We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice place. In the city centre. Many restraints nearby. Close to railway station. Economical. Good WiFi. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are clean. The toileteries can be improved slightly. The rest of the bathroom is very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bits2010_an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    482
    176
    36
    18
See reviews for
195
360
87
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Earlestown
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a one night stay here in June, it was just a case of having somewhere to sleep and have breakfast. The breakfast was ok but the 2 members of staff on duty were a little overwhelmed by the numbers in the dining room, and there were a couple of things that I had to ask to be replenished. Also the dining room was stiflingly hot.

I decided to walk to the hotel from Glasgow Central station, which took about 15 minutes and it's mostly uphill. I got a taxi to the station on departure which the receptionist kindly booked for me. On reflection, it would be better to get the taxi TO the hotel, and then have an easy 10 minute downhill walk to the station.

Room Tip: Don't make the mistake of walking into the Holiday Inn (NOT express) which is immediately adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed overnight here as a quick pit-stop while visiting Glasgow to see a concert and visit my family. On the whole, I found the hotel to be perfectly adequate for am overnight stay; the bed was very comfortable and immaculately made-up, and the service from all members of staff was very friendly, but there were a few details which make the place feel a little "Crossroads Motel"-like, and slightly tired around the edges. The decor in the rooms (I was in Room 352) feels very dated and a bit like something out of a late-'80s MFI catalogue.. No great crime in itself. but the desk was badly worn and chipped at the edges, a bent bolt was hanging out of an anonymous much-painted-over plate on the wall, and housekeeping had missed quite a lot of dusting around the TV area. To be fair, the bathroom was spotless, and well-supplied with toiletries. Breakfast? Hmm.. Again, the service was excellent; the ladies clearing the tables and ferrying the buffet-style food from the kitchen were very chatty and friendly, but the breakfast itself was a bit lack-lustre; OK if you just want a quick continental toast-&-croissants job, but the cooked options were just a little bit too basic. To sum up: £75 B&B: It did the job. The staff were great, from check-in to check-out, and it's a convenient place to stay for quick access to the city centre. A little bit of polish is all it would take to make this hotel excellent, but I have to say it's just a little overpriced for what you get. Thank you to all the staff, though, for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

We hope to see you back again in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and very impressed with staff welcome and we were allocated our room even though we arrived a couple of hours before check-in time. However, the room was very cold and heater did not appear to be working - we called down and eventually someone came and fixed it. Even though we put the heating off before retiring the room was so hot that we did not get a good night's sleep. Buffet breakfast was included but it was a very basic set up - the rolls were delicious. Coffee was dreadfully weak!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happykath912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Happykath912,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take on board all comments given to us by our guests so that we may continuously improve on the service we provide.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst in Glasgow on business. I checked-in very late, but the staff were efficient and accomodating. The room was quite small and basic, but had all the necessary amenities. The breakfast buffet in the morning had a wide selection, and all the staff had smiles on their faces. Pleasant enough stay, and I'd have no problems coming back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear JBwick,

Thank you for your lovely comments!

We hope to see you back in Glasgow in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire,Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night when going out to a show in Glasgow.It is very centrally located and close to all Glasgows nightlife.
We were checked in by very efficient and friendly reception staff and nothing was too much trouble for them.There was a big football match on that night so a lot of the guests were Dutch and they were all dealt with in a lovely friendly way with big smiles all round!!!
The room was very quiet and very comfortable.
Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the ladies were busy making sure that everything was being topped up and they still had time for a friendly chat with the guests.
All in all a great place to stay,by far the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in.Well done to everyone!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter away from traffic noise.We were in room 376
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear MargaretT,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. As a team we pride ourselves in the level of service we provide here and it is always great to read that it is appreciated by our guests.

We hope to see you in Glasgow again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I were making a surprise birthday visit to an old friend of ours and I decided to book this hotel on the strength of the value and good recommendations posted on Trip Advisor. We arrived quite late in the evening after our flight from Torp Airport to Edninburgh and then took a train to Glasgow. We were welcomed with a wonderful smile from a middle aged lady on reception and from then on, the service just could not be faulted. Whatever we asked for, whatever we needed was dealt with, with pure professionalism, pleasantness and a smile at all times. Some of our requests were quite difficult to solve, but did any of the staff complain ?? Not at all, quite the contrary, they moved hell and high water to get answers and solutions for us. Special mention must go to the " double act" of Mark and Adam. They are a sheer credit to the hospitality business, great humour, and totally dedicated to customer service, hospitality and guest satisfaction. Another younger man called ( I believe Cal) was also very attentive, courteous and if nurtured properly, will be a great asset to the hotel industry. He is young but is totally focused on "what the guest wants is what the guest gets". Well done that young man !! Even the ladies who cleared away the breakfast tables in the mornings were full of smiles, chatty and friendly.
We cannot fault this hotel in any way at all and will, with absolute certainty, recommend it to others who seek a great hotel experience in Glasgow. We plan to do the Christmas markets both in Edinburgh and Glasgow next year but will be booking this hotel for our "base" and not a hotel in Edinburgh !! Congratulations on an outstandingly well run business !!

Room Tip: All rooms very well equipped and tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear VictorW,

It gave me great pleasure to read the 5* comments about the hotel and the team.

I have passed them on and we all look forward to your next visit!
Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing