We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what you pay for.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

My Fiance and I booked this hotel for a Valentine's romantic night away in Glasgow and it is a lovely hotel. It is 2 minutes from Central Station and found it quite easily. The staff look after your luggage till you enter your room while being friendly and helpful. The room was quite big and peaceful which was good. It was a perfect get away. The breakfast was really good too. Brilliant might away for only £34. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012Kyle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    156
    180
    98
    146
See reviews for
57
230
113
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NairnHighlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife and 82 year old lady friend.
Breakfast room decor was Rennie Mackintosh which pleased my wife.
Apart from the excellent breakfast,you get what you pay for.
Shabby room,carpets and bath towels(no hand towels).
They had 216 which faces a brick wall
The washbasin was cracked,the plug was wrong size,but that did not matter as the water soon drain through the crack!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcp2742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Workington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel was perfect! The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was really nice. I wasn't expecting much from such a good price but was delighted with my whole stay. You get a great selection of coffee tea and even bottles of water :) room was very clean and the bed was super comfy. Can't wait to stay here again next month :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel its disgusting. Wardrobe was covered with graffiti the top of it clearly hadnt been dusted since the hotel was built. Bath had cracks in it and shower didnt work. The bed sheets themselves were clean but the actual bed was covered in stains. Upon leavin I mentioned this 2 the receptionist and she clearly couldnt have cared less. Yes we went for a budget room but I can honestly say I have stayed in nicer/cleaner rooms that are cheaper than there budget room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolajulz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had booked in this hotel in the last time. It is in the center and on the photos it was seemed like a good one. Unfortunetely it is not. The photos are not correct!! We thought it will be okay for only one night. But NOT! We can not sleep at night!! Everybody had a party at night and we can hear everything from the pub and from the street. When we started to sleep about 10 drunken person had arrived and they were shouting and speaking loud, they countinoue it at our door, i had to go out and tell them to shut up! You always have to be careful to do not hit your head into the ceiling. The room was smelly and window was broken! And THERE WAS NOT TOIlET BRUSH!!!! Receptionist are not helpful and they do not care what happening when you left reception. They do not smiling as well. One of their staff worked in a grey t-shirt. WOW! The breakfast was poor, waiter nearly rude. It is really NOT 3*** hotel!!!!! If you would like to have a nice holiday in Glasgow find another hotel! It was a terrible one. We liked Glasgow, but this hotel is the worst what i had ever tried!! I attach photos to show you what we had..

Room Tip: We had seen another rooms too because door was opened when we went to check out. Other rooms are ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Was visiting friends an needed somewhere to stay over, literally just for sleeping and didn't want to spend too much money. Found this hotel on booking.com and after reading the reviews I was apprehensive.

I'm happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised and the place was really clean, really cosy and the staff were lovely! Such a comfy bed, had a great nights sleep. There was some noise from the busy street outside but if you're staying in the centre of Glasgow then really what do you expect. Great location and easily accessible from both train stations, close to all shops too.

Only downside is there's no lift but at the end of the day we all need more exercise and I was more than happy to take the stairs.

Would definitely recommend for an overnight stay or a weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuggetNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Myself, my boyfriend & our friends stayed here for New Years, we chose it purely because of location and price, as we're on a student budget. We booked 3 double rooms together, but on arrival, were told 2 of the rooms were on the 'ground' floor (3 flights up, on the floor with the reception) and 1 was located all the way up on the top floor. My friend questioned this and explained the rooms had been booked together, one floor apart would have been fair enough but this was a bit unfair (especially considering we booked months in advance!), we were quite rudely told that was it to take it or leave it.

Myself and my boyfriend got lumbered with the top floor, we had to climb a further 5/6 flights of stairs, the further you climbed the more shallow & wobbly these became...not easy to climb with a suitcase at all, staff offered no help, whatsoever. Certainly don't come here if your not fit because the stairs are not for the faint hearted!

Our room was quite honestly disgusting, the wardrobe was plastered in graffiti, the ceiling was slanted so movement for my 6 ft 5 boyfriend was limited to ducking down the entire time. The bathroom was dirty, the bath looked like someone had given it a good kicking, there were holes in the outside of it and a large crack inside, which meant that when showering/bathing water escaped through it and there was a large clump of hair left in the plughole, it certainly didn't looked like it had been cleaned very well. Hot water was completely limited to the shower, both the bath taps & sink had none. On top of this every time a train left the station (right next door pretty much) the entire room shook, think how often trains leave Glasgow central & you'll have an idea how much fun sleeping is there.

What I really can't understand is that the hotel came with complimentary toiletries, teas/coffee, water bottles but yet it was unclean and needed repairs desperately. Perhaps they would be better off not wasting the money on additions like that & actually paying to have the place refurbished, seems much more logical. In fairness my friend's rooms on the reception floor we're not quite as bad but still not worth the price we paid. All in all I would avoid this place, even if you're on a budget, unless you get lucky & get a room on the bottom floor you won't get any sleep anyway. Pay a little bit extra and go somewhere else, it'll be much more worthwhile.

Room Tip: Get a room on the same floor as the reception if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#76 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing