We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

This hotel is centrally located next to central station. On arrival we were given a plastic key card for the door which was sellotaped together, the stairs are tight and windy, the room - basic, cracked tiles on bathroom floor taped over with brown packing tape and the shelf for the sink lying on the floor. As we were only staying 1 night it was okay and the bedding was clean. Water pressure not great for the shower and came out to discover the advertised hairdryer in the room doesn't work, my friend went to reception to ask for a hairdryer to be told the hairdryers in the room don't work and they had one but another guest was using it!! Had to dry my hair with straightners!! Breakfast - my friend chose a yoghut which when she brought it back to the table it was 4 days out if date, no bread for toast we had to ask for it and the overall standard of the cooked breakfast was pretty poor. I would not be staying at this hotel again, you would probably be better going to the euro hostel or an express by holiday inn or similar.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    154
    177
    97
    143
See reviews for
56
225
112
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Location of hotel is perfect but that`s all it had going for it(well as long as you`re not in any of the rooms at the back of the hotel which are nearly joined on to the train station). No lift so hauled our bags up to the 3rd floor which had the most slanted creakiest hallway we have ever seen(floor in room wasn`t much better!).
Room was dingy and depressing as was the furniture including the Tv which must`ve come out of a skip because it only worked when it felt like it. A previous customer had taken it upon themselves to chew something and then spit the contents of their mouth onto the wall beside the bed and also onto what you may call the wardrobe, staff have failed to clean either even though said matter has been there for quite a while.
Door didn`t fit frame so a huge beam of light from the hallway shone into the room at night which is great if you sleep-read.
Toilet door only opened partially due to a mini hill in the floor and the toilet seat was stained so badly my fiance wouldn`t use the toilet at all.
The window couldn`t be locked which we found to be a great security feature whenever we went out of the room.
Stayed 2 nights but only went down for breakfast on the 1st morning due to the food being horrible and cold. Paid £96- for a 2 night stay which is a total rip-off for what was really a very poor attempt at a building trying to resemble a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin_Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

clean and comfortable hotel decent sized bedroom.Good location right in city center but as its a old building with secondry glazing instead of double i could hear trafic outside when i checked in in the afternoon, i thought it would be ok during the night as there wouldnt be much trafic i was wrong. i think the buses must run into the early hours of the morning, then they were followed by party goers,i was on the second floor at the front im not sure if being higher up or at the back would of been quieter.I got by as i was only staying one night, i dont think i could of put up with the noise two nights running,another down side to it being a old building are the semi spiral stairs from recveption on the first floor to the second not the most practical when you have luggage.
On a posative note its a good locationt. and they serve a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We paid £34 for a room on B&B basis. We were not expecting much, and were pleasantly suprised. Clean comfy room, good shower, amply tea and coffee supplies and a better than average breakfast. The staff were very helpful and friendly, will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

I booked this hotel, to be central and cheap. The hotel was clean, albeit due for repainting. There was no lift, and we were on the third floor. Reception is at the top of the first flight of stairs, so the hotel is not suitable for those with mobility difficulties. Breakfast (our only meal) was adequate and hot (cooked to order).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0wlingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonta, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Booked this accommodation / holiday through a major airline tour company.
What a hell hole.. Even youth hostels provide better standards of accommodation
.Lugged all of our luggage up stairs to reception...toilet broken in reception area ..having arrived from a long flight 26 plus hours. not good first impressions. Staff rude and unhelpful
Room we were booked was a hell hole.
All beds broken, one propped up with bricks holes in wall. dirty curtains.
Toilet well......need i go on.\
We turned right around and found somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Just back from staying at the rennie macintosh station hotel. I was not all that impressed, the staff were very nice but the Hotel was more like a hostel and we were in room 103 which was literally a door off the reception and we were woke up several times in the early hours with drunk people having a laugh with the night receptionist. The bar which is included in the hotel amenities was no more then i drinks cabinet with very minimal choice of drinks. This would suit a lads or girls weekend thing definatley should not be called a hotel and definatley not for familys or for any one who actually requires sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighmcgivern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#76 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing