We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY NICE AND FRIENDLY STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
TAMWORTH
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“REALLY NICE AND FRIENDLY STAFF”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room was really nice and good size. The staff at the reception was really friendly and tried their best to help you (even when you are stuck outside under the rain waiting for a taxi!!) It is a perfect location to visit the City centre or work in the centre. The cinema and theatre are very close so you can have a good night out while staying there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAETICOSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and rated us 5 stars! I will make sure to pass your comments onto the staff, I know they will be just as chuffed as I am.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    409
    143
    43
    26
See reviews for
119
400
74
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent accommodation - very clean and comfortable room. Bathroom luxurious. Not disturbed by other guests. Breakfast well-organised. Great location. Cannot recommend highly enough. As always, looked after by Holiday Inn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahy596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow.

I was delighted to read you found the hotel very clean and comfortable. Also that you would highly recommend the hotel, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a contrast from the Hoiday Inn at Glasgow Airport - although the room was quite small it was more than adequate for 2 for an overnight. Lovely clean comfortable bed, plenty of toiletries, nice touch with the biscuits on the tea & coffee tray! We also ate here for dinner and breakfast - staff could not be more helpful and the meals are good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillytonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay whilst in the city for a concert. It was great to read that you had a chance to dine in our restaurant La Bonne Auberge and found it to be good value.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I arrived to a warm welcome from the reception team, recieved great service in the bar & at breakfast - I stay in a lot of hotels & the staff & location make the difference here.

My room was clean, the bed comfortable & the shower hot & powerful! - Excellent - cannot recommend highly enough!

Whether away on business or indeed having a break with that special someone - this hotel punches above its weight!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming yourself back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great hotel when staying in Glasgow for Business,

Trains and Buses within walking distance.

Good restaurant and staff are so helpful.

Breakfast times means you can eat and still be in Office for 7.30

Try and avoid rooms at front - a little too noisy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinL133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for your recent review entitled “great staff – good location.”

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was recently staying there with a bunch of pals,3 rooms altogether, as one of them was celebrating her birthday. I must say the rooms were very clean and modern looking, quite cosy too. Fantastic shower in the room- spent shamefully long time in there in the morning, just to enjoy it, and even though in city centre, noise was well isolated, heating and airco in great working order but the best feature were definitely beds- I have not had slept on such a comfy mattress before- please tell me what type of mattress are you using??? I am going to get myself one like the one we had in the room (third floor).
In summary our stay was very enjoyable and definitely will be staying there again when in the city next time. I would recommend to any traveller.
Low rating on the swimming pool and fitness centre purely because we have not used it, so cannot comment.

Emily McKendrick

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyM814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Emily,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your time here and found the rooms clean and modern. We replace our mattresses on a regular basis and I was delighted to read that you found them so comfy! If you would like to know the make and supplier, we would be happy to give you this, please contact Carol Dove our executive housekeeper on 0141 331 6801.

Unfortunately you are mistaken as we don’t have any leisure facilities at the hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Got a good rate for a bank holiday Sunday, just £56 for the room. Breakfast not included. Room a bit small but very clean and functional. Dined in the in house restaurant which was well priced and very decent food. Waitress service was excellent. The evening barman was a bit of a grumpy sod but I have seen worse. Breakfast £9 was good enough. Location is good, right in the centre of town and plenty to do within walking distance. Overall, good value for money and recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to read that you found us good value for money and that you would recommend us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing