We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great value for money! Good breakfast too!”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #87 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked through last minute.com. Great value as only £78 for 2 nights bed and good breakfast. Check in a little vague but acceptable! Room clean and tidy with large walk in shower! Breakfast was very good with continental or traditional fare. Room was a little cold upon arrival but fine once we switched radiator on. Overall a great value for money stay only 20-30 minute walk to city centre but all standard shops/amenities nearby!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My partner and myself stayed for New Year's Eve and were delighted. Staff were lovely, especially the Receptionist, a young man, who was very helpful and friendly, as was the after midnight bar tender. Hotel is situated within walking distance to the West End. Room and hotel was immaculate. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Floweroscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

on arrival we were shown our rooms,, i wasnt happy with the first so went back to the reception and was given another room straight away with no fuss,, the rooms were very clean and had a booklet in each room naming local resturants and local pubs,, the staff were very nice and couldnt do enough for us all,the breakfast i didnt get down to but others said it was ok,, the downfall was the beakfast and maybe if times were changed as its very early would make it easier for people with children and babies to get down for something to eat

Room Tip: we stayed in room 220 there wasnt hardly any noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The staff could not cope with the funding mechanics of last.minute.com and tried to charge us 3 times for the rooms which we had already paid for. My room was very basic, in need of modernisation and faced Sauciehall Street, which was fine until 2 in the morning, after which I got no sleep as the windows do not keep out the street noise. Awful stay and topped off by yet another member of staff who could not clear the holding balance off our cards, so we left with money still being held against a trip we had paid for months before. Awful and ruined a reunion weekend with friends

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pointy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had business at the University so this hotel is ideally placed, being up the west end of Sauchiehall Street. It is also just a short bus ride away from Byres Rd shopping and very close to the Kelvingrove Museum. It looks almost grotty from outside but is pleasant and modern inside with a roomy reception and bar. I had a disastrous check in - paid cash which they didn't like at all and then couldn't remember the pin number of my credit card. They caved in the end, but the previous reviewer was right that they should make this clearer. I had a standard double which was clean and modern with a TV and integral DVD player. The room was quiet, with no audible sound from other rooms. Squashed bathroom but fine. Agree about the poor breakfast - they advertise a full Scottish but you get a poor quality fry up, served with a bad grace by two sour faced ladies. My £65 per night did include breakfast though. All in all, not a bad experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed overnight on 1st December. Booked a twin room(B+B) for £45. We booked the hotel because of the price as we were at a concert at a Venue on Sauchiehall street. Basically just wanted somewhere to lie down.

When we opened the room door we were impressed by the size,quality and cleanliness of the room.

Don't understand why anyone complains about the noise. Our room was front-facing and had an undisturbed night's sleep.

Only negative comment was the quality of service at breakfast which was a bit grumpy. However the food was perfectly acceptable.

Overall a pleasant stay well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked the hotel for its location,its a very basic hotel,needs updating.Breakfast was very poor,two very sour faced ladies(with very broken english) served us from behind the bar with our hot breakfast,we asked for full english thats not what we got,they threw what was left on our plate.very poor quality,it would be much better if they left the paying customers to help themselves,the food is being kept warm in the big bain marie,the fried eggs sat on the bar...quite a weird set up.even if the staff were cheery it would help.Also staff wearing flip flops,surely a health and saftey issue,I know you get what you pay for,but this place could be so much better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
1,031 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
854 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
593 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $38 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing