We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sideways Glasgow - CLOSED

Sideways Glasgow
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Sideways is an independent neighbourhood Bar and Eatery, serving quality food and drinks. Our space is relaxed and open with huge windows looking out to the front and our open kitchen to the rear.Our food is inspired by the heartwarming simplicity of traditional cooking, and inspired by our own experieinces around Europe. We strive to find the best ingredients possible to ensure that what we put on your plate is of the absolute best quality and flavour.Our wines are hand picked by us and are inspired by our own travels, with some diverse styles and flavours on offer. Our selection of beers and ciders are a clebration of the best that british independent brewers have to offer.Our coffee comes from a number of artisan roasteries around the UK, who all roast unique tasting blends from ethically sourced beans. And all our cakes are baked by us.*****We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Meals Tuesday - SundayWe host Food/Drink events and tastingsGroup bookings and free private hire is available for up to 35 people any day of the weekWe can cater any type of event for you, no matter how big or smallWe will also deliver lunch orders to your office!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This place just gets better every time you go!!
Great Brunch served with sincerity and an ever present smile
It's only a matter of time before this place is packed out with discerning diners therefore you'd best get yoursel along and enjoy some of the best and reasonably priced food that Glasgow has to offer

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why isn't this place busier?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I live just round the corner from Sideways, I'd never heard of it until we moved in (even though we have lived in Finnieston for the last three years). It is really fantastic! The staff are always really friendly and welcoming, the food is incredibly tasty, the decor is lovely and relaxing and warm.

The last time we visited I couldn't decide between two dishes, the waiter recommended the Tender Stem Broccoli and Blue Cheese Salad. Wow! It was the best salad in the world, The Blue Cheese Croutons were not like real croutons, they were like little portions of blue cheese with a really fine sort of breadcrumb coating and fried so the cheese inside was melted (they are my new favorite thing) and the rest of the salad was really tasty too.

This place is such a gem and the staff are really nice, I can't believe that they're not fully booked constantly.....

Would highly recommend this place to everyone in the world.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ljr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a wee bit special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I went in a boy and came out a man. The draft beer tastes like heaven and the sandwich (chargrilled chicken with roast tomatoes) was beyond excellent. Sprinkled with service with a smile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
“Brunch. Lunch. Dinner. Bravo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

You can't miss Sideways, bang next door to iconic Mr Singhs restaurant twixt Charing Cross and the West End. Newly opened, this independent neighbourhood bistro is creating a very big buzz in the Glasgow foodie community. We beat a path to their door in anticipation of a decent brunch.

Bright and airy with funky decor, and cool music coming over the stereo, Sideways exudes real charm. The brunch menu is small but very perfectly formed and features the likes of eggs benedict, mediterranean vegetable fritatta, homemade soup, pastrami & swiss cheese sandwich, kedgeree, chili sausages, Sideways breakfast and more. Happily there was plenty on offer for vegetarians and children are clearly welcome.

I plumped for a hummous, roasted courgette and basil oil sandwich made with griddled sesame ciabatta. It arrived with a nicely dressed salad and homemade red cabbage coleslaw. I added a hearty fresh soup to the order for an extra pound. All that for just £5.50; a superb freshly prepared brunch, whats not to love!

Excellent choice of drinks, french wines and craft ales at fair prices. Loos are spiffy and squeaky clean. Newspapers, magazines and a couple of comfy sofas make it a handy stop for a relaxing cup of their excellent coffee. Top notch home-baking. Very friendly wee place.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank purpleceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant discovery, fresh food..a little gem..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had an appt. this past week across the road from Sideways and popped in on a whim. What a warm and chill vibe. I'm from California, but live in Glasgow, and felt like it was one the cozy cafes in San Francisco I used to frequent. Decor was inviting, great quirky Marimekko wallpaper and wood furnishing. The counter fellow was quirky and friendly, the food was quick to arrive..and super fresh and tasty. I had the goat cheese honey and thyme sandwich..and it was a total treat. Not too expensive, great quality food and perfect portion size. If I'm ever in the Sauchiehall area, I'll make a point to stop in again. Good times!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sideways Glasgow also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing