We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Chose the hoterl as near SECC not enough towels, room badly in need of redecorating stain on carpet shower cracked and dirty, bathroom ceiling black. Restaurant did not seem able to cope with being full. Woken early by cleaner long before checkout time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    406
    293
    90
    78
See reviews for
144
418
55
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Room 311 for overnight after Lionel Richie gig, free car park, free wifi, abot 800 yrds from SECC
Big "cobweb" crack in sink, towels for one (not 2) Some tiles coming away from wall. Only decaf coffee supplied, no extra pillows (one each) Only one socket on desk area (not working) had to unplug kettle to charge laptop/phone. Air conditioning seemed to be locked down to 20 on arrival & seemed to increase to 25 while out. Radiator in room wasn't working. Mention both to reception on way out, seemed to think Air con & radiator shold be controlable by guest but not sure ? Would report them but maintenance wouldn't be in til morning (overnight stay) Hope the next guest benifited ! Just feel that the £46.75p paid for what we got, place to leave our stuff & an only just passable bed was over priced !

Room Tip: Check the heating before unpacking. Room on the Hotel Car park side as other side has main road to S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear jaH63

Thank you for your recent feedback after staying with us and hoped you enjoyed the Lionel Richie concert at the SECC. I am sorry to hear that you encountered a number of issues with the room that was allocated to you during this time and apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We are slowly working through an upgrade of the rooms which is taking us longer than usual due to the demand for rooms but are getting there.

With regards to our towel provision, a decision what taken by our Company to reduced our towel offering from two hand towels and two bath towels down to just two bath towels in order to reduce our carbon emissions and play our part in saving the environment. One towel is always in the bathroom and the other towel in the wardrobe. Also with the pillows our company standard is to provide two pillows on a double bed, one pillow on each single bed and always a spare pillow in the wardrobe space and this is standard throughout our network of hotels. We recognise that each guest has different requirements and therefore ensure we have an extra supply of pillows, hand & bath towels at reception and offered when requested.

Your comments with regards to the heating, I believe you brought the issue of the lack of heating in the bedroom to the attention of the reception team on the way out for the evening, who mentioned that there are a number of switches that needed to be switched on in the room in order for this to work which is controlled by the guest staying in the room. This room has been subsequently checked by both housekeeping and maintenance and the heating was found to be in working order. What we have instigated after you raising this matter, for which I thank you, is clearer instructions for the guest of heating operation in the room which should alleviate any further issues around this matter. You may be interested to know that all our bedrooms are checked prior to being released for occupation by our Head Housekeeper and heating is part of this check, and should any defect be found this is either fixed by maintenance immediately, logged if the fault is found later in the day, or the room blocked out of service.

jaH63 please be encouraged to contact me directly when next coming to Glasgow and in search of accommodation and I will ensure that this is provided at the best possible rate.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel served the purpose of a place to stay for a visit to SECC. Close proximity and comfortable beds with really friendly staff. Felt it to be a bit overpriced though at £75 for a double room with no breakfast. We did however pay to have breakfast at a cost of £8.50 pp. Thus the 4 star rating. Breakfast was good with plenty on offer and would probably stay again as it was the cheapest option near to SECC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Mouseybrown

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Sorry to hear that you thought the price you paid on this occasion was somewhat overpriced, as we are the lowest priced budget hotel in the area! We always set our rates to be the most competitive in the area for the style of hotel that we are. In comparison during this period, similar style hotels but further away from the SECC were offering rates FROM £85 room only, then you would have the expence of taxis to and from the SECC or the inconvenience of walking, therefore I feel when compared to this we offer great value. Not only this but our continental breakfast is just £6.00.

Please do stay in touch with us though and feel free to contact us directly when next booking accommodation in the Glasgow area, and I will ensure you get the best rates going.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

stayed one night after concert in glasgow, rooms a bit on the small side but well equipped.
cosy bar, decent restaurant, breakfast thrown in, cant be bad for £39 for the pair of us.
only down side was shower tray took ages to drain, had to wait twenty minutes between showers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Scotsdrifter

Thanks for your comments after a recent stay with us. Glad to hear that you felt the price you paid represented great value. We, like all other hotels watch what is going on in the local market place and offer the a corresponding rate that entices the budget traveller looking for suitable accommodation based on our offering, and whilst our rate generally fluctuates throughout the year we always endeavour to offer the best rate possible for the style of hotel that we are.

Sorry to hear about the shower tray taking so long to drain, I have instructed our housekeeping team and maintenance look into this as this is the first time this issue has been brought to our attention, for which I thank you. You may be interested to know that we are embarking on a total shower tray replacement this year, after 9 years excessive use these have now served their purpose and time to be upgraded, so when you next come back to stay with us there should be no repeat of what you encountered this time.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed here several times with business but more recently used it for an overnight stay. We arrived early but were pleasantly surprised to get access right away to the room. We had a double room; clean, plenty of space. I looked for the bottles of shampoo (as I hadn't brought any) but these have been replaced with soap dispenser beside the basin and a shampoo/body wash dispenser in the shower. Much more environmentally friendly. Had drinks in the bar before heading out in the evening. Good night's sleep after we got back. Breakfast was busy but there was plenty of food to go round. WIll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkfootpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Pinkfootpat

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Delighted to hear that everything worked out well for your early arrival. We always endeavour to accommodate early arrivals when whenever we can. We switched over to the new soap dispensers earlier in the year as we felt we should be doing more to save the environment, so implemented with together with a number of other initiatives.

Please remember to contact us directly when you are next in Glasgow looking for accommodation and I will make the necessary arrangements for you.

Look forward to seeing you then.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to go to a concert in the SECC. Lovely hotel great atmosphere, lovely bar with really friendly staff. The rooms were a good size with clean bathrooms great shower. The breakfast room was busy second morning but the food was fresh and hot. Will stay here again and so handy for a walk back from SECC after seeing Jools.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaybus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Rhona56_4

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your last stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will most definitely feed this information back to all the team. Please also remember that we are not only perfectly placed for the SECC, but even closer to the new Scottish Hydro that will open in September next year and already has a busy schedule of concerts planned. On the back of this we are getting busier & busier due to the fact that we offer great value for money, and once again our location. We are also now finding that customers are booking with us because of the fantastic shopping, bars & restaurants and places of interest for both historical and sporting events that Glasgow has to offer, and choosing our hotel offers perfect complimentary car parking, and being situated where we are does not have the hustle and bustle that the hotels in the heart of the city have, although we are not too far from this.

Please do let me know when you are next in the Glasgow area and looking for accommodation and I will certainly take care of this?

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having stayed here twice in the last week I can't fault the hotel or its staff. We arrived early and were able to leave car in carpark and walk to city centre - free car parking is such a bonus. On both occasions we ate in the hotel and it offers good food and excellent value for money. All staff are very friendly and welcoming. Slept soundly on both nights - did ask for extra pillows which were promptly brought to our room. Breakfast was good and everything kept topped up. Efficient checkout.

All in all I be definately be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayceeArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear JayceeArgyll

Thank you for your recent review. I am over the moon to hear that you are returning back to us and becoming a regular, enjoying all the facilities and services we have to offer. It is always a delight to hear from regular guests about their experience with us as it demonstrates that we are getting things right in terms of our offering.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when next looking for accommodation in the Glasgow area and my team and I would be happy to make the necessary arrangements.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Louvre hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing