We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit - Excellent stay again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“2nd visit - Excellent stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location and value are outstanding. We enjoyed our stay last year so much that this was the only hotel we considered for our return to Glasgow this year. The rooms are clean, quiet, and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly, and the hotel is a 3 minute walk from the Buchanan bus station. We will stay there again next year for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay!

It was great to read that it was your return visit.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    460
    170
    37
    17
See reviews for
191
344
85
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were in Glasgow only one night, in order to catch a plane the following day. But we now regret allowing so little time to explore this fascinating city from a base at this very pleasant hotel. It's walkable from Queen St. train station (two blocks away). It's adjacent to a huge shopping mall, a mega-movie-multiplex, the Royal Concert Hall and a variety of eating establishments, not to mention the lively shopping scene on Buchanan St. (Don't miss the iconic Willow Tea Rooms, designed by William Rennie Macintosh.)

The friendly front-desk staff was eager to deal with any issue, except for when they ran out of umbrellas on a rainy afternoon. Our rooms were crispy clean and comfortably modern. There was a full complement of channels on the wide-screen TV and enough AC outlets to allow me to charge all of my electronic devices simultaneously.

We came to Glasgow after spending three weeks elsewhere in Europe. We had no particular expectations, save to pass the night in preparation for our flight home the next day. But, while walking to the hotel from the station, we stumbled on the Royal Glasgow Concert Hall, discovered that the Royal Scottish National Orchestra was performing Mendelssohn's grand oratorio "Elijah" that evening, and, as a result, were able to enjoy a magnificent valedictory concert experience on our final day in Europe. The Holiday Inn Express was the perfect place to abet such a serendipitous rendezvous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Just a short walk from the Queens Street rail station. Good sized rooms with lovely shower rooms. Tea and coffee facilities are ample. Staff are very helpful and polite. Breakfast was buffet with cereals and choice of cakes croissants and cooked foods. Our shower was only warm but when I told reception they were very apologetic and helpful. Tour bus stops were just a short walk away as were public transport and plenty of shops restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexbirds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As always it is great to hear such positive comments about the team and the cleanliness of our rooms. I was sorry to hear you had an issue with the shower but I am glad the team were able to help.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, , United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

we had an excellent stay here the staff( Mark and Adam) were very friendly and helpful the hotel was clean warm and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious a home from home and really central to everywhere theatre bus station shopping centre and subway to everywhere 10/10

Room Tip: The room we had was on second floor and near the elevator to access the breakfast room reception etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyMcCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Wendy,

It was fantastic to read your comments, especially that you found the hotel to be "a home from home!".

I have passed your comments onto the team, especially Mark and Adam and we all look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and couldn't have asked for more from a "budget" hotel. The room was basic and clean but did have some nice touches such as a choice of pillow and a great mattress on the bed. Only negative would be the size of the TV for the distance from the bed, it could have been just maybe the next size up (I was staying in room 469). The staff on reception (which doubled as the bar) were courteous, friendly and efficient. The location is superb both from being close to the shopping areas of Buchannan Street, Sauchiehall Street and even the St Enoch Center but also for any additional travelling as you have the underground nearby and major train and bus stations. When visiting Glasgow again, I would definitely make this my first choice for checking availability.

Room Tip: Higher floors possibly have slightly less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogsyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write some great comments regarding your recent stay. It is always fantastic to read such good comments about the team. I have passed your comments on and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire,scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed overnight at this very nice hotel. Walking distance to Buchanan Street bus station, shops and night entertainment. Hotel very clean and comfortable. Stafff very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as attending a concert. Reception was informative and very professional, friendly and welcoming. Comfortable bed , good quality linen and very clean and well kept appeared to be new decor and fixtures and fittings. Tv is small but perfectly functional.
The room has a serious lack in wall sockets - in fact only having ONE!! Why this is the case I honestly don't know but it's not great at all, bit silly not to have more.
Location is good being very close to Sauchiehall street and Buchannan Galleries shopping centre, only drawback to this is that we were looking onto West Nile Street which is a very busy noisy road. This in itself would not be a major problem IF you don't have to open the window in the room. Unfortunately we could not find a temperature control for the heating in the room and had to open the window ( it was incredibly hot in the room). At approx. 4 in the morning were awoken from shouts and screams of passers by which then followed by banging doors in the corridors of the hotel. It really is a reflection on the general public as opposed to the hotel itself in how selfish and ignorant others can be. I don't think we would return to stay due to the price that I paid. I did feel that it was a little expensive and not the best experience we have had staying in Glasgow elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not overlooking West Nile Street and a room that has more than one socket with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We take on board all comments given to us to continually improve our service.
We advertise extension leads at reception for our guests who may require to use a few appliances at the same time.
I was sorry to hear that you were woken by others and that it was not the best experience you have had in Glasgow.

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing