We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room which we stayed in was very comfortable.
The food was exceptional.(and they accept Gourmet Cards).
There was nothing I could criticise everything was all we could wish for..
When in Glasgow, we will be staying there again

Room Tip: Nothing to advise as all rooms where great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavisidesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments and have shared it with team. It was great to read that you wouldn’t hesitate to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    391
    139
    43
    25
See reviews for
115
387
71
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have just returned from the Hogmanay celebrations at the Holiday Inn Glasgow. This was our first Hogmanay celebration in a hotel and we had booked the Hogmanay package including bed and breakfast, a four course meal, disco and piper at midnight. Hotel is in a great location, bedrooms warm and comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. We had a champagne reception at 7.30pm and then followed the piper into the function room. The tables were nicely decorated and the whole room looked lovely, the food was excellent. DJ, piper and staff really good. The breakfast next morning of high quality and lots of choice. We are very impressed with this hotel and thanks for a great new year celebration! We will be back next year!

Room Tip: We were in room 114. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed bringing in the New Year with us. Our Hogmanay gala dinner always has a great atmosphere and is great way to bring in the bells!

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent two nights at the Holiday Inn just before Christmas as we were going to the Hydro to see Deacon Blue, although the weather was dreadful we were made very welcome at the hotel. We had a room on the second floor near the lift but were not in any way bothered by noise. The room was very comfortable, spotless and had a sofa as an extra. bathroom was very clean and towels supplied were soft and fluffy.
Staff at the reception were very pleasant and check-in was done in no time at all, we would certainly use this hotel again if we were going to a show in Glasgow and wanted to stay in the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay with us again.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Pro's
Location
Warm reception staff
Spacious room

Con's
Noise

Upon arrival we were offered an upgraded room for a discounted price for the 2 nights, the room was lovely only downside is the view faced a car park and apartments across the road ( however cant fault the hotel on what is based around the hotel). Upgraded room was very spacious and had the luxury of a jacuzzi. However there was some trouble on getting to use this. after jets turned on what appeared to be dirt came out the jet. After calling reception we got told to run it again. The same problem occurred and they sent up someone from maintenance where we got told it was house keeping's fault for not cleaning it out properly and that they would come clean it whilst we were out at town. That night we came back and the problem re-occurred but not as bad, so we thought may as well use it anyways as we paid for it and it was our last night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Jacuzzi baths are cleaned out regularly and this is the first time I have come across this problem. I do apologise and have rectified the problem.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We made a simple mistake. When searching for a Glasgow hotel we found several well-known chains with rooms available for under £70. The Holiday Inn was £100. We thought that we would treat ourselves to a bit of extra comfort and pay the extra. Big mistake. The positives are that it is in a very good location, within walking distance of most central Glasgow attractions, and that the rooms have been nicely refurbished recently. But the rooms are much smaller than the norm. The hotel is on a very busy corner with traffic lights and is close to the police station. Sleep was impossible. There was a party function inside the hotel which BLARED loud music until 12.45 am, and then the noise of loud pedestrians (talking and shouting) outside until 3.30 am, plus traffic that stopped outside the windows with engines running while waiting for the lights to change all through the night plus police cars with sirens wailing all through the night. The noise was so intrusive that both my wife and I suspected that the window was open and checked it twice. We have nothing against Holiday Inn and regularly use their hotels, but never again at this one.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Bobotheviking,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on room location and condition and truly sorry for the noise challenges you have encountered. We deeply regret that these aspects have negatively affected your sleep and overall experience.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed in room 237 for a weekend getaway in Glasgow. I was nervous about the hotel after recent negative reviews but my concerns were unfounded. Front desk staff were very warm and friendly. The room was very small but I have come to expect that with pretty much any UK hotel. The furnishings and bedding were up-to-date and everything was in working order. The bathroom was immaculate with the hottest water I've ever had in a hotel. Everything was super clean (even the tv remote). We didn't have any trouble with noise from parties or the street.

The location of the hotel is excellent--very close to shopping district and bars and restaurants. It was an easy 10-minute walk away from the Central Train Station. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank quirkygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We have an excellent HK team at the hotel and we are regularly praised for the cleanliness of the hotel as well as our excellent customer service.

Once again thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here as on previous trips it was deemed to look like a nice place! Got what seemed to be a decent price through a 'partner' offer at £65 for the night instead of the usual £100 or so.

Should have stayed at the new premier inn next door in hindsight. I'm just glad we were only there for a night.

Whilst the entrance to the hotel and restaurant area looked fine, our shoebox of a room (number 419) was tiny. Maybe 2 or 3 foot each side of the bed, taken up by various bits of old furniture. One particular delight was the 80's or 90's trouser press and iron combi stuck to the wall with an ironing board the size of a loaf of bread, and looked like it had been attacked with Tipp-Ex at some time (or someone with a particular fondness for trouser presses). Also, the two random wooden panels on the wall - in the center of the top one was 1 hook. Excellent.

The bed was a double, or I think it was - it may have even been one of those silly single / double hybrid type things.

The bathroom was tiny and all manner of contortion was involved to get around the door and into the room. And the bath??? Well, if you want to sit in a little bucket, crack on.


Whilst I can not fault the polite staff and the nice looking reception area, along with the general cleanliness of the place. Anything after that (which we experienced anyway) was poor. I've had better rooms on the side of a French motorway for half the price.

Next time we are up, we will stay at the Premier Inn next door. The hotel is well situated for travel links and location for access to the city centre, but I'd rather not go through the drafty windowed shoebox Holiday Inn Theatreland experience again.

I have no doubt that Mr [--] the manager, will answer this review like he has to the others with a standard meaningless reply, so I shall thank him in advance.

Room Tip: Don't have room 419
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouthsp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear plymouthsp2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with the room accommodations you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing