We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian aroma in Glasgow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smile Cafe

Smile Cafe
Ranked #163 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Italian aroma in Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a foreigner in Scotland, at first I had an issue with finding good coffee. You see, I come from a culture where the different varieties of coffee are very much appreciated, whereas when I came to Scotland for my degree I didn't see a whole lot of good coffee.

When I moved to a flat I saw an Italian café nearby and decided to try it out. That was probably one of my better moves. There I met two very friendly Italians - Santino & Rocco. They really put a lot into the atmosphere, the coffee and the food.

The first time I went in was like I moved from Glasgow into a little slice of Italy - Italian music on the radio, a beautiful arrangement of sweets from Siena, an array of pasta products, sliced cake on display, and of course - the smell of coffee which really puts a smile on your face!

Overall, this is one of the finer café offerings there is in Glasgow - friendly, welcoming and genuinely Italian!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    36
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A tiny corner of Italy in Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Tiny italian cafe on Queen Margaret Drive, just a short walk from the Botanic Gardens.

Great coffee and the best italian hot chocolate in town. Lovely meat, vegetable and cheese platters with authentic italian ingredients. Variety of breads with a wide range of fillings, all named after Italian towns - looking at the blackboard is like being on a tour of Italy.

Pear and Chocolate cheesecake was delicious. Ice creams great.

Friendly service. Popular with locals and Italian ex-pats alike.

Selection of Italian foods available to purchase.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great wee cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We really enjoyed the excellent coffees, cakes and ice cream. A splendid place for afternoon coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanmacp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Glasgow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had been wanting to visit this wee place for a while and was blown away by the coffee. Very drinkable and reasonably priced. Run by two friendly italians this place is quaint and unassuming but stands out as possibly the only place to go for a coffee in Glasgow.

They have on offer an extensive array of sandwiches and other fayre which I can't wait to try. Recommend thoroughly to those who appreciate a damn good coffee!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrcpych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“After One Year Still Is Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Its been almost a year now, since i have been at smile cafe' the first time. I have to say alot has changed, new Italian products are available, coffee loyalty card, and the owners are one year older :) But overall the quality of the coffee and sandwiches has still remained the same. It is in my opinion still the best espresso you will have in Glasgow, and probably the best value for your money for a quick lunch. As a southern Italian I truly enjoy the atmosphere which is that of any italian cafe' down in my region. Its definitely worth my walk back from university during lunch time. I still recommend this cafe' to anyone who wants to taste real espresso, and a real 'panino'!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davide R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile Cafe also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Smile Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing