We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Akbars

Akbars
Ranked #186 of 2,429 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having dinned here before on quite a few occasions I found this time I was a bit disappointed , the usual friendly atmosphere wasn't there it was a bit flat . The starters were lacking presentation , but the mains dishes where lovely none of the usual heavily dyed food. I would recommend the chicken& lamb dishes very tasty

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flower041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    143
    62
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had decided to look for a curry house on our trip to Glasgow. We found Akbars on our way back to our hotel from the museum. As its a known brand to us as there is one in Bradford we decided to give it a try. Food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you. Which is great when they know your from out of town and not likely to see you again. Prices are fair at around £20 a head for four inc two bottles of wine. It's a well decorated place with a nice buzzing atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great meal and wonderful night out!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Came here for a date and everything from the rose petals on the table to the great service from Naveed made it a wonderful night! From Ellie and Ryan, couple sitting at the window!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryaanwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“meal with friends”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a lovely meal here catching up with friends I hadnt seen for years.Starter was very spicy but nice - chicken tikka , then I had lamb korma , delicious.The highlight was the gigantic nan , 2 for our table of 11 people

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not what it's cracked up to be”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went to akkbars with 3 mates, all taxi drivers, we had heard good reports and were maybe expecting too much, in reality it is average at best , they had no record of our booking fortunately there were tables available maybe a sign that its not great free tables at 8 o'clock on a Friday night in what's supposed to be a very popular restaurants , menu very limited what Indian restaurant doesn't do chicken tikka chasni? Dishes we did get were rather stodgy had better in my local takeaway staff not great either, won't be back plenty of far superior Indian restaurants in glasgow to choose from

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mozzer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbars also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Akbars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing