We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Greatest!!!”
Review of Bluesky Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluesky Hostel
Ranked #35 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not The Greatest!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staff at front desk were helpful. We stayed in the building across the road which was fine bit it needed a good tidy up. I presume it was the Managers place of residence as well as there were tools all over the common area and a Motorbike. Plus the shower access is in the common area which can make it uncomforatble for some people. Also whoever lives in the front room plays Video games way too loud (Presume its was the manager again but he never intrduced himself). It felt like there was a war happening inside the building. Would be fine for a night or two. Rooms are small.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Sorry that the layout was not explained properly to you. You were meant to be told that all the facilities are in the main building. There is no common room in the building you were in it is a laundry /utility room with showers and cleaning sink. this is why the tools and such were everywhere as you said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    32
    26
    89
See reviews for
4
20
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A convenient 15 mins walk from city centre. Rooms are clean. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. No issues with the bathrooms or kitchens. An all in all convenient and pleasant stay for one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

One of the worst hostels ive ever stayed at. The place is ancient (not in a good way) and hasnt been fixed up in a while. Our room was lit by a single lamp and the lights were not working. No facilities to speak of and they put us up in an auxillary building across the street from the main hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SanjivKapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
BACK PACKERS ONLY!
Its clearly stated in every advertisement we have. This is the cheapest place in town.
What do you expect for £10?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, horrible place - the entire hostel was shabby and looked like it was about to fall apart. The location was on the decent thing about this place and was pretty close to Sauciehall street, everything else was terrible about the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ka0001ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
there is at least 1 shower on every floor, 3 showers and toilets on the top floor. Another cheapskate that can tell the difference between a hostel and a hotel... you book the cheapest place in town and what did you expect?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in this place because it was close to Sauchiehall Street, where I had an appointment the following morning. I did find the staff very friendly, but the hostel itself was shabby and run-down. I had the top of a bunk bed that was in a room for eight people, but the room was the same size as a room one person would expect in a normal hotel - leaving the room extremely cramped. There also wasn't anywhere to put one's belongings, so I just slept with my rucksack on the bed with me all night. There was only one shower to accommodate the whole floor, so I gave that a miss in the morning. I also felt that the place could have been better ventilated, and much cleaner - the fridge in the kitchen downstairs was disgraceful. I did stay two nights in Glasgow, but found another place to stay for the second night - of the same price, but much cleaner. I would only recommend Blue Sky as an absolute last resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I wish people could read the hostel description before you book here.
BACKPACKERS ONLY!
THIS IS NOT A HOTEL!
Clearly you looked at the price and nothing else. What do you expect?
Its a £10 per night backpacker hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

very very basic - £12.50 for a shared mixed room of about 10-15 people.
but the showers and toilets seemed clean enough.

its one of those - you are really really short, it will do. But Im sure there are many better hostels in Glasgow at not too dearer a price

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boblejog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have stayed in many hostels over the past 10 years--it takes a lot for me to recommend avoiding one. But save yourself the hassle of this place. It's run down and dirty. Filthy, actually.The staff are rude and unhelpful. The location is ideal--the hostel has that much going for it. However Glasgow is a rather small city, relatively speaking. There are other options close to the city center that are only moderately more expensive and will provide a much better hostel experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PurpleKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I appreciate your opinion but looking at your reviews for Scotland you were just not happy with the whole country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
788 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
208 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow Youth Hostel
#3 of 49 in Glasgow
167 reviews
Alba Hostel Glasgow
#8 of 49 in Glasgow
159 reviews
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#21 of 49 in Glasgow
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesky Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesky Hostel

Property: Bluesky Hostel
Address: 65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IF YOU ARE NOT A BACKPACKER DONT COME HERE YOU WONT BE HAPPY!!!!! Can i be any clearer than that? . We are a 1 star backpacker hostel in the city centre of Glasgow. We offer basic self catering accommodation at the cheapest price in town! We cater strictly to the 18 to 35 age group. so if you are old and cant climb bunk beds don't come here! If you like to meet people and have a great time you will love it here. We will do our best to make sure you have some fun or we will point you in the right direction to find it! We are 150 meters from the best party street in town. 5 blocks of pubs , bars , casinos, fast food, theatres ect. No children allowed. No grumpy old people allowed. if you are antisocial cheapskate who has to update facebook every 15 seconds because you have no idea ho to communicate AFK and only booked here for the price you will not be happy here. All facilities are shared.All rooms are coed we dont have male or female rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bluesky Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesky Hostel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing