We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clyde Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$320
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glasgow Marriott Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$248
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$308
$238
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
$278
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$253
$211
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$143
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$161
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$164
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
16
37
35
29
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
37
35
29
96
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 213 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staff at front desk were helpful. We stayed in the building across the road which was fine bit it needed a good tidy up. I presume it was the Managers place of residence as well as there were tools all over the common area and a Motorbike. Plus the shower access is in the common area which can make it uncomforatble for some people. Also whoever lives in the front room plays Video games way too loud (Presume its was the manager again but he never intrduced himself). It felt like there was a war happening inside the building. Would be fine for a night or two. Rooms are small.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PKSRTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Clyde Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Sorry that the layout was not explained properly to you. You were meant to be told that all the facilities are in the main building. There is no common room in the building you were in it is a laundry /utility room with showers and cleaning sink. this is why the tools and such were everywhere as you said.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A convenient 15 mins walk from city centre. Rooms are clean. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. No issues with the bathrooms or kitchens. An all in all convenient and pleasant stay for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

One of the worst hostels ive ever stayed at. The place is ancient (not in a good way) and hasnt been fixed up in a while. Our room was lit by a single lamp and the lights were not working. No facilities to speak of and they put us up in an auxillary building across the street from the main hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SanjivKapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Clyde Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

BACK PACKERS ONLY!
Its clearly stated in every advertisement we have. This is the cheapest place in town.
What do you expect for £10?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, horrible place - the entire hostel was shabby and looked like it was about to fall apart. The location was on the decent thing about this place and was pretty close to Sauciehall street, everything else was terrible about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ka0001ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Clyde Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

there is at least 1 shower on every floor, 3 showers and toilets on the top floor. Another cheapskate that can tell the difference between a hostel and a hotel... you book the cheapest place in town and what did you expect?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in this place because it was close to Sauchiehall Street, where I had an appointment the following morning. I did find the staff very friendly, but the hostel itself was shabby and run-down. I had the top of a bunk bed that was in a room for eight people, but the room was the same size as a room one person would expect in a normal hotel - leaving the room extremely cramped. There also wasn't anywhere to put one's belongings, so I just slept with my rucksack on the bed with me all night. There was only one shower to accommodate the whole floor, so I gave that a miss in the morning. I also felt that the place could have been better ventilated, and much cleaner - the fridge in the kitchen downstairs was disgraceful. I did stay two nights in Glasgow, but found another place to stay for the second night - of the same price, but much cleaner. I would only recommend Blue Sky as an absolute last resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Clyde Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

I wish people could read the hostel description before you book here.
BACKPACKERS ONLY!
THIS IS NOT A HOTEL!
Clearly you looked at the price and nothing else. What do you expect?
Its a £10 per night backpacker hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews