We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serious lack of mirrors!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Darlington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Serious lack of mirrors!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Spent two nights in this Holiday Inn Express. Staff were very attentive throughout our stay however the lack of mirrors in the room became an irritance. The only full length one was in the tiny darkened hallway of the room which was very dimly lit and nowhere to plug in hair styler nearby. None of the walls, or even the wall above the desk, had a mirror. Probably a minor complaint but I am sure most women would relate to this being a nuisance.

Room Tip: We choose room on 4th floor and it was very hot throughout our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Chrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to see you found out staff to be attentive and the location ideal for your purposes. I was, however, sorry to read your stay was let down by the lack of mirrors in the room. I hope this has not detered you from staying again in the future and, should you return, we would be more than happy to supply you with a portable mirror or extension cable to make getting ready less of a hassle.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    460
    170
    37
    17
See reviews for
191
344
85
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Due to a medical conference in Glasgow eating up all the rooms, I had a choice between this and a 5 mile commute and sadly this won out.. At the check in is a Trip Advisor "award" which was reassuring, but once upstairs I really began to wonder if the lift from reception transports you to a parallel universe rather than the rooms on the third floor..??

Reception is fine - if checking in to a posh multi storey car park pay station is your thing.. though staff were very friendly and efficient and a redeeming factor. The "bar" area past the reception has all the hallmarks of a recently refurbished hospital waiting room, and first sight through the window from outside was enough to blot the possibility of trying it from my memory..

For "security" you have to have a room key to use the lifts as they need to be swiped to operate.. do they expect that "ladies of the night" or undesireables frequent the hotel? I have to say that it crossed my mind that I seriously doubt the clientele of this hotel have the wherewithal to pay working girls, unless there are local bargains to be had..

Rooms are spartan, small, and woeful. The shower room has a jack and jill door which when open from the room leaves you wondering if they forgot a toilet.. though the bathroom itself was functional and clean. I was underwhelmed by the rather small wash basin.

The room itself has all the hallmarks of utilitarian student dorm.. flatpack desk arrangement under the (tiny!) viewless window and similar "Ikea Coat rack style" clothes hanging/coffee point combo.

The beds are woeful, and in need of replacement. The mattress was totally unsupporting and felt like a budget "occasional use" cheapie that had passed its useful sell by date far too long ago. The pillows on the twin beds are labelled "soft" and "firm" though which was which was utterly indiscernible. Despite more than temperate weather the room was somewhat too warm and stuffy, but #74 rooms look out over the rear area with cooling fans rumbling clanking and grinding all night.. sadly I couldn't sleep with the window closed, nor with it open.

Breakfast "now with hot options" as the signs proudly boast is if possible even more woeful.. in " the great room" - someone at holiday inn express has a sense of aggrandisement and humour! Having a reasonably late start planned, I went down to breakfast late rto avoid any rush. there is a limited self service buffet - croissants (tepid) or buns, rolls (tepid), and bread. two industrial toasters that barely work, one colleague gave up after more than 5 mins.. Coffee tea and hot drinks from a vending type machine was passable, but the vending machine orange and grapefruit options were unrelated to "juice" being more like over sweetened value range squash. As for "hot" items.. despite it being late and presumably most customers having been to breakfast, the beans bacon Sausage and scrambled eggs all looked remarkably full and unsullied. the sauasages were most offputting as they were wrinkled and shrivelled and looked like they had been "hot" for more days than I would care to guess.. I left well alone, and was commended on my decision by a colleague who said the food was tepid, eggs watery, and all left on the plate uneaten.

I was booked in with a number of colleagues to the hotel, and the decision was unanimous.. this is a shabby student dorm with a hefty price tag. We were charged just under £80 room and breakfast, and I am sure this rate was because of the captive market due to the conference, though "Rack Rate" was posted at £165!!!

I noticed advertisements for rooms starting at £49.. even at this discount rate this hotel should be last on your list for consideration.unless desperate .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkysdad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I was disheartened to read your review following your recent stay with us. While I acknowledge you found the service and cleanliness of the hotel to be good, it seems your expectations of the Holiday Inn Express brand were not met. I can assure you that as a branded hotel, we have strict standards to adhere to, and regular auditing takes place to ensure they are upheld. Holiday Inn Express hotels are designed to be comfortable and functional in order to provide the guest with everything they need when staying, including a free breakfast to give them a good start to the day.

May I recommend you try our sister hotel, Holiday Inn Glasgow Theatreland, if you prefer hotels with a wider range of amenities. I would also welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments further, should you wish to do so, by contacting me directly at the hotel.

Thank you for the time you have taken to leave your feedback and I sincerely hope you choose to return to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Bring earplugs because the noise from the street is loud. There's no airconditioning, so on a warmer night, unless you want to suffocate, you pretty much have to open the window and listen to the sirens, traffic and street fights outside all night. Very expensive for a Holiday Inn Express. Internet connection is as slow as dial-up, but at least it's free. On the positive, it's clean and the (much needed) security system provides some peace of mind.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piperdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I was disappointed to read your review following your recent stay with us. While you noted the security and cleanliness of the hotel as being positives, I was sorry to hear some aspects did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing our free wi-fi service in order to cope with the volume of users, such as when you stayed. With regards to the room temperature, we would have been happy to provide you with a fan from reception if you had made us aware of your lack of comfort.

Should you choose to stay with us again, please let us know of these issues and we will ensure we make your stay more comfortable.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Chose this one for two reasons...firstly as it was a two night for the price of one...other was the location. absolutely would recommend it.. romm was spotlessly clean.. breakfast was more than adequate and most of all the staff were very pleasant...would definitely stay again without hesitation...and parking was just across the street. restaurants' cinema and shops all nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

I was pleased to hear you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel! It is always great to read such complimentary reviews about our hotel and staff. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again in the future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Had a great experience here and would definitely recommend it. The location is fantastic and the staff was very generous. I was traveling with my father who had some medication that needed refrigeration, and they were extremely helpful. Good breakfast, good location, good service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy9558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay so much and we were able to help with your father's medication. I do hope you will have the opportunity to return to Glasgow in the future and stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here 5-6th August in a twin room with my Mum. Hotel was easy to find (with sat nav!) and check in was friendly and efficient. Room very clean and well presented. Noticed thick carpet along corridor leading to our room suggesting that this was new. Hotel is in great location for city centre shopping/eating out/nights out. Beds were very comfortable. Free breakfast was a good selection and plentiful. Breakfast room was clean and tidy. Check out was equally efficient. Highly recommended Holiday Inn Exoress. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunbatherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

It was a delight to read your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us, and that you would recommend our hotel to others. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel was in a great location for shopping in the City Centre and all transport links. Staff in hoter were very friendly and looked after us well. The room was a perfect size with twin beds and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Would recommend to all my friends and family for a short stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank marwScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read you had a great stay and liked our location and helpful staff. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing