We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine but rude bartender remains”
Review of The Finnieston

The Finnieston
Ranked #252 of 2,430 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and wine but rude bartender remains”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I visited with a work colleague last week, I have been before and was keen to return. The food and wine was great, although we had booked for 8pm the restaurant was running late as loads of people eating prior to seeing Beyoncé, no worries we got a drink, the wine list is great however when I asked one of the staff when our table would be ready at 8:25 he was extremely rude and sarcastic. Let me say at this point, the food was great and both the waiter and the waitress that looked after us were really great however having 1 rogue very rude employee needs to be addressed. He laid our table following the eventual exit of the people before us, maybe he should stay back of house rather than being released on the public who at least deserve the courtesy provided by the rest of the great staff

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    171
    83
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to meet for a drink”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Did'nt have time for a meal just meeting friends for a drink, great pub atmosphere, decent prices. Bar tender gave me a menu for their Fine Dining event on December 12th, unfortunately I was back in Canada otherwise would have booked. Langoustine Bisque, Pan-Fried duck legs, Duck Fois Gras, Pan Fired Sweetbreads, Sole Meuniere, Crepe Suzettes and a Trio of cocktail Sorbets each course paired with bubbles from Moet Hennessey. Sounds like my kind of heaven !!Next time I am back in Glasgow will definitely eat here !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naramatajunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Fantastic place for Food and Drink.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Really impressed - I'd happily go back again for a Meal.
Great Beers - Fresh and Crispy.
I had a Steak and it was good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice food does what I says on the tin”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Been twice now and ate both times, nice selection of gins which hit the spot. Food was good on both occasions my only criticism is maybe a bit too pricey! I will no doubt eat here again as it's location if attending the hydro is great but please book as it's busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Awful Bartender!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Terrible bartender on a Saturday night who thought it was acceptable to laugh at customers with friends who were sitting at the bar and refused to hand out straws! After a poor experience with food previously and then this, I will not be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank LAClark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Finnieston also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Finnieston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing