We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel when on a business trip to Glasgow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel when on a business trip to Glasgow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I regularly stay at this hotel when in Glasgow for business purposes. It is centrally located and very near the main bus terminal, so easy to get to and from the Airport.

Standard rooms are not large, but there is enough space to work of an evening and wifi is complimentary. The main attractions for me are the excelllent restaurant and the courteous, friendly staff.

A couple sharing a standard room might find it cosy, with limited room for relaxing, but the beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are bright and spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: There can be noise disturbance if you are on the lower floors, facing the main road and so a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you regularly enjoy staying at the hotel and comment that the staff are courteous and friendly.

We do have some larger executive rooms that you can upgrade to for an extra cost at check-in.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    349
    136
    42
    25
See reviews for
107
333
70
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 days, good value and very handy for the city. Not much of a view from our room-brick wall of the building next door! But for the price it had all we wanted for a few days. Breakfast was self service, not a very good choice but enough.Room clean,tidy and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very good and knowledgeable about the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We do have rooms facing the front of the hotel that might have been better suited to your needs. Our breakfast buffet has many different options. The full hot breakfast that has 7 hot options and a continental selection from cold meats, cheeses, yogurts, fruits, breads and preserves. We also have cooked to order selection included in the price including kippers, pancakes, porridge and a variety of eggs.

I was happy to see you found the room clean and tidy and the staff good and knowledgeable.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed during a shopping trip to the city and booked an exec room.
On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was very nice and we enjoyed a nice meal in the restaurant followed by a comfortable evening watching tv in the room.

The location is spot on for the shopping in Buchanan street and we were able to pop back twice depositing bags and having a quick glass of wine to recharge the batteries.
Park opposite and the hotel has a discount agreement and it is a quick walk over the street.

All in all good hotel in a great location

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craighigg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Craig,

Thank you for you recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and also had the full La Bonne Auberge experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel.
The room is a very good, it has what I need for a business trip.
Bed is Ok, and it has a very good bathroom.
Staff is helpfull.
Don't have parking, and I stayed in the first floor, right next to the breakfast room, so, a lot of noise early morning.
But the hotel filled my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Pedro,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found us good value for your business trip.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Well located just off the top of the Style Mile and less than a ten minute walk from the central station this is a good hotel if you want the shops and the Theatre.

My room was decent, if a bit chilly because of a window that seemed to be fixed open. It was also noisy as result (the bus station is over the road and heavy goods deliveries to the shops must come in very early in the morning because it got busy around 5am). The only request I'd made to the hotel was for a quiet room so I was a little upset.

Bathroom was cramped, and there was a strong smell of damp that I couldn't source.

The bed was comfortable and the pillow chioce is a nice touch.

Other than that the hotel was clean and the staff were helpful, but these are expectations not commendations so on the whole it's an average. I would mark the staff as good, but there isn't an option so it's average for them too.

Room Tip: Those seeking peace should avoid outer rooms and make sure you are away from stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl_Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Karl,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our central location. I'm sorry that we didn’t manage to honour your request for a back facing room and should you ever be returning please contact myself direct so I can ensure you have a wonderful visit.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I require a special diet and the head chef Gerry Sharkey could not have been more accomodating.
He persoanlly went through the menu with me and tailored it to suit my needs for breakfast , lunch and dinner.
Really enjoyed my stay thanks to the efforts of the kitchen as sometimes meals can be problematic for me when i travel.
Top service - thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Douglas,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found the catering to be excellent and tailored to your needs.

Gerry was also delighted when he read your review.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I checked in mid-day. I am a Priority gold card member. Ask If I could have an upgrade. Yes I could have one if I wanted to pay £30. Was given a room on 4th floor. Had a look and found I would be looking down on air-conditioning units. I have experience with them in the past as droning lasts until around 12am. Next room I was given was 309. Room very small, with TV perched on top of wardrobe which was a strain on my neck looking up. No sound insulation on window. I though perhaps the window was open as the loud noise of traffic and people on the street continued most of the night. Fan in bathroom also droned until 10.00pm. Room was opposite lift and people coming out of lift were noisy. Didn't find staff helpful, especially in Restaurant. Though must say Lynsey on reception was helpful and printed off my travel documents. I would agree with previous poster that Holiday Inn Express is better as I have previously stayed there. Breakfast was poor. Although the choice was plentiful. The hot food was lukewarm and dried out. My Daughter and Son-in-law had an executive room 301.They loved it, decor and size of room was excellent. Again the window features as a problem with noise. Bathrooms in both rooms are very small. I am only 5ft and I couldn't stretch out. Location from Bus station and shops is excellent. Won't visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 309 not a good choice opposite lift and facing on to front entrance and a very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I have passed on your review to our maintenance team, who will check the seal in the window of 309 and we will use your review in a constructive manner.

I was pleased to read that your daughter and her husband enjoyed their stay with us.

Should you be returning, please contact myself direct so I can personally ensure you have a fantastic visit.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing