We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost its camaraderie” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clockwork Beer Co

Clockwork Beer Co
Ranked #1,180 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Clockwork Beer Co is one of only a handful of pubs in Glasgow to have its own microbrewery on the premises making Clockwork one of the most interesting places to eat in Glasgow. Great for a working lunch, afternoon coffee with a friend or -of course- for a beer in the evening.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lost its camaraderie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having enjoyed regular trips to this pub over the years I would have to agree with the previous reviewer that having survived many changes in ownership/management the latest incarnation has resulted in what was once a local, friendly place where you could go for drinks and food and see the same faces, going downhill fast. I can only imagine that corners have been cut and staff are feeling the strain. Most of whom still smile through but some new management are particularly unpalatable. You need to cultivate a happy, hospitable environment and that is long gone. Which is a shame, maybe if there are further changes in ownership/management in the future things will improve and I might just become a regular again.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    61
    34
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“management not bar staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Having been a regular visitor to the clockwork and all its prior names for many years, seen several management and staff changes and styles, I would suggest the current management has ruined this friendly local with big pub chain mentality ie, pay staff minimal wages, reduce hours, hire and fire therefore there is no atmosphere because the staff are almost pinned against the wall dare they put a foot out of place. Team work is the key to a happy workplace where the work ethic is reflected by the staff, clearly not working at present! The Clockwork is the kind of place any visitor would be made welcome be it with staff or regulars and think it unfair to slate the level of service, the kitchen can only work with what they are given, management again! bar staff only reflect the general mood, management again! Top pub, just need a realistic review of what the people want, visit soon and tell them what you want! signed. A. Regular

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must try harder”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Please Clockwork... Employ and train passionate, eager staff that love food, know good and serve good food. My heart breaks when meal and meal is a slurry of soggy fatty food, strangely piled on small plates. There has to be eager chefs who would love to revamp you and show you what pub grub can be. Take your staff up to West Brew House to see what customers in 2013 expect. We will pay for quality and service... go for it!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clock W, General Manager at Clockwork Beer Co, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi thank you for your review of the Clockwork, we take your comments very seriously and these are acted upon by not only the management at unit level but by head office.Please note that we are commited to employing and training the best staff for the clockwork and are currently looking to improve our food offer and standards. There has been a lot of change in the last few weeks and i can only apologies for your previous disappointment. I hope we see you retun in the future.
Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Change not for the better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was a couple of months ago we visited with friends for a few drinks and evening meal! As always the food has always been good as well as the drinks when you do eventually get served. The biggest let down of this place is staff attitude I went to the bar to get a round of drinks and it was not particularly busy and the girl behind the bar was too busy dancing in front of me when I said are you actually serving me she shrugged her shoulder and asked what do you want!! I think its great to have fun at work but this is extremely unprofessional with a bar that has very little staff to be seen and a bar full off customers. I moved of with my drinks and finished our food to be then presented with another member of the female staff doing cart wheels within the food seated area there was not many customers left at this point but again very unprofessional. I rate this as an Average purely on the food and drinks being good but not on the service it takes a age for the food order to be taken and to have the plates cleared! Thankfully we had no issue with our order as the table next to us had a problem with a burger and the staff member was least interested in the issue and had delivered not apology for the mistake. I am in a customer facing role in my work and I was appalled at how the staff acted the evening we visited! Some basic customer service training would not go a miss in this otherwise fine establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liverp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clock W, General Manager at Clockwork Beer Co, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi there i am sorry to hear of your poor experience at Clockwork please accept our deepest apologies. We have undergone a change recently and hope to have rectified some issues like the one you have stated please understand we are committed to improving and delivering our offer to the best standard we possibly can however this does take time. I hope we see you back in The Clockwork in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not so good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food not very hot, first choice of meal not available. Had the lunchtime deal so not expensive but was disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cms40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clock W, General Manager at Clockwork Beer Co, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi there i am sorry to hear of your poor experience at Clockwork please accept our apologies. We have undergone a change recently and hope to have rectified some issues like the one you have stated .I'm sorry your first choice of meal was not on offer this can be due to delivery windows and an unexpected increase in trade.Please understand we are committed to improving and delivering our offer to the best standard we possibly can however this does take time. I hope we see you back in The Clockwork in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clockwork Beer Co also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Clockwork Beer Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing