We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lovely stay in comfortable and spotless room. Dinner and full breakfast at Bonne Auberge outstanding. All staff were welcoming, helpful and pleasant throughout our stay. Excellent location within walking distance of loads of shops, entertainment and other interesting places. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and that you highly recommend us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here overnight at the weekend and the location couldn't be better (you are right beside a massive Cineworld, the shopping centre of Glasgow with plenty of restaurants, theatres and public car parking facilities) so if you are here to shop, eat, pub or club then it's an ideal location. We upgraded to an Executive Room (£100 total for a double) on arrival but sizewise if this was an executive I wouldn't have liked to see the standard rooms as it was very small and dark! The furniture was worn and chipped overall the room was quite shabby. The bathroom was spotless and had obviously been newly upgraded but it was also tiny. All meals are catered for by La Bonne Auberge Restaurant which is adjoining but it is pricey (£14.95pp for breakfast). A pleasant enough stay but I think there are better places for a lot less!

Room Tip: An upper room at the back is quieter off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed our central location.

We do have breakfast inclusive rates that can bring the cost down. We always offer our best rates direct.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is avery nice hotel in an excellent location right in the heart of the city. It is so close to everything, the market, the main atractions. It is also very convienent to take the bus from the airport as the stop is opposite to the hotel. Typical rooms with large beds. It has an excellent restaurant. The only complaint is that it has too much noise from the road.

Room Tip: maybe in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThessalonikiSehrazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our excellent location.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had an overnight stay in Glasgow and this hotel was a very good choice. It is conveniently situated in the city centre and the restaurant has a well deserved red rosette. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful, especially those at the reception desk.We were offered the option of a quiet room facing the back and had no traffic noise or disturbance of any kind. The room was rather small, but spotlessly clean and comfortable.Although drinks are a bit on the expensive side, dinner was excellent, and we enjoyed a good choice at the breakfast buffet.
Can certainly recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: You won't have a view, but the back facing rooms are very quiet- something to consider in a city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and also had a chance to dine in La Bonne Auberge.

I will make sure to share your review with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Holiday Inn and Holday Inn Express Theatreland are almost next to each other opposite a large multi-storey car park accessible from Cowcaddens Road.
The location is convenient for the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, theatres, a large cinema, a shopping centre and many of the shops.
The staff were friendly and efficient, the room a little on the small side but big enough and comfortably furnished. Breakfast downstairs in La Bonne Auberge was fairly expensive but tasty and fairly quick.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and our central location. We do have room packages that include breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed overnight on 24th March 14. Very pleasant young lady checked us in and organied a late check out for next day. We had an executive room, but I could not see any difference to the normal rooms at Glasgow Airport Holiday Inn ?? Kettle, safe, mini-bar, iron etc. Small bathroom with a mini-bath & shower, usual comfortable beds with pillow choice. Room & bathroom were spotless. Bar & Restaurant on a French Theme, perfectly adequate although drinks & food were priced on the high side. Staff friendly & helpful. We had booked a room with breakfast / dinner, and thought the differential over room only was good value for dinner & breakfast for 2 people. Excellent Scottish breakfast. As noted by other reviewers the walls & insulation appears to be paper thin as we could hear other guests and televisions. This could be a problem if you had noisy neighbours !! Generally a good effort and what you would expect from Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room away from the main road and revellers get a room at the back. It is much qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Despite the fact that rooms are rather small, there is no minibar no safe and the bathrooms are small, this is a very nice hotel and very clean. There is a tea maker in the room. The bed is really comfortable and there is even a choice of pillows. The restaurant of the hotel is excellent. The hotel is right in the city centre so definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilabo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay. All the points you mention about are standard rooms you would find in our executive rooms, which are available at an extra cost.

It was great to read that you found the bed really comfortable and enjoyed the pillow choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $89 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing