We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In this case average means good i.e. you get good value for your money if the rate is right.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
799 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“In this case average means good i.e. you get good value for your money if the rate is right.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

For me a very brief visit so difficult to be judge and jury however this is what I found....checked in about 6pm Saturday evening good efficient and welcoming check in. Room excellent for the rate I paid nice mattress/pillows good sofa and bathroom clean and plenty big enough. Nice enough towels and toiletries. TV fully working (quite a rarity in many UK hotels) and tea/coffee making provision spot on. Spotlessly clean rooms/bathroom and just a few minor issues where things need updating/putting right at some point in the future but nothing material. Did not eat or drink so cannot comment on that side of things. To sum up a great location and place to stay if you get a decent room rate. If not you may get better value elsewhere, hence my average rating as a comparator with other hotels but at a rate for rate basis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel from the welcoming check in to the spotlessly clean room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    380
    137
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
372
71
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a weekend in July. Was upgraded without aeven asking on arrival to an Executive Room due to me being a Platinum Rewards member. Nice surprise as I used my reward points to book the room so didnt expect this. Room was superb - clean and comfortable. Was also given a complimentary internet voucher.

Location is superb and only a short walk from Merchant City, shops, bars etc so no need for taxis.

Reception and bar staff were superb and really had a good balance of professional service and having a laugh and a bit of banter.

Would definetely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Ian,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read your review and how you enjoyed the service from the staff. It was also great to see that you enjoyed a bit of Glasgow banter.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I will certainly share your comments with the staff.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel twice now in the past few weeks and have found the standard of rooms to be good, and the the staff to be pleasant and helpful.
I found the breakfast to be good and the willingness of staff to fry me an egg was much appreciated.
I had one meal in the restaurant and that was fine, not brilliant, but OK.
Room service is also much appreciated and is not too expensive, although the menu is a bit limited.
The bathroom maybe a bit small for some people, but really not a problem. Shower was good.
You need to be a bit careful whether you have a room at the front or back of the hotel. Initially I was on the first floor at the front and it was far too noisy from traffic, but I asked if I could be moved to a quieter room and that was no trouble.
All in all a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are considerably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadHotelHater99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Greg,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found the staff pleasant and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Very noisy room late at night and from cleaning staff during the day from early checkouts. Got late checkout at no cost. Good Internet access. Breakfast ok and Haggis...! Double glazing leaking. Very small bath.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your recent review.

I’m sorry you found the hotel noisy. We offer a full locally sourced full Scottish breakfast which includes Scottish favourites such as haggis, black pudding and traditional Scottish square sausage.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel was clean and staff pleasant but the cooked breakfast was poor. It was not as if the chef had a bad day but this is what they are serving up day in, day out - and people accept it ? For God's sake I hope no tourist ever mistakes this for Scottish fair and more so for what Glasgow has to offer. Cheap of the cheapest food. The piece de resistance was the "scrambled egg". No idea what it was but whatever it was it was not any egg I know or have ever tasted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBarryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you for leaving your review at Holiday Inn Glasgow Theatreland. I am delighted you found the hotel to be very clean and the staff pleasant.

I am sorry you did not enjoy the cooked breakfast during your stay. All our breakfast items are sourced locally where possible and our buffet offers not only the normal Scottish favourites haggis and black pudding but we also serve traditional Scottish square sausage. Our scrambled egg is made with fresh eggs and double cream as and when required. I am sorry it was not to your taste on this occasion. If you do stay at the hotel again please remember that you can have your eggs cooked to order in any style you want, sunny side up, over easy, any type of omelette, poached, boiled etc.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you will return to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good position for theatres, shopping and eating.
Good bedrooms---given choice of situation of room.
Extremely clean.
Excellent staff, quick to respond positively to queeries and grumbles.
Very nice, reasonably priced evening meal on site.
Let down by tired breakfast buffet, dried up hot food, unreplenished and unrefreshed and expensive.
However, a comment at reception instigated an immediate response with apologies and a great improvement the following morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Judith,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel. Usually our full buffet breakfast gets great reviews, so I was naturally disappointed that we didn’t live up to them on your first morning. I am glad that it was rectified and I have passed on your review to the relevant department managers to make sure that we don’t slip up again.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a voucher deal whilst at an event and thought we'd maybe get given a smaller room as we'd got such a goo deal on it , but no, the room was a standard 'executive ' room. Smallish but adequate and comfortable . Clean and well equipped. Staff all pleasant and helpful. Close to city car park. Breakfast fine, although the bacon had obviously been sitting around for hours under the hot plate - the words 'boot' and 'leather' spring to mind! But our bistro meal the. Night before was good and excellent value for the price. Would
Definitely use again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Scott,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was sorry to read about the bacon, at our breakfast time the servers continually refresh the buffets, I apologise if this wasn’t the case. I have passed your review to our restaurant manager.

It was great t read that you would definitely use again.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing