We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
MONTROSE,SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ap”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

hotel right beside station only good thing about it might be better checking as seems to be 2 of them as
taxi driver nearly took us to another one if I hadn't told him address
not recommend at all unless you are young and fit had to climb 2 sets of stairs to reception then another 2 flights to get to room man behind desk never even offered to take cases up to our rooms we are 60 and 64 and had to carry them ourselves
room was ok clean and basic which was fine as we were leaving at 6am
cannot comment on breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    156
    180
    99
    147
See reviews for
57
231
113
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the misfortune to stay in this hotel last week. He had booked it as he knows how much I like Rennie Mackintosh but it's obvious this hotel is only trading on the name. There were a few Mackintosh pictures dotted about and that's where the connection ended. The reception is 3 flights of stairs up and there's no lift. The room was yet another flight up. Every floorboard creaked and the room was like something out the 70's. The noise from the street continued the whole night which resulted in us being more tired in the morning than when we went to bed. I actually think we would have had more sleep if we'd been on a bench in Central station! We didn't hang around long enough to sample the breakfast and I was immensely relieved to get out the place at 7am.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank groovydolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent 6 days here and enjoyed our stay. Remember this is a budget hotel, but we believe it gives value for money in the city centre. Good points: staff, very central location backing on to Central Station, free wifi in lounge, lounge bar. Minus points, basic accommodation, no lift, noise from the outside if looking onto the street, no parking but available nearby. We had room 215 at the end. Room was large with shower only. Tea, coffee, water and biscuits available each day, with breakfast included. Allround a good buy, but basic; remember your earplugs for a good nights sleep. All this information is mentioned on their website, or Tfripadvisor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fossil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is a Dump...at a rate of £105 for a night you would have thought it would be OK, it isn't.
It is located centrally and the staff are helpful but that is the only things in its favour. Visitors from Overseas must be taken in by the name as well as the web site, it gives a terrible impression of Glasgow.
Our wardrope had names engraved on it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We needed a room to crash overnight on the way through to our holiday. At £44 for a double this was cheaper even than a hostel. The room is a bit tired and the bathroom could do with some attention but it served its purpose. If you want bells and whistles or go celebrate your anniversary you need to pay more but for a good value stay it works well. Breakfast as well is a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StornowayKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very well situated hotel, but some of the rooms are in need of renovation for example the door lock was an ill-fitting loose old bathroom handle type lock, the curtains were hanging half off the rails, one of the tea cups was used, the bathroom was full of holes where the under mirror shelf might have been and possibly gel holders or something had been fixed, the window had to be closed by using brute force (following the instructions from the receptionist) it closed perfectly. The service was adequate, breckfast was good and the bed was clean........good for a one night stay

Room Tip: The rooms in the centre of the building seem to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommccowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

60 steps from central station and next to everything else. Staff were extremely friendly and breakfast was great. Fantastic value for money and the rooms were good. The hotel looks slightly dated but I thought it adds to the charm of the place and no elevator to our 4th floor room wasn't popular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishwanderer1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#37 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing