We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just dont”
Review of The Pour House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Pour House
Cuisines: British
Description: New Pub/Restaurant in Glasgow
Restaurant details
Description: New Pub/Restaurant in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“just dont”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

for neds and people with no concept of food. terrifying new refit with zero service and clueless staff. sorry but avoid. unless your a ned and want cheap shots. then this is for you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank therealview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Relaxed Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I liked the quirky decor of the Pour House and the atmosphere for a Sunday afternoon was pleasant, there was a band on playing which was quite good and added to the ambience. The staff were really nice, no problem when we asked to move tables.

My Daughter and I used an itison voucher for 2 mains and 2 soft drinks. I ordered the chilli which came in a huge bowl and was served with plenty of fluffy rice, tortillas, salsa and sour creme, it wasn't the best i've tasted but it was nice. My Daughter had the fish and chips which she enjoyed.

I have scored this more on the venue than the food itself which was fine but just above average. The staff were attentive and friendly. Would be a great place to meet friends for a drink and a bite to eat on a Sunny Sunday afternoon (not that we get many in Glasgow.)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ggirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went to this pub for lunch with colleagues. Fortunately, we phoned our orders ahead as there was only one bar person and one cook working who seemed nice but rushed. On a busy end of the month Friday, this is not enough as we had to wait some time for the bill and then no-one was around for us to pay.

The food was on a 2-4-1 deal and was quite good with the portion size being just about right for lunchtime. No afternoon sleeping at my desk.

Let down by lack of staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CB_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Itison deal”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Went here on Sunday - the deal was for two main courses and a drink.

We had steak and ale pie and macaroni cheese alongside 2 soft drinks.

We waited 15 minutes and I'd say that the food was okay, however the service a wee bit slow to be honest but the girl was very pleasant. The pub got very busy as they have live music on a Sunday afternoon and the singer was actually very good.

I ordered a white coffee which was awful and overall we wouldn't return as the menu was very limited and the pub doesn't really lend itself as an eaterie, really just more of a trendy hangout (we were the only 2 people eating).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayfanatic1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Should be called the Poor House - Worst experience ever”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booked this on Itison deal as we had not been up this part of town for a while. Firstly ordered nachos to share waited 20 minutes, nothing. The barperson had forgot to order them from kitchen, waited 20 minutes nothing. Nachos came out in a deep dish was just a big bowl of gloop that you couldnt eat with your fingers & we weren`t offered side plates. We left some of the food on the plate but were not asked if were happy. We later ordered mains of Fish & Chips & a cheeseburger waited another half hour for what should only take 10 minutes to cook, again nothing. When enquired to why no food this time said would be right out. Discussion then ensued between barman and manageress after much to & fro from the kitchen, to which we overheard between them that the chef was "out his face". At this point we left without being fed. May I add that we were the only people who ordered food so we spent nearly 2 hours in this pub and never got to a main course. Whilst we were sitting awaiting the food we had plenty of time to survey the staff performance. Had we been the owners I am sure none of them would still be employed there now. All this time there was a large table full of empty bottles and glasses as a large party had previously left. They however thought they were employed to mess around with their phone and laptop behind the bar oblivious to the disaster around them. I have rated 1 out of 5 but only because tripadvisor don`t do minuses. Pour House you need to improve drastically as there is plenty of competition on your doorstep.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pour House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing