We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here during a weekend break last July and definitely made a great choice! Staff were friendly, lovely rooms and great value for money. Will be really keen to return when we can manage another trip back to Glasgow! Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for positive reply and we look forward to seeing you back at the Gasgow SECC.in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

On arrival, checked in by foreign staff, which is fine if you can understand one another! Handed a form to fill in, which was in French, although the English was next to it but still, this is wrong!!! Two of us in the room but only given one key, we had to request a second one. First impression of the room was that it was very small and cramped. Just as well neither of us are fat because we wouldn't have been able to move about if we were!! Seriously! Wardrobe was tiny and would have been fine for an overnight stay but not for a week for 2 people. Door Guard was missing from door and unsightly holes where it had once been. Bathroom door didn't lock. Toilet flush was dirty and toilet itself was stained. No hand towels provided. Toilet paper was of the cheapest, flimsiest type imaginable as were the bin liners - which didn't actually fit the bins they were placed in. Couldn't run water in the sink whilst cleaning teeth or washing hands as it overflowed, very poor drainage. Shower floor was lethal and we both fell in it. Shower also flooded as the hair trap/plug was choked - we dismantled and cleaned this ourselves, not very pleasant and obviously had not been done for some time. Main bedroom only had one power point free so when we wanted to charge our phones and ipads we had to disconnect the kettle and TV. There were notes left for the room occupants which told you there was an air conditioning unit/heat selection on the wall but no instructions on how to use it. No clock except on TV and no alarm clock probably because they would rather you paid for an alarm call. Restaurant menu was very, very limited and drinks at the bar expensive. Breakfast was self service and all-you-can-eat and the staff were working hard to keep everything replenished. Personally, what food we ate there was enjoyable but not great but others in our party were not impressed at all. The burger for example, was a burger on a roll - no butter, no relish, no nothing just a burger on a very dry roll. Nothing about this hotel was very professional, and it certainly was not worth the room price. Most B&Bs and Guest Houses offer cleaner, friendlier and far superior accommodation at a much lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princeoftheyolkfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Owner at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I will discuss these points with the relevent departments, both positive and negitive comments are appreciated and act on. And it is with these points that we can improve the raeas you have high lighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It may be because this hotel has lucrative deals with tour companies that bring customers in groups irrespective of the services provided, that those poor souls who end up booking individually are treated like dirt!
Location: Probably the only positive thing about this place (apart from free wifi).Easy access to SECC and conference venues like Crown Plaza and Hilton ( I could not get rooms in either due to a big international conference)
Reception: The european lady was friendly and welcoming. Check in was quick as well.

Room: I booked a single room and was given a disabled triple room on the third floor. Though the room was spacious, the bathroom and the general lay out was disable oriented which put me off instantly. The bath room was wet all the time and it felt very odd being in there.
Asked for another room to be bluntly told that they are fully booked and no other rooms available. But a quick look from outside did not suggest a full hotel and people were still checking in. So, in spite of booking a single room weeks ago, no flexibility about this.
Room had a TV and air con,both working well. It also had a ward robe!
Bed was OK. Not much noise from outside except in he bath room (which was single glazed)

Restaurant: Went there for dinner. Waitress asked if I am part of a group and when I said no, I was asked to take a seat in the bar. Waited there for 20 minutes on a table with used plates and waste!! No one came that way and there was no one at the bar counter either.
After waiting for so long, I just left to have dinner at the Chinese/japanese restaurant across the car park. A blessing in disguise. Nice place, nice food and very friendly staff who cannot do enough for you.

I felt that there is a lack of leadership and management at Campanile and above all highly inadequate number of staff esp. in the restaurant.
The explanation given by the management in another review here about the lack of feed back form
is laughable. Come on! Stop being idiotic. It is a basic management lesson to get customer feedback and act on it.

Will I return? Highly unlikely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobilemedic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about the service and quality in the hotel on this night we did have a lot of Group Business with coachs in and we were Full Booked . At no time should a customer not be valued so I aplogise for the wait at the bar. Customer feedback is a major tool that is used by the management and team on a daily bases and needs to be a daily focus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friend and I spent three days here for a conference in August and the hotel suited us just fine. It is true that the rooms are on the small side but they have everything you need (well apart from hand towels). The room was clean and well looked after and after calling reception they came and made up the sofa bed for us. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
I have stayed here before and will be returning.
Thanks to all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back it is all ways to great to see regular customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is nice, quiet hotel, room is big enough with a big bathroom, the breakfast also fine, I stayed one night , the staff so friendly. I hope if they would have a branch in Edinburgh,
I would recommend it for any traveller to Glasgow

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muayad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

It was great to read your feedback thank you for the comments and I am sorry we do not have a hotel in Edinburgh for you to use, but we dol ook forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed overnight in hotel. Was ideal for this . Hotel is clean and staff helpful. Had one problem in that I had asked for a ground floor room. However reception advised that they have no double rooms on the ground floor which I find really strange. Allocated room on 3rd floor. This was in fact a disabled room which had a wet room in the toilet. This gave us problems as when you used the shower the bathroom floor remained wet throughout our stay.Did not eat in the hotel as the menu is very restricted. There is also free parking

Room Tip: Ideal if you are attending an event or concert at the SECC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnniebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback its much appreciated, We are a great location for the SECC as you say and free parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The campanile Glasgow is located in an industrial area outside of town. It is close to the armadillo centre and to a new arena that is being built, but anything else would require transportation and the location is really far away from anything. The hotel itself is on the small side and the room quite small itself - there was not much room to maneuver in it with a suitcase in there as well. There is no lobby to speak of just three smallish tables near the reception. Reception staff were not local and except one had no knowledge of local attractions. Breakfast was ok but we were not told when booking that there were two levels of it and it was rather annoying to find out you needed to pay extra just to get an omelette.

Overall the hotel is ok if you just want to spend the night while on the road, but not for much more

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback on your stay with us. We are located in the Scottish Exibition Conference Centre/SECC area of Glasgow and taxi's are about a £5.00 into the West End or City Centre of Glasgow or if you feel like a walk along the River Clyde its about 20 minutes into theCity centre. I aplogise if you felt the team on Reception were not informed about the local attractions, there is lots of brochures to hand and maps of the city. Yes we do have 2 levels for breakfast Continental and Full English at 2 prices. Again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
2,423 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $47 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an extremely overpriced run down hotel, our management are more interested in making money than providing quality service to guests. Our rooms are very dated and in desperate need of upgrading. Myself the GM Kevin pride myself in my Basil Faulty style of management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing