We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I found the central location of the hotel excellent. The reception area was nice and the staff friendly.
However I didn't stay in the hotel. We upgraded to an executive room on check in and after seeing the room we checked out again promptly. The room was extremely basic, shabby and very tired. The furniture was very chipped and the carpet threadbare in areas. The bathroom was nice despite being small. The sofa that would have been made into a bed was old and very worn. I certainly didn't want to sleep on it. The double bed also looked very small.
Not a standard I would expect from a 4 star hotel. And it certainly wasn't value for money for the price of our stay.
I certainly wouldn't stay in the hotel or recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunglebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you found our central location excellent and our front desk staff friendly.

I was disappointed regarding your reasons for not staying at the hotel. As you can see from previous reviews the majority are extremely positive about the hotel and the services we offer.

When you decided you did not want to stay we were happy to offer you a full refund on pre paid non refundable booking.

I am sorry you found the need to leave a review when you did not use our services given that my team appear to have dealt with the situation to your full satisfaction.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    380
    137
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
372
71
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have just recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in the heart of Glasgow's Theatre Land & cannot find words to praise the hotel & staff highly enough! This has been a real find & I will definitely be recommending it for both business & pleasure!
The restaurant offers beautiful cuisine in relaxed surroundings at prices which are excellent value for money! Well worth booking a table in advance to avoid disappointment

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your high praise!

We all hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel was OK but I certainly wasn't "wowed" by it. My first impression of the room - at night - was that it was dowdy. Everything was provided but it had no style to it and some of the fittings looked a bit "cheap B&B". The bathroom was modern and worked well. Two sets of pillows, one soft, one firm was a nice touch. Despite the double glazing there is a fair amount of street noise because it is located very close to cinemas, theatre and the bus station. The next morning, with sunlight through the window it all looked a bit better, but still lacked any style. I've given it four blobs but, for the price, I've been generous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipityagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was sorry that you thought the hotel was cheap. All of our rooms are furnished, cleaned and maintained to a high standard.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
243 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Reasonable size room for city centre but furnishing tired- desk was worn through to the chipboard!. Had a room at the back which was generally quiet till the early morning deliveries. Breakfast looked good but the food was lukewarm at best but no one to complain to, and no one asked!. No fitness facilities- a bugbear of mine. I was told that the nearby university gym can eb used but didn't take kit as not mentioned on website.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was disappointed that you only found the hotel to be “average.” As you can see, generally people love the hotel for our great service, clean rooms and great food. The hot items at breakfast are kept on a hot plate and are rotated regularly to ensure that the items are hot. I’m sorry that this wasn’t the case, there is always a supervisor and a duty manager on duty should any problems arise.

We hope to welcome you back in the future so we can restore your faith in the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theatreland.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed two nights to go and see the Jack Vetriano exhibition at Kelvingrove Museum (which was excellent).
Our room 415 was compact and the bathroom was well designed. Absolutely fine for two nights.
We thought that the hotel was very clean, friendly staff and really well located for the shops and central Glasgow. The breakfast was great and dinner on the first night was part of our deal and the food was first class. Adam our waiter was a treat to meet - a tribute to staff training. Would recommend and will return.

Room Tip: Maybe try the back as the front can be a bit noisy. High floor best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottySouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We have a great team across all departments at the hotel and friendly service is something that we get a lot of great feedback on. Adam has only been with us for a couple months but in the short time he has become a real asset to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romiley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Lovely room, very clean. Didn't have breakfast as seemed expensive for buffet style. Wi-Fi limited to one hour and you have to get a code (very old fashioned). Bar expensive and bar staff are very busy sorting diners drinks so you tend to get left if you just want a drink. Central location for all of Glasgow. Would visit again.
Tip: Go to Dino's two streets down for full breakfast £5.95 fantastic staff , food and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our central location. We offer a full buffet breakfast and our reception staff offer to a pre booked rate of £9 per person, this is great value for a full buffet hotel breakfast.

We currently offer 1 hour free WIFI per day, in January all of our IHG reward card holders will get free WIFI throughout the hotel at any time.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Second time we have stayed here and both times been delighted. Good food good service and very clean room. Very handy for bus station and railway station just round the corner. Will book in again if back in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neri36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and find the food and service good on each occasion.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing