We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a ten minute walk from SECC...”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just a ten minute walk from SECC...”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night, 22nd October, when visiting the SECC for a show. We walked up from Glasgow Queen Street station, right along Sauchiehall Street, to the hotel (931 Sauchiehall Street). It took just half an hour to get to the hotel. The reception and lounge area are nicely decorated and contemporary. The lounge is large with ten confy sofas and coffee tables, plus a TV showing news. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and gave us a map showing the quickest way to the SECC.

We had two rooms booked, one twin on the first floor (for our teens) which had a side view and a shower not bath. Our room was on the third floor, front facing with a bath and shower. There was ample open hanging space for our clothes, tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer, a safe, a vanity area with mirror and chair, a flat screen tv with a remote attached to a cable (not seen this before). Our double bed was two singles together, which made it really wide. It was comfortable too, and the linen was clean. The bathroom was clean and neat. The shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soap was on a dispenser on a wall within the bath area. There was also a cake of soap for the sink. There was ample lighting in the room and it was controlled by switches by the bed and also by the door. Being in the city centre, there was some noise of traffic and people but this did not prevent us sleeping.

Breakfast was 7.30 to 9.30 on the Sunday morning and we were advised to come down earlier than later because most people came down later and queues were common. We arrived for breakfast at 8am and there were no queues. It was self service for everything, but a member of staff did make and bring us toast, which saved us waiting around for it to cook. There was a choice of wheatabix, musli (sp.) or cornflakes, plus yoghurts and fruits. We were served a cooked breakfast at the counter, then I got my cup of coffee. On the table was a large selection of jams and butter. The dining room was large, with comfortable seating, contemporary decor. My only gripe was the early time of the Sunday breakfast. Many hotels have it finishing much later than 9.30. However, it did mean that we were able to get a lot more done in Glasgow that day, before returning home. I would book here again (I booked through lastminute dot com), the price for both rooms was £114 B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabby1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    311
    255
    147
    222
See reviews for
137
429
72
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

hotel is great location . buses just outside hotel . good breakfast but finished too early .finished at nineor half past . our room safe and phone did not work .we put dirty towels to be cleaned down on floor but they just hung same ones back up .rooms are basic with tatty furnishings .all in all cheap hotel .ok for weekend .they did not empty the bin so had loads of rubbish

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret m, Guest Relations Manager at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Lynne, I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at The Devoncove Hotel. We always recommend you fill in the feed back forms which are dotted all over the hotel and also to speak to Reception about any concerns so that we can fix any problem immediately.
This is the first time I have heard about bins not being emptied and must apologise. Unfortunately I dont have any details of when you stayed or which room you were using. Regarding breakfast times, we do ask guest to be seated by 8.50am on weekdays and 9.20am on weekends, we will monitor this and thank you for your feedback concerning this matter.
If you wish to contact me directly at the Hotel I would be happy to discuss any concerns with you. Once again, please accept my apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

it is far from the center of Glasgow.old hotel and not clean.the breakfast was served only until 8:30!It was so noisy!I do not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 370angelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here on a significantly reduced rate through Late Rooms as a treat to accompany a night out in the West end. We were really disappointed by the standard of the hotel, really dated and dilapidated in parts. The lift was not working and had to take our own luggage up internal emergency exit stairs. Room was cheaply decorated and breakfast was ok. The high point of the hotel is its West end location, a pleasant stroll across the park from the attractions of the West End but the hotel itself was a major disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Having read some of the reviews about the Devoncove i was a little sceptical about staying here but was pleasantly surprised when i did. the hotels is in an excellent location, not right in the thick of it but close enough. the SEEC is a 10 minute walk away and if your looking for more then shopping and late night entertainment is only a 20 minute walk. our room was a decent size spotlessly clean with plenty hot water. the room has a kettle with tea and coffee, flat screen TV with free view and wifi which was quite fast (a bonus for me). the staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and any information that we needed. we had breakfast which was more than adequate and once again the staff were very helpful. the surrounding area has quite a few bars and plenty of restaurant's to choose from. overall we were very happy with our stay at the Devoncove and wouldn't hesitate to book again or recommend to any one looking for a hotel at a decent price. some of the reviews we have read on here are a bit over the top but some people are never happy!. we would like to say thank you to the staff at the Devoncove for making our stay in Glasgow a good one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here for first time on shopping trip with friends. All our rooms were good sized with great facilities and nicely decorated - the beds were comfy and the showers hot and powerful! Excellent bar and lounge for relaxing with a few cocktails after shopping. The hotel staff were very professional and friendly, and gave good advice on where to shop and eat. The hotel's excellent location meant we could walk into the city centre and also to the restaurants and bars in the west end. Great breakfast menu and staff were only too happy to help with our (many) requests. The hotel is very clean and well maintained and has a nice, pleasant atmosphere. We also noticed the hotel has private car parking which is a bonus in this area! We thoroughly enjoyed out trip to Glasgow and the Devoncove Hotel - will definately stay here again and recommending to friends and family. Thanks again Devoncove!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have the nicest view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

a cheap hotel not close to the centre of the city!really noisy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rena159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
570 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 93 in Glasgow
589 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
420 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#56 of 93 in Glasgow
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Property: Devoncove Hotel
Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing