We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''An Orange Bacardi Breezer for the Lady''”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed here with friends for one night. We had come to Glasgow for the Southside Johnny concert. It isn' t the Ritz but for £25 a head bed and breakfast what do you expect.

Our room was large and comfortable, our friends room was small and cramped (see attached pictures). Although the curtains were hanging off the rail, my intrepid little wife jumped up on my shoulders and quickly rectified the situation.

On our return after the concert the night porter/barman was left speechless and astounded when my wife asked him for a dry white wine. He did however recover sufficiently to offer an Orange Bacardi Breezer as an alternative.

Breakfast was slow in arriving through no fault of the solitary waitress on duty. Our travelling companions recieved no breakfast at all.

Would we stay here again? Probably, although I don't think our friends will return.

Stayed: November 2007
6  Thank bigman3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 704 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2007

I stayed in this hotel with my fiancee and were looking forward to staying somewhere that associated itself with such a highly regarded man as Mackintosh. However, on arrival our opinions were quickly changed.

Entering the hotel I was surprised by the lack of reference to Mackintosh, (not being an avid fan this did not overly concern me).

Receptionist was polite and efficient and thats were the good bits ended.

Entering the room it was immediately clear that it had not been cleaned for some time. There was a brown stain on the roof as though a 40 a day smoker had been sitting there for 6 months. The curtains were also stained like this.

The most disgusting part was the bed. The sheets were stained and covered in har (clearly not head hair!), and there was a piece of chewing gum on the wall above the head board.

I immediately complained and was told that it could not be rectified until the following day when the cleaner returned to duty. (It was 3pm when I complained).

We spent as little time as possible in the room and then returned to it late at night. Got up the next day to the greasiest fried breakfast I have ever tasted then went out for the day. Returned about 6pm to see that the gum had not been removed and the same sheets were on the bed. I complained again and the receptionist came into the room, flicked the gum off the wall resulting in it falling down the back of the bed. Cue a roll of the eyes from the receptionist and then a "There's no more I can do to help you".

Need I say anymore-DONT STAY HERE!

A letter of complaint to the management still remains unanswered.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank upnorthcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

The room itself was fine and spacious, suppose bathroom could have been a little cleaner.

We found the staff not very friendly, the breakfast only mediocre, but what was very upsetting was when they run out of water, the reaction from the foreign staff was to laugh in my face and shrug their shoulders. Left without shower and very unhappy with staff.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banditDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Well, I booked four nights in this hotel at the last minute, due to the lack of rooms available in the city.
I took the chance to read the reviews on here AFTER booking, an I must admit I was worried, but my partner and I decided to take the risk.
I'm so glad we did! It is perfectley placed for enjoying the city, only minutes from Buchannan street & 5 from Saucihall street.
We were greeted at recepyion, given our key card, we made our way up to our room. It was clean large and tidy, all the electrical equipment worked, constant hot water, ok a broken tile on the bathroom floor....but for £50per night I was more than happy.
I would tottally reccomend this hotel.
Go on You will love it!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rap1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

I stayed in the Rennie Mackintosh by default after having booked into their sister hotel who had trouble with some of their rooms and transfered us to the Rennie.
Well first of all we were given a twin room instead of a double, this was quickly changed for us. The room was a bit shabby (peeling wallpaper and dodgy electrics) but it was clean! the bed linen was spotless and the bed itself was comfortable enough.
The shower was good but there was no plug in the sink.
The tv didnt have a remote but hey i didnt go to Glasgow to watch tv.
The dining room was very clean and the cooked breakfast although small was very eadible and tastey. The polish girl serving was very polite cheerfull and efficient.
All in all the hotel is a budget hotel (must admit i wouldn't pay the £75 /pn walk in tarriff but discounted internet price was ok). Its location is perfect, it is not the Ritz but there again it doesn't try to be. Picture of entrance on web sites is VERY!!!!!! misleading. But all in all we had a comfortable stay at a very cheap price.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mentalmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

I really wish I had seen this website before I booked. I had to find a hotel last minute and this one popped up with a nice picture (not even the same hotel) and good facilities (which there were none of) at a reasonable price so I thought why not. On approach after a tiring train journey I wanted to cry - i couldn't believe my eyes. The neon sign above the door was half lit and said it all. I will never be going back and have warned everyone I know about this hotel - absolutely appalling!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank puddledukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

dont even go. dont even think about it. its the pits. rooms were filthy. we had rain coming trough ceiling. it wasent fit for a dog. dont know what breakfast was like. dident even go there. the smell of the hotel was disgusting.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank yanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 93 in Glasgow
1,876 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#71 of 93 in Glasgow
556 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
673 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,178 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $58 - $1,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing