We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel ,breakfast a shambles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“lovely hotel ,breakfast a shambles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

After searching hotels for one near the SECC as we were going to a concert there, we came across campanile which is ideally located just a quick two minute walk to SECC.We checked in very easily (sorry cant remember name)by a pregnant lady who was very friendly and chatted with kids about their concert ,she was our first impression of hotel and she was very professional and also friendly.On arrival in room we were delighted with rooms we booked, sufficient beds for us and plenty towels and extra bedding which we did not require as room was nice and cosy .Rooms had a hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities.Everything was spotlessly clean ,housekeeping clearly work very hard. Great night sleep had by all beds comfortable ,shower in morning was bliss really powerful and hot, toiletries in bathroom also. If we had checked out first thing i would have no complaints but unfortunately we went for breakfast!!! firstly i must add the dining hall was not particularly busy the breakfasts are held in hotplates where you can serve yourself your preferred breakfast or in my case not!!after asking member of staff at serving area when the trays were going to be filled i was told they were just coming out (only sausages and eggs available at this point) so i continued to make toast while i waited after a further 5 minutes still nothing re filled so i asked again when the food would be ready and was told it would just be 5 minutes!!!! i explained to what looked like restaurant manager that this was conflicting information as i stood with my cold toast!after a further 5 minutes the staff were clearly harassed and stilll no food other diners were congregating and unimpressed at the situation so i took a seat at my table where the rest of our party had already finished their breakfasts ,finally the trays of food were replaced and i went up to serve my breakfast to discover there were no plates available to serve it on after again asking staff for plates i was handed a chilled plate .After all this i sat down to breakfast i would love to say it was enjoyable but it really wasnt bacon literally raw with more fat than meat, tomatoes solid inside ,eggs not turned or cooked properly,mushrooms swiming in what looked like dirty water!!the beans and toast were nice .Apple juice was well well watered down not pleasant.Cereals were available and there was a beautiful spread of frut which children enjoyed .Overall lovely hotel dining experience bit of a joke ,mass production in breakfast hardly rocket science kitchen staff desperately need better management as letting hotel down.Would definetely book again but would not eat here.Shame lovely hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinekimmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sunshinekimmmy

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, we do appreciate you taking the time to pass comment with an honest overview of how things went during your stay. I am glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us and would return in the future. I must apologise for the service at breakfast time. We offer a late buffet breakfast up to 11am over the week end, this allows our customers to enjoy a long lie in after a busy enjoyable night attending a concert or conference at the SECC, or just a long lie in. On this occasion we experienced a combination of nearly 200 guests all descending upon the restaurant at the same time, looking forward to enjoying a late breakfast, which very rarely happens but took us by surprise, normally we get a steady flow of guests which helps us to turn around the tables evenly. With a limited number of chaffing dishes to refill with food, we did find ourselves, once we had topped the chaffing dishes up with food that this was being taken as soon as it was put out, and as quickly as the chef could prepare fresh items it was going as soon as we put it out. I do apologise for the disappointment and the inconvenience you experienced and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We have certainly learned lessons from this example and have now put in contingency measures to help prevent this from happening again in the future. Whilst our restaurant will seat in one sitting 64 guests, and on busy occasions we set the bar area for breakfast as well to help keep waiting times down to a minimum, when a large number of customers are looking for tables at the same time we have to manage this the best we possibly can, and i am delighted to say that this situation seldom incurs long waiting times, however it did on this occasion for which we are really sorry.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    396
    285
    90
    76
See reviews for
139
406
54
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a one night stay with a couple of friends for a night out in Glasgow last Saturday. Great value for money. A warm welcome is always a good start and we were not disappointed by the friendly reception staff. Our rooms were on the top floor and I had requested river views (not much of a view but we were only there for one night so not a big deal) Rooms are fairly small but had everything we needed. They were nice and clean with tea, coffee facilities and a hair dryer. The bathroom again was spotlessly clean. No hand towels but these can be requested. There was an additional blanket if required also. The AC unit was a wee bit loud so we switched it off but the room was a comfortable temperature. The bar and staff were warm and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, plentiful and hot. Restaurant staff also lovely. Overall for the price we paid my expectations were exceeded. We had a great night and a sound sleep. I just hope once the Hydro is built the prices don't massively increase.

Room Tip: Top floor refurbished already and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to see Sigur Ros at the SECC which is a 5 minute stroll away. The rooms are small, a double bed and a sofa take up almost all of the space, I was on my own and felt cramped. The basin in the bathroom had a large crack in it and the shower almost came off the wall. The staff were very friendly and happy to chat. The main thing was that it was clean and close to the SECC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaldo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

the only reason we booked here was because its walking distance to the SECC, in which we had tickets for Xfactor mid Febuary. Firstly we were rudely greeted by the receptionist and a french man who did nothing but grunt, we were on the third floor which we thought would be great but on our last night we heard nothing but cars revving past and the people shouting who had clearly just came from example at the SECC. on the first night as we went to get into bed there were foot prints and dirt on the sheets and the bathroom was also bogging!! there was also an energy drink lying on the stairs were the painters were working, that lay there the whole time we were there and probably is still there. we never ate anything from there and couldnt get out quick enough!!!! never going back there again!!! do not recommend for any other purpose other than the SECC.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseConley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear LouiseConley

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments after a recent stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that there were a number of factors that spoilt your stay with us, and can only apologise for any inconvenience or disappointment this caused. I can assure you this is most certainly not the normal way we go about our business as previous comments will testify on this review platform. It is true to say that after may years of excessive use we are undertaking a light refurbishment of the hotel public areas, and all the tradesmen that we have working in and around the hotel are thorough in their undertaking, and certainly do clean up on a daily basis once their duties are complete and they sign out of the hotel, this is normally checked by the late duty manager on their 6pm walk round of the hotel, and further checks throughout the night by the night porter, time permitting. The only thing I can imagine, with the many revellers that we have staying with us attending the various concerts at the SECC may be that cans were left in the stairwell upon their return late at night that was subsequently overlooked.

With regards to the dirty linen and general cleanliness of the bathroom, once again I am sorry for this and after checking with the housekeeper can not find out why this may have been, as all our rooms that have been cleaned are then doubled checked by the head housekeeper prior to being released for occupation. I do wished you had brought this matter to attention straight away for us to deal with, it can be easy to rectify matters once we are informed, and allow us to get to the bottom of any such incident, but we would not have expected you to stay in a dirty room for whatever reason. We most certainly would have moved you to another clean room whilst looking into how this may have happened.

We do pride ourselves in the personal service that we offer, we recognise that we are here to look after customers in a warm, sincere and friendly way and was surprised to hear your comments relating to the greeting that you received when you first arrived, and would be most grateful if with you could furnish me with specifics? I am sorry to hear that you were made to feel this way, we certainly do not condone rude behaviour at anytime and would address such issues through our internal company procedures.

I should like to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention, as we are trying hard to provide the very best in service and facilities. We will always address any matter that is brought to our attention as efficiently as we can once we know about it, and apologise once again for any dissappointment. I am saddened to hear that you would not return to stay with us after this experience. I can assure you this is not the norm, and would urge to to give us another go to prove this.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 27/2/13 following the one direction concert :-) Reception staff very friendly, personally delivered my car keys to our room after I left them lying lol
I had seen a few negative reviews about pillows and towels! I asked for a couple of extra and they were delivered to our room with no problems! Think the negative reviewers should maybe try asking before moaning lol
Beds were really comfy, room was really warm, especially after the concert, just open the window for a couple of minutes and problem solved :-)
Breakfast was lovely, we opted for the cooked breakfast, well worth the money! Everything in plentiful supply and hot :-)
If we are ever back down in the area we will definitely stay again :-)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheThomasfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a great hotel for a concert at the SECC. Our rooms were small but adequate for one night. Bar area is nice but was very cold. Breakfast was really tasty and plenty of it. All in all great for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here mid-December with my elderly father. Great location for our SECC trip. Rooms are small BUT have everything needed. Had a meal before our show where service was a bit chaotic and I thought our waitress (Johanna) was rather snappy with us. Breakfast was good value for money and I would like, again, to express my thanks to Evonne, who was only too happy to help my father gather his food and carry it for him. She was very helpful at lunch too, smiling and joking even though the bar was full, and even managed to get us what we wanted despite it not being listed on the menu. Check-in and out were smooth. Overall, a very enjoyable stay. We will be back at the end of the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMcUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels and Priceline so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing