We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Despite the fact that rooms are rather small, there is no minibar no safe and the bathrooms are small, this is a very nice hotel and very clean. There is a tea maker in the room. The bed is really comfortable and there is even a choice of pillows. The restaurant of the hotel is excellent. The hotel is right in the city centre so definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilabo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay. All the points you mention about are standard rooms you would find in our executive rooms, which are available at an extra cost.

It was great to read that you found the bed really comfortable and enjoyed the pillow choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    398
    141
    43
    26
See reviews for
115
394
72
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very disappointing stay.

On checking in and out, we found the reception staff’s attitude completely indifferent and certainly not friendly. This in fact was the attitude of all the staff we encountered with the exception of the housekeeping lady, who was smiley and pleasant.

The room was an odd layout with the television at a right angle from the bed and sofa.

The bathroom fan was very poor and this meant the bathroom was very wet with condensation. The floor was soaking, not helped by a walk in shower which splashed everywhere. My slippers were too wet to wear by the end of our stay. The only time the mirror cleared was when we jammed open the bathroom door.
The kettle socket never worked. The space under the door was large enough to light up the room at night and let in considerable noise from people in the corridor.
The view from the window was of a back alley of bins.
The breakfast was dreadful, served in a small area with tables very close together. The tables were small and used dishes were not cleared away.
To crown it all, on returning to our rooms after breakfast we found our room keys had been cancelled.
I would not necessarily be complaining about most of these things, if there had been a friendly and less cold attitude in the place.
On leaving all reception wanted to do was check that we had not incurred any extras which required paying for, and then turned to the next customer. A friendly thank you, goodbye, hope you enjoyed your stay, was everything ok, hope to see you back……. would not have gone amiss !
I would not necessarily be complaining about most of these things, if there had been a friendly and less indifferent attitude in the place. I was going to say something when checking out but to be honest, I wasn’t given the chance and I don’t think anyone would have cared.

Come on Glasgow, known for your friendliness, you can do better than this!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear cacbeag,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I sincerely regret that this visit was a disappointment on several aspects particularly with the breakfast served and room layout being sub par. This is definitely not up to standards and we will use your feedback to enhance what we can offer in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Again, we appreciate your candid review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent visit to my Scottish office, located is at the top of Nile st only a 5 minute walk to the start of the centre. Check in was polite and quick, room was good with a really comfy bed which resulted in a good nights sleep, fantastic shower which always helps.Breakfast is buffet style with a good choice including Scottish flat sausage. Only slight issue is the car parking is in a multi story across the road but it's well priced only £5.20 per night

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I would give this 3.5 stars if I could, a lot of good points, very comfortable and clean, the resturant was good, excellent breakfast, and the location is very good for central Glasgow with a cinema opposite, and lots of resturants nearby.

However, there is a lot of noise from the street, which didn't let me sleep well, noise till late at night, and it starts early in the morning. I was there for two nights, and had the same problem every night.

Also, when checking in, I asked for a wake up call (for 7am) and it didn't happen. I normally use my own alarm, so it wasn't a problem, however, I was offered the call, and was a little peeved I didn't get one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great that you enjoyed a lot of aspects of your stay. We do have rooms at the back of the hotel that are quieter.

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A large party of CSPA members attended the AGM, starting with lunch. There were three courses, beef, chicken and vegetable stir fry, with a dessert of profiteroles, cheesecake or lemon tarte, and tea and coffee. Everyone enjoyed their meal, and clean plates all round. The staff could not have been more attentive, and even brought decaf coffee for a few of the party. Water on the tables was replemished before having to ask. The hotel was so good that we have decided to revisit the hotel for a meal on another occasion, perhaps Christmas lunch. We only had lunch, but a few friends had previously stayed as a guest in the hotel and could not find fault with the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read that you had such a great 3 course lunch in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

my friend and I booked an overnight stay with dinner for a girlie weekend catch up. great location for transport links, shopping and nightlife. Comfortable clean rooms, good breakfast and friendly helpful staff. Great choice for city centre break. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidileich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed our central location.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The check in was efficient, room very good, but a touch small.The bed and pillows were the best item. Arrived late back and to the Bar. It was quite busy, but the wait for a drink was 20 minutes. One bar-man, two cleaning glasses (there were plenty on the shelves, so this could have waited) and one other?. Most tables had used glasses, tea-pots, coffee cups, so the bar was not a good experience.Thought £4.70 for a medium glass of "house" wine was a bit excessive and Guinness at £4.50 a tad high. Breakfast was very good, apart from having to place a special order for fried eggs!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I am sorry that you didn’t have a great experience in our bar. I will share your review with the team to help us improve.

Apart from the experience in the bar you seemed to enjoy your stay and I do hope that you give the hotel another chance.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,243 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing