We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed staying here.”

Craigielea Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigielea Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed staying here.”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Owner was awesome, thought we had known her for years! So helpful, even bought us a bottle of wine! The home was warm, cosy and just what we wanted. Very handy to town - even to walk in heels! I cannot speak highly enuf of this charming B&B and I will make every effort to stay again when we travel back to Scotland in the future. We stayed 4 nights all up, and wished we had stayed longer.
Local Italian restaurant (which I cannae pronoun) was the icing on the cake too, just down the road.
Thanks LIz, keep doing what u do so well. You are much appreciated here on the other side of the world!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudgie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huahin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Voluminous airy quiet room, comfortable beds, spotless linen, terrific display of artwork, sumptuous breakfast, close to transport, gracious knowledgeable host.
Shared toilet/shower - no problems and abundant towels/soap etc.
Mr and Mrs Morrison make you feel like one of the family. An absolute gem compared to those I used in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuahinCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Craigielea House is an extremely pleasant B&B in Glasgow, within walking distance of the touristy area of downtown (shopping, main streets, Modern Art gallery), the Provand's Lordship, the Glasgow Cathedral, St. Mungo's Museum of Religious Life, and the necropolis. It's also just a couple of blocks from a very nice restaurant, Tibo. I should say that Craigielea is in a quiet residential area, which is great--it's also a bit removed from the center of the city so if you want to be a stone's throw from the pubs or something, this isn't your place. But if you're looking for a quiet, very clean abode with a generous breakfast and very inexpensive prices, then Craigielea is your guy. The proprietress, Elizabeth, is really extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and she bustles about making sure your stay is comfortable. There are showers in some of the rooms, but the toilets are shared. (So yes, this is a budget place, but using the bathroom was never an issue--it always seemed to be empty.)

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank calamondin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Our party of 6 stayed with Mrs. Morrison for 3 nights in June 2000. She is a delightful, funny and warm hostess who also happened to be a docent at the nearby Glasgow Cathedral. She had great suggestions for restaurants in walking distance. We felt right at home. The rooms were large and clean, breakfast was served in our rooms which was the only minor drawback. Her gardens are lovely and we apprecitated the chance for garden talk.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the B&B owner
  • Disliked — in-room shower
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 36 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Amadeus Guest House
#4 of 36 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigielea Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigielea Guesthouse

Property: Craigielea Guesthouse
Address: 35 Westercraigs, Glasgow G31 2HY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Craigielea Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing