We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Business trip convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for an Expo at the SECC 18th/19th Sept. I found it a clean, comfortable hotel with free wifi (Hooray!). I ate there for dinner and breakfast and found the food rather good. The only downside was that in the morning the wifi was not working. I shall be searching for hotels of this group for further business trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenJenBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear HenJenBournemo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Campanile Glasgow. I and the team are delighted to hear you enjoyed stay with us. I am sorry to hear the wifi stopped working and should this happen during any future stays, please contact our reception team who will be happy to assist you.

Best regards

M Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    406
    293
    90
    78
See reviews for
144
418
55
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I agree with someone else don't stay unless no where else , first impressions, clean,nice room, then the bed .. so uncomfortable never slept all night , 1 pillow each....that were flat..
Breakfast a farce, full English no where to be seen , waited 15 mins then left and ended up at Mcdonalds Not good when looking forward to a cooked breakfast.. wrote and complained and got a pathetic apology back..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sahirah,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Campanile Glasgow. It is with such feedback we are able to improve.
I am disappointed to read your stay was not as good as we would have wanted. All our rooms have 3 pillows as standard with more available from our reception team should you require. We understand everyone has different tolerance levels for bedtime and we will try and accommodate these where possible.
Our breakfast offering is a self service buffet which offers your traditional English breakfast (Fried Egg, Hash Browns, Tomato’s, Bacon, Sausage, Beans and Mushrooms) with scrambled or poached eggs available on request. Again should there be something you are looking for that is not on offer we aim to get this for you if we know. As it is self service at breakfast, I am unsure what you waited 15 minutes for.
I am also sorry to hear our reply was not satisfactory. Should you wish to discuss this further, I can be contacted on glasgow@campanile.com.

Best regards

M Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked the hotel while attending a conference at the SECC. Was a bit apprehensive as it was so cheap. My room was fine - unlike other reviewers I had no problem with the mattress.

BUt it seems a bit hit and miss. I had no towels, depsite asking 3 times they never arrived. Someone when i was checking in had a room which hadnt been cleaned and had been told there was nothing they could do as hotel was full.

SO a bit hit and miss - would probably take the risk and go back though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear SimonMcG,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Campanile Glasgow.

I am glad to hear you found the room to your liking despite having no towels for which I can only apologise and assure you that this is a rare incident.

I am glad to hear you would stay again in the future and would urge you contact the hotel directly to ensure you get the best rate going.

Best regards

M Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I agree with some of the negative comments. The mattress, if you can call it that, was more like springs covered with a thin sleeping bag. you could feel the springs right through the cover. What is the deal with NO Soap?? Liquid soap?? never heard of that in a hotel. NO face cloths?
One towel in the bathroom and had to call for another. When we went down stairs to find something to eat...there was a sign behind the desk which informed guests that there would be an 8 pound charge for amenities..we were on a bus tour and had to stay 2 nights...2 nights with our a decent mattress. Cruel!! So, bring your own soap, face cloth, extra slippers, and maybe a your own mattress...beware...you have been warned!

Room Tip: HOtel not near anything and in a bad part of town..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackboy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we are a Budget Hotel with Budget Facilities not a Full Serrvice Hotel. Most budget hotels operate with liqued soap and a limited number of towels because the over night price is low the cost of operating is low. We do have a sign behind reception listing the overnight prices to stay and various other amenties charges. I appreciate the feedback about the beds and the company have taken this on board and will be investing to replaces these at the earlist opportunity. Again thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Arrived to find two single beds instead of a double as booked. The carpet was wet at the door inside the room. The room was built for disabled customers comprising of a wet room for a bathroom. Upon showering the bathroom flooded and some of the tiles were broken. This resulted in struggling to use the toilet or brush our teeth as the bathroom was now a swimming pool... If a disabled person were faced with this an accident is waiting to happen, slipping or skidding in a wheel chair is a law suit waiting to happen!!! The housekeeping had already kept us awake from the chatting and banging outside our room and then tried to enter our room at 7.30.... With this lack of sleep from the single beds, then the housekeeping, followed by a terrible shower in the dangerous wet room we had a long drive ahead of us!! We informed reception of our horrible stay and unacceptable bathroom... In which they replied that they knew about the flooding in room 22, they knew it was blocked... This being the case we or anybody else should never have been put in it!!!!! We were offered a complimentary breakfast which we declined and were told to leave our details so management could get in touch about our complaint.... We are still waiting!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelalynn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feed back though negitive, I aplogise for your poor nights sleep and the issues you had with the room, The twin room was supposed to be a double as you stated which I have asked for feed back from the reception team.
I did try to contact you with the Mb number you left with my team but it does not ring so if you can contact the hotel or leave another number I will be happy to discuss the problems with you. again my sincere aplogieses..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A pretty new hotel located opposite Glasgow's new Conference complex. Limited facilities but generally acceptable, accurately reflecting its three stars.
The Restaurant/bar is comfortable and serves drink and standard fare at a reasonable price.

For
Genuinely hospitable and friendly staff - happy to go the extra mile.
Clean rooms, basic but with free Wi-Fi and good quality TV.
Reasonable level of sound proofing
Air Conditioning

Against
A new building which is unlikely to stand the test of time - loose wall fittings, cracked sink, lumpy bed already noticable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vestigium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback its much appreciated, the team are friendly and we try to make every one welcome. We are in the process of investing to improve the product in various areas so the property keeps up with customers needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was the worst hotel that I have ever experienced and the worst part was that i had to stay there because my tour company, trafalgar, booked us for two nights. The mattress on my bed could be squeezed in one hand - i could feel every coil of the eight inch mattress. The bathroom ceiling was covered in black mold, no soap and tattered towels. The bar smelled like wet horses, everyone commented on the horribly stained carpet. The general consensus of the tour group members was the same. My faith in trafalgar was also shaken;they always provide more than adequate accommodations and this fell way short. Run away from this property!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungrytraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, its only with the customer comments that we can focus on improving the property, customer service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing