We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was heading for a disaster but saved bythe manager!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Was heading for a disaster but saved bythe manager!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived at the Holiday Inn after booking 2 exec rooms ( 1 twin, 1 double). Our friends were given a further upgrade to a suite. We on the other hand could not even get into our rooms as workmen were repairing the windows. At the desk we had been told the room was ready and the workmen just finished. However, on getting to the room they told us it would by 20 minutes or so. after sitting in our friends room for the 20mins we went back to our room to be told it would be a further 30 mins. Our friends had to go out so we sat downstairs in the lounge. After an hour the room was able to be accessed. Oh dear, the workmen were finished and we could get in but had difficulty moving around the room. When we booked it no-one had told us they do not actually have twin exec rooms but use a fold down bed - yes you pay extra for this privelidge and have a lot less useable room! I went downstairs to say we were very dissapointed. I handed a comment card into reception saying that the room should never have been let till it was ready, we should have been told about the fold down bed and we lost out going out for the afternoon with friends. The manager was nearby and overheard and musr have looked at the comments as after returning to my room he phoned me. He apologised for what had happened and agreed the room should not have been let, he also agreed we should have been told about the fold down bed and apologised for our ruined afternoon. He asked what he could do to make up for the disappointment & all I said was we should not be expected to pay for lesser facilities than a standard room. He agreed and said we would not pay the upgrade price. At dinner that evening he also arranged for us to have afreebottle of wine which we thought was more than enough. However, the following morning 2 bottles of wine had been 'comped' and all our desserts. This was very good customer care. We thanked him very much.

Room Tip: be careful booking exec rooms they are really only doubles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intipusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

Again I do apologise for the confusion with your room booking. Our front desk staff should have been more descriptive about our executive rooms, which are indeed all doubles.

I am pleased to read that this didn’t ruin your stay and that you enjoyed your evening in La Bonne Auberge.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    384
    138
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
380
71
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel on Friday 2nd Nov for one night. We got a deal on one of the web sites, forget which one. A double room for £59, bargain! breakfast not included though.
Anyway when we entered the girl on the reception desk was friendly,cheerful and very welcoming.The usual information was given and she asked if we were having breakfast on the Saturday morning which would cost £9 each, she explained that this was the reduced rate as breakfast usually cost £14. To get the reduced rate we would have to go to reception rather than to the restaurant. We didn't eat in the hotel as even £9 is a ridiculous price for breakfast!
So we went up to the fourth floor, I began thinking we had hit the jack pot.....the penthouse, but alas no.
We entered a small or cosy double room. I would have preferred a king size bed, but it was very comfortable as I slept like a log. The signs hanging on the pillows, SOFT, HARD, was a quirky, yet informative addition to what was overall a pleasant stay.
The next morning the same girl was again on the front desk which was nice as we were again greeted with the same friendly and cheerful smile.

Room Tip: you pay for what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our breakfast price is in line with other city centre hotels and the pre paid £9 voucher is a top seller!

It was great to read that you found the receptionist friendly and cheerful, I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Only a minute from the bus station, the train, theatres and Sauchiehall Street. Rooms modern, clean and comfortable though not enormous. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only downside was the medoiocre quality of breakfast and dinner in La Bonne Auberge

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billtwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time here and found the staff friendly and helpful.

I was disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your time in our award winning restaurant La Bonne Auberge, it has been awarded an AA Rosette for the last 10 years and therefore we have very high standards of quality and choice. It also rates well on tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Hotel is ideal for theaters and the Concert Hall, also only a few minutes from the coach station. We had an up-graded room which was spacious with a two seater setee and my only complaint was that the bath was tiny! Apart from that everything was very clean and tidy. We had dinner in La Bonne Auberge and it was very nice, with two very chirpy young waitresses who were very attentive. We stayed on a special D.B.B promotion which was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor at back of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romanboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read that you found the hotel clean and good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location and good quality room, albeit a little on the small side and can be noisy due to rowdy guests (not hotels fault)

Bar is small but great staff and nothing is too much trouble and restaurant was very good for the area and service was again excellent!

One problem i had was the silly WIFI rule that you have to get a new code every hour! come on guys get it sorted asap...lets down a great hotel

Room Tip: as for an upgraded room more space and on £15 upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Neil,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We offer 1 hour free per day WIFI access and thereafter it is chargeable £5.99 per 24hours. This is in line with most hotels in Glasgow.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed two nights in October while in Glasgow for a family gathering. The location couldn't be more central for shopping and entertainment, although the area to the rear of the hotel isn't the most salubrious. The staff in all departments were most friendly and helpful; as a Gold Priority Club member I was upgraded to an executive room on arrival. This room was a good size with a seating area, a king bed, bar etc. Although both bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean, some of the furniture was well-used - one wobbly chair, scrapes on a bedside unit, a safe that wouldn't open. However, the bed was very comfortable and since we faced the rear we weren't disturbed much by the noise of the city. Public areas are very smart indeed.
Breakfast was well up to usual Holiday Inn standards, with plenty of fresh hot and cold buffet items and others on special order (the pancakes were delicious!); late on Sunday morning the room was rather crowded, but at 8.30 on Monday morning it was fine.
Having stayed previously at the rather good HI Express next door, I would recommend both places but would prefer this one. With a little room renovation I'd have given it five stars.

Room Tip: For a good night's sleep ask for one facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nollaig6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I have forwarded this review to our maintenance team who will look into the issues you have raised.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed one night as we were seeing a concert across the road
Staff very friendly and efficient.
Ate in the attached Bonne Auberge restaurant, excellent and very good value.
Buffet breakfast in the morning was also very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear William,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and enjoyed the full La Bonne Auberge experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing