We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Came here on business with two others. It was clean and tidy but over priced compaired to better hotels in the are. Free breakfast but free for a reason as it is not very good. Did find a lot of noise from outside when they emptyed the bins at 6 in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigWaite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your free breakfast. Our hotel complies fully with the Holiday Inn Express brand standards.

We take on board all comments from our guests to enable us to continuously improve our service.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

A good hi express in a great location.... Fulfilled my needs during a small break in glasgow in march... It has a Good breakfast too.... One bad point is that it sits on an underground station so you can hear all the trains when they pass.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishguy353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a stop over before getting the coach to Manchester. Everything was excellent - from check in to leaving. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was spotless (a twin room), the beds were really comfy and we both had a great sleep ready for the journey ahead of us. The locality was ideal - close to cinema, shops, food outlets and the bus station. Breakfast was ideal with a wide choice of continental food - croissants, preserves, fresh fruit, bread rolls, toast, muffins, yogurts, cheese or hot items, sausage/scrambled eggs/beans. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You so much for your lovely review!

We hope to see you again for your next trip to Glasgow!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Asked for a room high up and at the back, and they were very obliging. The room has everything you need and the bed was very comfy. It was also very clean. It I would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineElizabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments!

We hope to welcome you back again.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very comfortable and safe. Stayed two nights,not in the centre of town but very handy for bars and shops. Very helpful staff and good breakfasts.the staff will advise on where bars and restaurants are and are very helpful with ordering taxis.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back and second floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliedog190773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank You for taking the time to leave your lovely comments.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place has no pretensions to be a top quality/boutique/destination hotel. It's a place to sleep and have a basic breakfast. The rooms are smallish, but clean and functional and the staff seem competent and helpful.

I got what I paid for and have no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouse8459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay.

I have passed them onto the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We often select Express both in UK and USA because they have a level of consistency we can rely on. Clean central with a good safe car parking deal just over the road this is ideal for a short stay. In the UK there are not the extras of a pool leisure facility etc - but you always know what you're getting and the functional clean rooms work well. The cooked breakfasts are prepared by 'non chefs' so beans egg and sausage which have been heated in a microwave won't suit everyone, but no critic could say that there is not a big range choice in ceriels voghurts etc etc. If you want a luxury break go elsewhere - and pay the appropriate price - but in the case of the Glasgow Theatreland Hotel they will match any hotel luxury hotel for the helpfulness of all their staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

It was fantastic to read such lovely comments about your stay and the team!

We hope to be your hotel of choice for your future visits to Glasgow!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
339 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,767 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $75 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing