We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost booking!”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #90 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lost booking!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived at the Devoncove Hotel at 4.00pm on Fri.22/03/13 after shopping in the centre of Glasgow,it was snowing and bitterly cold and we just wanted in to our room to recuperate,but the male receptionist told us he could find no trace of our booking!We had booked through Booking.com in February and had the printed confirmation with us.(all paid)He kept searching through the computer to no avail,after a while the other receptionist(Sarah) came off the phone and inquired to what the problem was,she then discovered our booking had been placed on their system for the same weekend in February and as we didn't turn up it we were put down as a 'no show'.The problem now was that the hotel was full owing to Scotland playing Wales at Hampden that night.Whilst admitting they were at fault,things weren't moving very fast,she telephoned someone(who I assumed was her boss)and kept saying the hotel was full and they would have to contact surrounding hotels to find us a room.But after at least 30 minutes they announced that they had found us a room in their 'full' hotel,she said although it was being let out as a single room it had a double bed and was actually a double room!They said they would bring up additional pillows,extra tea & coffee etc,anyway tired and hungry we said that would suffice,the third floor room(304)is the size of a single room,very compact but of a higher standard than we expected as we have stayed a couple of times here before but it was a few years ago and the decor has improved.The bathroom was small and a bit shabby,a few silicon repairs were noticeable.
The dining room was pleasant enough and a decent cooked breakfast was available,better than some I have encountered in Glasgow.Other than the dealings we had with the staff on the first day we never really saw much of them,they seemed pleasant enough.We were booked in for two nights and a lot of the football fans would be away on the Sat morning,but we were never offered another room on the Sat,as I said we have stayed before and know the 'proper' double rooms are of a decent size.We weren't offered any kind of compensation such as a meal or free drink.The booking fiasco did put a damper on our weekend.

Room Tip: I think you just pay your money and take your chance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    310
    251
    147
    220
See reviews for
137
425
71
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel receptionist not the happiest or most helpful of chaps (wouldn't give us any spare milk portions when we returned in the evening). Room on the first floor, pretty cold at night (probably due to high ceilings) and bath room looked half finished.
Breakfast was ok, not much Scottish about it though.
Parking facilities available but trying to get a space later in the evening is difficult.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_McCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel looks majestic & inviting from outside, but disappointing when you step in as there wasnt much decor at the lobby area & not even a rubbish bin at sight, decided to give it a try since it was only for 2 nights. Receptionist was extremely pleasant & helpful.

Room was adequately equipped, except for toiletries. Nothing came out from the wall-attached shower gel, shampoo & conditioner dispenser.

The worst - creaking sounds of the floor, quite disturbing especially at night.

F&B is fine as you can easily find eateries at the area, however, its a distance away from the town area, hence, not ideal for travellers or shoppers w/o cars.

Overall - value for money; ok for short stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esBONde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived expecting to be able to check-in at 3.00 pm, as stated in the booking confirmation and had made plans later that afternoon on this basis. On arrival we were told that we could not check in until 3.30 pm and they suggested we return later. There was no apology or explanation and they didn't even invite us to buy a drink at the bar! The room was quite shabby, the telephone and tv remote were chained down and the view from the room looked out over the back of some run-down looking buildings. The choice at the buffet breakfast was extremely limited, just bacon, poached eggs, hash browns, beans and bread and the dinning room had vases of flowers which had clearly been dead for weeks. When we checked out they didn't even ask if we'd enjoyed our stay which reflected the lack of service we experienced throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good part of the city.
Lots of restaurants and takeaways nearby.
Hotel has own free parking - but can get full fast. On street parking is available - do read restrictions first before parking!!
Breakfast has good choice of continental foods - but note that the service ends at 0930 on weekends and 0900 weekdays. Restaurant closes at 2000.
Rooms are decent sized, warm and clean. En-suite bathroom - good shower. Decor within rooms could do with a little updating - but for the price - insignificant.
All in all - a very good hotel in a nice location!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jav_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

i use this hotel on a regular basis. i find the roooms very clean and ensuite ,find the staff helpful and polite, it is very good value with breakfast included.free off road parking is a bonus. and only a short walk into town Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for three weeks at the end of feb and early march, good value for money and clean and comfortable rooms. Helpful staff, ensuite rooms with baths in most, inclusive all you can eat breakfast buffet which was very nice, free parking is a real bonus being so close to the city centre, short walk into town, all in all a pleasant stay, would definitely stay again if in the area, thanks from Nick, Jon and Ian.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickpowerGorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
790 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#49 of 95 in Glasgow
208 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
566 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#54 of 95 in Glasgow
928 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Property: Devoncove Hotel
Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing