We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed for a weekend to enjoy Celtic Connections - staff friendly and helpful as always - room clean and comfortable - mattress toppers on beds - comfy - slept well. Breakfast and dinner in La Bonne Auberge brilliant as usual! - room service was great and my pizza was first-class! I had to leave early Monday morning and Jade, breakfast waitress, helped me organise breakfast very quickly - a big thank you for that! Great weekend and I would always stay at this hotel when I'm visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Mary,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. It was fantastic to see that you enjoyed your time in Glasgow! It was also great to see you enjoyed the full La Bonne Auberge experience!

I will pass your comments on to the staff, thanks again for taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,


Daniel Bell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    384
    138
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
380
71
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
'oop north near lancashire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed one mid-week night under the 2012 Olympics room promotion. (room priced at £20.12p) Room was small but ok. Problem was that it had a connecting door and you could hear the next door guest coughing and even switching out the light! This was quite unnerving and made me creep around my room which spoilt the stay at bit - however not sure what the mgmt can do about a bit of bad designed other than offer a move to another room ( I did not request this so l'm not sure how accommodating they would be) . Breakfast adequate but suggest you buy it on arrival for a cheaper price than on the day! Otherwise handy for shops attractions and transport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpoolwhenimsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel.

I was glad to see you generally enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some rooms with inter-connecting doors, these are designed with families in mind. There would have been no problem changing your room over.

If you are visiting in the future, please just let us know on check in and we will make sure you are not allocated one of our inter-connecting rooms.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you to Glasgow in the future.


Kind regards,


Daniel Bell

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh. Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with another couple for hogmanay. Great value for the Hogmanay Ball and overnight stay with a late buffet breakfast and late checkout.

Hotel was excellent value for money and the staff were excellent. We left home without my partner's cuff links (he needed them for the formal dress ball) - all we did was contact reception and within 5 minutes, the general manager had provided a set of his for the evening - couldn't ask for better service. The staff at the ball were good fun - looked like they were having a fantastic time too. The only one criticism I have is the time it took to serve dinner - we waited more than 1 hour after finishing our starter waiting for our main course!

The room was spotless, well furnished and plenty of room. Suited our needs perfectly.

The buffet breakfast next day had everything available - well stocked and plenty of choice. T

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It was great to see you had a fantastic Hogmanay with us here at the Holiday Inn Theatreland.

Alan got the cufflinks back the next day and said you more than welcome!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,


Daniel Bell

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a 2 night stay between Xmas and New Year. Easy to walk to from Buchanan St bus station or Queen St Station. Good location; opposite cinema complex and close to Buchanan Street and Sauchiehall Street if shoppings your thing. If on room only deal, nice (but busy) Pret a Manger just closeby for good food.

Room very comfortable. Could be the only hotel in Scotland with air con in the rooms? Couldn't believe it - on a Dec night, had to turn on the AC to COOL THE ROOM DOWN! My only gripe, and I guess this is the same with most hotels, was the charge for wifi. I think it was 5.99 for 24h. Not for me, but my daughters who must keep in touch with their peers 24/7. Wifi for email/social networking should be free.

Elevator painfully slow to arrive and chug up and down. Use the stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsmaninmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. It was great to see you enjoyed your stay and our central location.

We do have WIFI throughout the hotel, which we offer 1 hour complimentary per day for our guests or indeed there is a charge of £5.99 for 24 hours access.

All of our rooms are fully air conditioned with brand new units.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards,



Daniel Bell

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here and paid with airmiles. It was brilliant. The staff were really helpful and the room was lovely. The bed was really comfy. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randombirdpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was great too see you enjoyed your stay and that your airmiles have been spent well! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,


Daniel Bell

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

This hotel offers excellent value, we had a lovely room on the back of the hotel which was very quiet.The only slight criticism was a kingsize bed would have been better than the double bed we had. Breakfast was good and the hotel staff were excellent. The hotel is well situated in the centre of Glasgow being a few minutes walk from either train station. We will return to Glasgow and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the hotel.

It was great to see that you enjoyed your trip to Glasgow and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Kind regards,


Daniel Bell

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The location is ideal, great restaurant. Newly renovated rooms. Let down by the sound proofing, sounded like the buses in Renfrew st were traveling through the room. Rooms at the back of the hotel should be quieter but I think you pay more.
When I asked for a feed back sheet I was told they only had "questionnaires". So much for taking an interst in the customers views. I left a lengthy response but 6 months later haven't had any acknowledgement.

Room Tip: If you get a room facing Renfrew St ask for a move further back from this street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielSBell, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
Dear John,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. Naturally I was disappointed that you didn’t have a good experience during your stay. Unfortunately being a city centre hotel, we cannot escape the inevitable street noise that can occur. We do have rooms facing the back of the hotel which might have been better suited for you, these come at no extra cost to the guest. We take customer feedback very seriously indeed and welcome good and bad feedback as this is the only way we can resolve problems that can occur. As you can see we do get a lot of positive feedback on tripadvisor and I would hope to welcome you back in the future. If you do ever wish to return to the hotel, please contact myself direct so I can personally ensure you have a wonderful visit.


Yours sincerely,


Daniel Bell

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing