We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely early evening bite.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moyra Janes

Moyra Janes
Ranked #28 of 105 Coffee & Tea in Glasgow
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: on the corner of Nithsdale road in glasgow
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely early evening bite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I go to Moyra Janes frequently as it's local to me and it's never let me down. Last week I visited again for early dinner as I was going out to a gig. Both our orders were delicious as usual. Staff are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. I never tried any of the cakes this time but I can assure that they are to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    48
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“AFTERNOON TEA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

had a lovely afternoon tea with friend , green tea with lemon for me , coffee for my friend , shared a large meringue with cream and strawberries , it was delicious , chewy in centre and crisp on outside

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have now been twice for lunch a number of weeks apart and the food was great both times. Service is very quick and the staff all very nice. We can't fault it and highly recommend a visit.

The menu also has evening meals which we have not yet tried but we are sure the quality would be the same!

Plenty of space to park the car as well so give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had lunch here and it was lovely. Nothing fancy, just a panini and a jacket potato. Really lovely setting in what looks like an old bank. Food consistently good as are the cakes. Worth finding. Staff are super friendly and service is spot on.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always reliable with great home baking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Moyra Janes has been a stalwart of the Pollokshields scene for as long as I can remember. I've never had a bad meal there. It's welcoming with a varied menu. It's great for a coffee and one of their wonderful cakes. If you also have a lunch item, it's a little bit on the pricey side. I'm not sure about the new decor. The colour is a bit down beat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moyra Janes also viewed

 

Been to Moyra Janes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing