We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't sleep there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
North England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You can't sleep there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We made a simple mistake. When searching for a Glasgow hotel we found several well-known chains with rooms available for under £70. The Holiday Inn was £100. We thought that we would treat ourselves to a bit of extra comfort and pay the extra. Big mistake. The positives are that it is in a very good location, within walking distance of most central Glasgow attractions, and that the rooms have been nicely refurbished recently. But the rooms are much smaller than the norm. The hotel is on a very busy corner with traffic lights and is close to the police station. Sleep was impossible. There was a party function inside the hotel which BLARED loud music until 12.45 am, and then the noise of loud pedestrians (talking and shouting) outside until 3.30 am, plus traffic that stopped outside the windows with engines running while waiting for the lights to change all through the night plus police cars with sirens wailing all through the night. The noise was so intrusive that both my wife and I suspected that the window was open and checked it twice. We have nothing against Holiday Inn and regularly use their hotels, but never again at this one.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Bobotheviking,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on room location and condition and truly sorry for the noise challenges you have encountered. We deeply regret that these aspects have negatively affected your sleep and overall experience.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    384
    138
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
380
71
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed in room 237 for a weekend getaway in Glasgow. I was nervous about the hotel after recent negative reviews but my concerns were unfounded. Front desk staff were very warm and friendly. The room was very small but I have come to expect that with pretty much any UK hotel. The furnishings and bedding were up-to-date and everything was in working order. The bathroom was immaculate with the hottest water I've ever had in a hotel. Everything was super clean (even the tv remote). We didn't have any trouble with noise from parties or the street.

The location of the hotel is excellent--very close to shopping district and bars and restaurants. It was an easy 10-minute walk away from the Central Train Station. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank quirkygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We have an excellent HK team at the hotel and we are regularly praised for the cleanliness of the hotel as well as our excellent customer service.

Once again thank you for your comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here as on previous trips it was deemed to look like a nice place! Got what seemed to be a decent price through a 'partner' offer at £65 for the night instead of the usual £100 or so.

Should have stayed at the new premier inn next door in hindsight. I'm just glad we were only there for a night.

Whilst the entrance to the hotel and restaurant area looked fine, our shoebox of a room (number 419) was tiny. Maybe 2 or 3 foot each side of the bed, taken up by various bits of old furniture. One particular delight was the 80's or 90's trouser press and iron combi stuck to the wall with an ironing board the size of a loaf of bread, and looked like it had been attacked with Tipp-Ex at some time (or someone with a particular fondness for trouser presses). Also, the two random wooden panels on the wall - in the center of the top one was 1 hook. Excellent.

The bed was a double, or I think it was - it may have even been one of those silly single / double hybrid type things.

The bathroom was tiny and all manner of contortion was involved to get around the door and into the room. And the bath??? Well, if you want to sit in a little bucket, crack on.


Whilst I can not fault the polite staff and the nice looking reception area, along with the general cleanliness of the place. Anything after that (which we experienced anyway) was poor. I've had better rooms on the side of a French motorway for half the price.

Next time we are up, we will stay at the Premier Inn next door. The hotel is well situated for travel links and location for access to the city centre, but I'd rather not go through the drafty windowed shoebox Holiday Inn Theatreland experience again.

I have no doubt that Mr [--] the manager, will answer this review like he has to the others with a standard meaningless reply, so I shall thank him in advance.

Room Tip: Don't have room 419
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouthsp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear plymouthsp2,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please accept our apologies for the issues you had with the room accommodations you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business and leisure.
It is a good standard and the restaurant is good value for money with service at a good level.

Last weekend however we stayed for a shopping trip on the third floor (room 305) and the noise from the christmas parties in the function room was so bad it kept us awake until 1.00am at least with the noise level being so bad it was easy even in the room to identify the songs!
We were not advised of this at check in and having paid £139 for a 'feature room' there did not appear to be much of a price concession for the impact of this. I appreciate that it is the party season but the facilities of this hotel are limited as a function facility and it showed at the weekend.

The worst part however was on checkout I mentioned the issue to the receptionist who replied with a straight face 'was the music good'. Whilst I applaud her sense of humour it wasn't really professional.

I am a little disappointed that at this time of year the hotel puts a little bit of profit gained from functions ahead of the comfort of paying guests who have stayed there many times before.

Sadly it will be the Hilton next time as I would rather have a 10 minute walk into town with a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep and you are at the front left of the hotel check with reception on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craighigg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel

I was sorry to hear that you had disturbances from Christmas party nights. If you had asked at any point during your stay, we would have been able to move you to an alternative room.

I have checked with the receptionist that you mention in your review that they were not very professional. She said the conversation she was having with you was of a very relaxed nature and if she has misinterpreted your mood then she is very sorry. It was not in any way her intention to come across this way.

If you are coming to Glasgow again I would urge you to contact me directly and I will ensure you have a fantastic stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Location came as a surprise as I thought it would be very near to the train station but is not. Dragging a suitcase uphill through the busy shopping street and pebbled road is not easy.

Room is basic with soft bed and a choice of soft or firm pillows but awkward furniture that suitcase can't be put luggage cabinet even with a tiny one.

Noise from workmen wheeling something at 7am was quite annoying. Breakfast was simple and could do a bit better.

Must mention is all staff are very friendly and helpful. They saw us on our way out and asked if we needed a map.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel

I was surprised you did not think our location was not central enough. We are 30 seconds walk from the Buchanan Street bus station, 5 minutes walk from Queen Street Station or 10 minutes from Central Station. Glasgow is a very large city so we are as central as you can be.

I was sorry you had some noise disturbances during your stay. Due to our central location we it is difficult to escape the city centre noises that can occur.

Thank you for mentioning the staff who you found friendly and helpful. We have an excellent team and they are regularly praised for the friendliness and customer service,

Once again thank you for the review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stay here on a regular basis, convenient and always pretty decent.
As a platinum member usually get an upgrade but this time booked executive room.was in a first floor suite which was ok-no more no less.
As always staff polite and efficient, breakfast decent.
You get what you pay for is how I would best describe this hotel

Room Tip: Try get room at rear of hotel always quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your fourth review of the hotel.

As a platinum member we do always try our best to get you upgraded to one of our executive rooms. It’s great to read that you always find the staff polite and efficient. I have a great team at the hotel that work hard to ensure all our guests have an excellent stay.

Once again tanks for the review. Hopefully the next time we see you again is the cup final weekend.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is fine - clean, a little cramped in the bedroom but OK, reasonable bar area, quite close to the railway station. Quite soul-less, but functional and handy for a travel stop-over. Try not to mix up with the neighbouring Holiday Inn Express (just up the road), which we initially tried to book into by mistake....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyewalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was surprised by your comments regarding La Bonne Auberge as soul-less it has recently been refurbished and is usually a busy city centre brassiere that also rate highly on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing