member was disinterested and unhelpful.

I would reiterate that the hotel has posters everywhere boasting it's Eco ways however it appears in reality they merely provide you with less. additionally many areas- including my room- smell as though they have been poorly cleaned following smoking taking place.

other staff members where more helpful but those on reception did not assist in any manner with my grumbles.

I will not stay here again, and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodie3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Booked hotel for ease of attending SECC which is less than a five minute walk away. Room was clean, remote control for TV did not work, bed was very uncomfortable (spring mattress) pillows were of cheap foam type and not comfy, not enough hanging hooks in bathroom for clothes and/or towels. Food in bar/restaurant was good for the money( obviously frozen fare) and staff there were very friendly. Breakfast food could have been hotter but was more than adequate. Free parking at hotel which is a real bonus, would use again.

Room Tip: Some upper floor rooms have views of the river Clyde, nice when seen at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked this hotel because of proximity to Hydro arena for a Peter Gabriel gig as we had not been to Glasgow before and had no idea of the logistics.
The satnav found the hotel ok and the secure parking is free which which is always a bonus.
Check in was fine our room request of 4th floor and river view were honoured automatically. I know that comments have been made about surely staff but I had no problems in this respect, although I don't like over familiar staff so if you want a more personal service perhaps another more expensive hotel may better suit.
The room was clean and adequate which is all we required, with tea making facilities and tv.
The only complaint I can make is of the restaurant. When booking I stressed that we did not want to eat from the "Theatre" menu and was assured that we could order from the normal menu. On seating we had no choice the theatre menu or nothing. Ok so a limited choice should mean quicker service, not so everyone had to wait an eternity for below average food - some waited over an hour for a burger.
To sum up, the hotel is fine so long as you realise that it is not near Glasgow city centre and do not eat the food. If they sort out the restaurant, especially as the choice of places to eat in the vicinity is exceptionally limited, then with free parking and river view it would be an ideal choice for concert accommodation.

Room Tip: 4th floor with a river view worked for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QwertyXi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

we stayed for one night , we found the staff ( particularly Joe ) very friendly & helpful , the room was clean & comfortable , great shower , the food was good , breakfast could have been hotter , but there was plenty of it , would recommend it to our friends .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I don't know what this place costs as it was booked for my by a client, but unless it's cheap, it's not a good hotel. Not the worst but in need of a lot of care. Got checked into a room, only to walk in and find another guest in his pants in the room. When I went back to reception she said 'I realised I'd done that about 30 seconds after you left me' - but clearly made no attempt to stop the inevitable room invasion by chasing after me or ringing the room occupant. No towels in next room, requested some, they arrived threadbare with holes in as big as a jaffa cake. Ordered room service, bottle arrived with no bottle opener. Asked for salt and vinegar to be brought up with order, only vinegar arrived. Clearly either this chain of hotels doesn't care and is happy that way or this one has slipped out of it's prescribed procedures. Either way, not good. Bed a bit lumpy, 3 pillows for 2 adults. All else functioning fine. Quiet. Good water pressure. Close to BBC Scotland. Continental Breakfast ok, not huge choice but enough. Only one socket in room. Cleanliness not great but no worse than my house.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busyquizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $47 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an extremely overpriced run down hotel, our management are more interested in making money than providing quality service to guests. Our rooms are very dated and in desperate need of upgrading. Myself the GM Kevin pride myself in my Basil Faulty style of management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Louvre hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing