We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location for SECC”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good location for SECC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

average tired hotel, staff were very good and helpful, but they were obviously understaffed so were rushing about doing two jobs, like reception and bar or reception and seating people for breakfast, I queued for 40 minutes for breakfast on Sunday. The hotel was busy but that's no excuse. 20 minute walk to anything, or a £5 taxi. Bathroom was small and tired. The bed was not good enough, the springs were very uncomfortable. It is a basic standard hotel and you get what you pay for I know, but this place could benefit from some corporate TLC. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrighty-Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Wrighty-Bath,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am disappointed to read your review and would like to apologise for the issues you faced during the stay. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay and it seems that was not your experience with us.

You may be interested to know we are currently in the process of redecorating our bathrooms, providing new shower trays, new tiling and a splash of paint. We are also awaiting delivery of new beds as we have recognised these needed changed.

I would urge you to stay with us again on your next visit to Glasgow and should you wish to, please contact me directly and I will personally take care of your reservation to ensure you experience our normal offering.

Kind Regards;

William Furie
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    406
    293
    90
    78
See reviews for
144
418
55
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

5 ladies that have attended Strictly Come Dancing Tour for the last 4 years, and have stayed at your hotel every year. Yes the room was a for 1 nite,and £120 for a twin room, but if you weigh up the cost of taxi, the waiting for taxis after the show in our lovely scottish weather! this Hotel wins every time. Some reviewers have said over priced drinks,(i was in a hotel in Ayr last weekend and a glass of wine was £10.70!!! thats taking the p--s!!!) if you want cheap drink go to the off licence and sit in your room and drink!!! Last but not least Huge praise to staff, made feel welcome on every visit, must mention Stuart, Brian and Derek who could not do enough for us on this visit. Would recommend here for a stay when attending a show or event at Hydro/Secc

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn64scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Lynn64Scotland,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to hear you returned for the 4th year running when attending the Strictly Come Dancing show at the new hydro.

I am glad you received our normal warm welcome from the team and look forward to seeing you again next year, remember to contact us directly for the best rates going.

I will of course pass your comments onto the team, I’m sure they will be as delighted as I am.

Kind Regards;

William Furie
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a fairly rude receptionist who finally held onto our bags as we were early for check in.
The Rolling beds were ok but no radio function on the tv.
Looks a bit run down and is a basic hotel close to the centre of Glasgow, still a short taxi ride or a twenty minute walk along the Clyde.
Kelvingrove museum was fantastic.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozgondwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Ozgondwana,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to read you experienced problems at check in and can assure you this is not the way we normally greet our guests and I will ofcourse speak with the team.

We are currently in the progress of retuning all of our TV’s to ensure guests are able to get all channels.

I hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards;

William Furie
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
378 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel was cheap for a saturday night with a concert next door, 5 mins walk to station gets you into the city centre.

rooms were clean and tidy, good choice of TV channels and free parking.

you can walk to Ibrox in about 20 minutes, if the bells bridge is open !!

check in was no problem, staff were helpfull and chearfull throughout. Restaurant on site, also chinese and italian and indian within easy walking distance.

Car park is a bit difficult to find if you dont know the area, you turn up the side of the Rotunda Restaurant , accross from the Hilton , dont follow the road round to the Hydro , you will have to turn back.

SEC and Hydro are right accross the street.

very quiet and peacefull the night we stayed. Lift to all floors FREEEEEEE WIIIIIFIIIIIII great addition.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fozzie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Fozzie555,
Thank you for your review

I am delighted you seem to have had an enjoyable stay and made use of our facilities. Free Wifi ofcourse is an added bonus and we are proud to be able to offer our guests this free of charge.

Im sorry to hear you had some difficulty in finding our car park.

Kind Regards;

William Furie
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

stayed here for a week on the 20/1/14, I've stopped here before for one night and I thought it was ok but after stopping for the week I found the bar was expensive and that bbc news with the text was just plane annoying along with that music they keep playing on loop, I found that the staff were ok but the hotel was trying to project some sort of persona of being better than what it is, I found customers who wanted a drink in the bar just staring at the tv in silent with that crap music playing in the background reading the same txt over and over again.

the food was ok for the price (the chicken needs to be done a little more for my likening) and I found the rooms ok and quiet and I did have a good sleep.

as I stopped for 4 nights it was £224 which worked out to £56 a night but found out the first night was infact £89 and then £45 their after, if I had know the daily charge for the Monday I wouldn't had stopped it is most definitely not worth £89 for that hotel per night, more like £45 is about right.

they just taking advantage of the new secc thing that's been built their like all hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kencrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I were going to a concert @ the SSE Hydro and booked in to this hotel. Having done absolutely no research at all the only reason I booked it was it's a short walk to the SSE Hydro from the hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised to find a hotel that warm, comfortable, homely, clean & tidy, welcoming & friendly, the staff were great. The bedroom was exceptional, as were the bar & dining areas. The food was magnificent and the comfort of the bedroom brilliant. I suffer badly with a bad back and normally when we go away (mainly in Ireland) the hotels all seem to be supplied with a bog standard, cheap and very hard mattress which really kills my back. The mattress in this room was lovely and cosy and I had absolutely no problems getting up in the morning, and for me (at least) that means more than how fancy the place looks. But I have to say all in all this was a great hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in booking in again. I could find no fault at all.

Room Tip: I think any room would be a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

hotel its self was situated in a good location for secc/hydro as we were attending topgear live this was great, but the room was very basic, with mold on windows, heating not working, toilet not flushing, also had one towel between two people, the bar is also very expensive and staff seemed to be interested in chatting up the front reception workers than helping with queries. we were then woken up by staff cleaning rooms right outside at 9am when checkout isn't until12!!! wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone there is plenty other hotels in the surround area with a great reputation....AVOID

Room Tip: Avoid room 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisadundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Louvre hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing